We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location for Miraflores” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Hotel to your Saves list
Carmel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Hersonissos, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Central location for Miraflores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is not in Lima but in Miraflores which is an upmarket seaside suburb...

I stayed on two different rooms on two occasions, not ll the rooms are the same. Room 606 for instance has a spa bath, is at the back of the hotel with not much of a view, but is quieter, room 303 is virtually the same but is at the front so is not so quiet.

Rather a pretentious place I thought, they seem to polish the reception area floor about 6 times a day, and if the porter is not already standing by the front door then someone will rush to get there and snatch it out of you hand. I am quite capable of opening a door.

There have been some adverse reviews in the past but I am inclined to think these were done by one of their competitors and not by someone who has stayed there.

Staff are helpful and polite, the receptionist always seems to be very busy staring at the computer screen in front of them, on Facebook perhaps.

COmfortable beds...So important.

Nice and handy for the centre of Miralfores with some excellent shops and places to eat. Sunday morning is the time to go to the central park and be entertained!

Room Tip: To be sure ask for a room at the back if you want a quieter room,although there is not too much to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
25
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

not far from then Kennedy Park, maybe 6 blocks from the shoreline.
Good service, clean rooms. Seemed like alot of car alarms were going off, but not too noisy at night (on the street side.) Not sure of room rates as I was there (twice)
with a tour. Decent buffet breakfast. Free Wi-Fi. Pleasant stay, overall.

Room Tip: more quiet on the back side of the bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First of all, this hotel is "Carmel Hotel". I don´t know why it appears as "Carlos Hotel" but it´s the same one. It´s good located, very close from the "Ovalo de Miraflores" and 15 blocks from the Larcomar Mall by the sea side within a great commercial area full of good restaurants and casinos. The hotel itself is ok, clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast buffett was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel Carmel/Carlos was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and it deserves to have its 3-star rating revisited.

The room was filthy. We complained the minute we got into the room about the musty damp smell in the entire room and the stench of urine. The front desk staff was extremely rude and wouldn't take the time to check out the room and refused to put us in another room as they said they were booked. So we decided to suck it up. What a terrible mistake.

When we pulled back the covers on the bed the linens had not been changed and there was hair from at least 5 different people. Long strands, curly strands, short straight strands, thick and thin. And then the most overpowering stench of urine came out from the bed and the hotel didn't even try to clean it up. After marching down to the front desk again and this time demanding someone check out the situation, they miraculously found an open room. The second room was just as dirty, but with clean sheets.

When the manager Ysreal, showed up the next morning, he refused to take any responsibility for the lack of cleanliness, nor for the inconsiderate staff, and absolutely refused to refund any money for room as we had prepaid. It has been 6 weeks they have been ignoring our phone calls and emails.

Beware -- there are plenty of nice places to stay in Miraflores. This hotel is not one of them. Run, run, far away from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel Carmel was the start/end point for our "comfort" class, 2 week tour with GAP Adventures. We booked a few extra days so we ended up staying at the Carmel for 4 nights total.

Pros: Very good location in Miraflores - close to shopping and food. (McD's is just around the corner if you're starting to get sick of the chicken and rice dishes.) Breakfast is decent - toast, yogurt, ham, cheese, fruit - better than some of the other hotels we stayed at. As far as noise goes - we were facing the street both times and ended up loathing Peruvian drivers and their fondness for honking... However I'm sure it could've been much worse had we stayed on the major streets. Staff is friendly and helpful (for the most part). Clean bathrooms. Effective A/C unit in each room. Free internet access.

Cons: Carpet is disgusting! Bed sheets are very thin and smelly. I think all rooms have been "smoking" at some point. If you can get over the smell and slightly cramped quarters of the regular rooms, then this is not a bad place at all.

My advice to you: Request any room that ends in "-01" - i.e. 401, 501 - that's the corner room facing the elevator - giving you a little more room to stretch out. Bathroom is 2x the size of a normal room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

What a great place. Hotel front desk was phenomenal. They know all the local bus routes and told me how to get to several places by combi! I had a wildly awesome time riding around. Location is the BEST. Miraflores is very safe, and you're a block from Mickey D's, Citibank, Dunkin Donuts, and any other comfort of home you can think of. Breakfast (eggs) was decent, coffee OK. Near several big supermarkets, for water and shopping and even dinner at a Whole Foods wannabe! Every bus stops at the Ovalo and just walking around Miraflores is a vacation. Easy to get downtown, by cab or combi. Room was very nice: new bathroom, comfy bed, very entertaining cable TV, safe in room, fridge. This place was home.

Stayed November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed 4 nights and liked very much the service, quietness because is located in a low traffic street, but yet walking distance to main attractions. Hotel personnel very polite and always willing to help. Another feature very important to us is internet access, which was available at all time, no downtime,a router for each room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Address: Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.