We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool concept, not blown away by the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saqra

Saqra
La Paz 646 Lima 18 | Miraflores, Lima 15074, Peru
+51.1.650.8884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,190 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Saqra, from the Quechua language meaning “little devil”, “naughty” or “mischief maker”. Saqra also refers to one of the characters found in the festival of the Madonna of Carmen in the village of Paucartambo, Cusco. Here, this happy little devil wins the heart of the Madonna with his childish pranks and mischief making as he dances around her playfully in the procession. These ideas inspired the creation of Saqra as a restaurant bar that offers modern Peruvian food where we reinterpret the Peruvian identity in a playful and contemporary key, conjuring up fun and colourful results. Saqra, in essence, is not really a place but a state of mind where this little devil plays a delightful host who wants that all his guests live a unique experience, where they meet again with their the inner child, sometimes long lost.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool concept, not blown away by the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I thought that the restaurant had a really fun concept for decoration and even food but I will say that I thought it was a bit expensive for what it was. The starters were good and the salads were
really fresh and refreshing but I just wished that there was a bit more UMPH to the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Google Translation
Hello Chris:
We appreciate your visit and your comment.
Are you still in Lima/
Maybe we can discuss your experience and look at our menu for UMPF dishes...
Please let us know.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    195
    50
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our best dining experience in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

During a week in Peru we stayed at Cusco first and then went to Lima. Saqra by far was my best dining experience on this trip. Our starting cocktails were great (I had a strwaberry mohito - sounds terrible - but I couldn't believe how good it was), the food extremely nice, the service superb, and the bill quite reasonable for what we've got. We had a few dinners in other nice places on this trip, but the service in Saqra was by far the best. Our waiter was always there when we needed him but absolutely non obtrusive and genuinely friendly. Whoever manages this restaurant, they know what are doing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello AT:
We appreciate your comments.
Please drop by the next time you are in town.
All the best for this 2013 that is just starting.
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I've tried many Peruvian restaurants, And The food is always great, but never as good as here .The huacatay Sauce on native potatoes is incredible.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Mauricio:
We appreciate your comments. Please drop by soon.
All the best,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's all about the food, outstanding in quite an unpretentious setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The restaurant can't be seen from the street. It is down a short lane off the street on the left hand side as you drive north on the one-way street. The building and the restaurant setting is quite ordinary and the staff are dressed casually, the men in plain open necked white shirts. Nothing special to look at but the food is special and the staff are enthusiastic, friendly and helpful.
The menu is quite extensive and one in English is available. Each dish is described in enough detail to make choices informed and fun. Cocktails included all the pisco favourites, of course, including one listed as a 'Cathedral', large, but two of us coped. Our party of six gave us the opportunity to see and sample lots of things off the menu and every one was visual delight even before it was tasted. None disappointed. Our group chose six desserts to finish but our waiter suggested instead that we had the dessert tasting menu, not listed, and that an order for four would be more than enough. It was a real sugar rush but kept our interest to the last bite. Presentation and taste lifted this Peruvian restaurant well out of the ordinary and it's high rank here is no exaggeration. We could not visit Central because thy had a fire at the end of the year but did eat at Astrid y Gaston. That restaurant has the setting and the service but in all honesty we ate better at Saqra. Our third special place in Lima was Mezze 18 listed here well down below 100. Serving Japanese-Peruvian fusion cooking to a high standard, it was a joy and should, in our opinion be far higher in the ratings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello GBS:
We have read your very detailed comment attentively.
I see you liked the poached egg in smoked trout shirt. I do to. It is a dish that we worked very hard on. Our main goal is to offer good food of Peruvian roots but with a current approach.
Please do not hesitate to visit us the next time you are in town.
All the best!
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“quirky casual modern fusion food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel (Casa Andina Select Miraflores, just around the corner) when we could not get reservations at Astrid y Gaston and about 5 other 'top name' restaurants.

We had a great time; this place is quirky with odd bits of contemporary art and vintage stuff. Al fresco and inside. We got a warm welcome and through the night we sensed our waiter was keeping an eye out for our eye contact with him, without having to hover. He appeared as soon as we agreed we needed something more.

The cooking was excellent, faultless. As it was our first real meal in Lima we wondered if all restaurants were this good or was it just beginners luck. We found out most Peruvian restaurants are excellent.

We started with an Amazon Salad (of course! what else for a first night in Peru?) with interesting things in it like palm hearts.

Then onto perfectly cooked high quality steaks. Sadly we realised at this point, after excellent steaks in Santiago, Quito and now Lima, that the quality of steak we get in Australia is substandard in comparison.

These South American steaks were just your everyday South American steaks of fantastic quality at very reasonable prices. In Australia we get slugged $60 for Wagu or Cape Grim, 360 day aged, hand reared pet cow steaks which have never been as good as the SA meat.

No room for dessert but the wine list was very good and selection was easy.

We had a cosy table looking into the pedestrian thoroughfare which was quite private and romantic. The place was very lively with all age groups and everyone seemed to be enjoying their meals and the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Ruby:
How was your trip back to Perth?
I was very pleased to read your comments. We are glad to learn you had a great time with us.
When destiny brings you back to this part of the world, please visit us.
Have a great 2013!
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqra also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Saqra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saqra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.