We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saqra

Saqra
Av. La Paz 646 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
+51.1.650.8884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,079 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Peruvian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Saqra, from the Quechua language meaning “little devil”, “naughty” or “mischief maker”. Saqra also refers to one of the characters found in the festival of the Madonna of Carmen in the village of Paucartambo, Cusco. Here, this happy little devil wins the heart of the Madonna with his childish pranks and mischief making as he dances around her playfully in the procession. These ideas inspired the creation of Saqra as a restaurant bar that offers modern Peruvian food where we reinterpret the Peruvian identity in a playful and contemporary key, conjuring up fun and colourful results. Saqra, in essence, is not really a place but a state of mind where this little devil plays a delightful host who wants that all his guests live a unique experience, where they meet again with their the inner child, sometimes long lost.
Lima
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow the food here is amazing, and I've eaten in a lot of places in Peru. Unusual, very tasty, great service, worth the price. This place is pretty special.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello there:
We appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you soon again,
Best regards,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
jdelapiedra@saqra.pe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    157
    39
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect ending to a fantastic Peruvian holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Three friends and I have just spent the last 2 weeks travelling around Peru and the Amazon Jungle. Our last night happened to be in Lima (Miraflores) and through a recommendation from the hotel reception (Casa Andina Select) we headed around the corner to a rather cool looking restaurant called Saqra. The ambience is really nice and the greeting from the staff and restaurant owner was even better. We ordered with assistance from the waiter and I have to say, the starters and main courses were fantastic and full of flavour, we then ordered banana Creme Brûlée with chocolate truffles and I have to say it was perfection. This restaurant is a must when In Miraflores and the bill was approx 370 soles which was approx £23 per person in our group of four. A perfect ending to our holiday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hello Chris:
We enjoyed having you at Saqra.
Your comments are greatly appreciated.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Best regards,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
jdelapiedra@.pe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect day or night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I ate here several times by reccomendation of my hotel . I have to say i was not disapointed . The first time i came for lunch . We had ceviche which was excellent . I found the staff so helpful and polite we enjoyed it so much we returned the next day for dinner . We tried the Pisco sours which were delicious . The place was buzzing and had a great atmosphere . I can not reccomend it highly enough . Must try's on the menu are the Trout and avocado starter, Lomo Saltado and the Picarones

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello jquiogue:

It was great to see you.
We are glad to learn you had a good time with us.
Please look us up when you are in town again,

All the best,

Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
jdelapiedra@saqra.pe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, dinner or cocktails spot in Miraflores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The first time I visited Saqra was on a warm night I late April with several friends for a special occasion dinner. The place was busy and the atmosphere was excellent. Great cocktail menu and a well rounded menu.
The second time I visited Saqra was in September for a lunch meeting as it is a really convenient place to meet. My waiter was a lovely guy named Ericks who hooked me up with a wifi password and was knowledgable about the menu and let me hang out for a bit before my colleagues arrived for the meeting. The manager of the restaurant was also very nice and the food was superb, better than I remembered it to be from April. Unfortunately I didn't have any cocktails cause I was here for a business meeting but when I return (and I shall) I will try some stuff from the drink menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello Dory:
We appreciate your comments.
It was great having you for a second time.
If you can, please try our pisco cocktails. They are getting better and better.
Best regards,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda, Qc, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Good meal and good service. I had a pork tenderloin with chica morada reduction. Very good! The service was attentive. Close to many hotels in Miraflores.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdelapiedra, Propietario at Saqra, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello Yvon:
It was a pleasure having you in Saqra.
If you are in town again, please visit us.
Best regards,
Joaquin de la Piedra
SAQRA
jdelapiedra@saqra.pe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqra also viewed

 

Been to Saqra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saqra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.