We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saqra

Saqra
La Paz 646 Lima 18 | Miraflores, Lima 15074, Peru
+51.1.650.8884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,248 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Saqra, from the Quechua language meaning “little devil”, “naughty” or “mischief maker”. Saqra also refers to one of the characters found in the festival of the Madonna of Carmen in the village of Paucartambo, Cusco. Here, this happy little devil wins the heart of the Madonna with his childish pranks and mischief making as he dances around her playfully in the procession. These ideas inspired the creation of Saqra as a restaurant bar that offers modern Peruvian food where we reinterpret the Peruvian identity in a playful and contemporary key, conjuring up fun and colourful results. Saqra, in essence, is not really a place but a state of mind where this little devil plays a delightful host who wants that all his guests live a unique experience, where they meet again with their the inner child, sometimes long lost.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friends and I were looking for a memorable meal in Miraflores and the place we decided upon had an hour wait when we arrived. We began driving around checking out other places. After several other false starts, we stumbled upon Saqre because of TripAdvisor reviews. We were thrilled to find a parking spot across the street and a table available. We missed it on our first pass because it is part of a cute little artsy complex to shops and restaurants that are build back into an ordinary block on a side street. It doesn't jump out and grab you.

We were SOOO happy with our find. This is a spot for young professionals who love good food, fun decor and a relaxed atmosphere - just like my two friends. I have a 30 year history with Lima and have never eaten anticuchos anywhere but from a street vendor. Sorry - I just didn't know anything else was authentic. But, based on a TripAdvisor review I ordered them here. WOW! I'll be back if only for them. My friends were equally happy with their plates. Everything including the sides were explosions of taste. The ownere is definitely hands-on and we enjoyed his visit to our table, chatting with us easily about his food. This is Peruvian food with a creative contemporary touch that you will not soon forget.

LOVE Saqra and can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Geoff:
I appreciate your comment. We are so glad to learn you had a nice time with us.
See you soon!
All the best,
Joaquín de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    193
    50
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have to admit, this was One of the better restaurants I have been to while visiting Peru . The grilled octopus was out of This world.
The atmosphere was excellent, service brilliant, I only wish I had more days in Lima.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Fitnfun:
Thanks!
Please drop by when you are in town again.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Peruvian food,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for our last meal in Peru following the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! The decor was very quirky and service was friendly and helpful. It was empty when we arrived but soon filled up with a good atmosphere.

The food was very tasty and well presented. The desserts were excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Ben:
Thank you for your visit.
Good to know you liked our desserts!
Best wishes,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Peruvian food in a fun setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just few blocks away from the Miraflores Central Park this small restaurants serves the traditional Peruvian dishes along with some fun (or weird depending on your views) decoration. The food was really good and service was fast and friendly although I was one of only 3 customers at the restaurant at that time. Definitely a better option than the tourist backed cafes and restaurants around the Central Park. Would definitely recommend a visit for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Mike:
Thank you for your visit and your comment.
Best regards,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food at a Peruvian pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While they were out of ceviche and inexplicably made us wait 20 min for a table on the nearly empty patio, the food was excellent and well-priced. Like most Peruvian food, it is best to stick with the seafood. The risotto was very very good and it seems like a favorite spot of both locals and Americans without seeming tourist-packed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Owner at Saqra, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Evan:

First of all, we apologize for the delay.
Then, I might add, that yes... we were out of ceviche. Let me tell you why: ceviche is made with fresh fish daily. Ceviche was very popular the day you visited, and by the time you arrived, we were out of fresh fish.
See you soon,

All the best,

Joaquin de la Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqra also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Saqra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saqra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.