We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant gem, tucked away...search it out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda - Swissotel Lima

La Locanda - Swissotel Lima
Av. Santo Toribio 173-Via Central 150 | Centro Empresarial Real, Lima 27, Peru (San Isidro)
51 1 4214400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,189 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Isidro
Burlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant gem, tucked away...search it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I dined solo at the La Locanda restaurant in San Isidro, which is tucked away in the back of the lobby of the eloquent Swissotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming, especially my waiter Vincente, who ensured I did not feel alone on a quiet night. 8 types of bread were brought initially, and I plumped for the ceviche appetizer, which was a little non-traditional in the fact it had a calamari dish (fried) to off-set the octopus and separate fish ceviche. All three parts were excellent. My main course was a Chita fish, in a classic olive/capers butter sauce on top of crisp green beans. It was very well prepared and beautifully plated. Even Chef Augusto popped out to say hello and gather some feedback on his wonderful creations. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    31
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nomads from Downunder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our experience began with a wonderfully friendly greeting and culminated in a marvellous meal two nights in a row. The first was extra special as we had arrived late in Lima and arrived at the restaurant at 10 pm not finishing until midnight. No matter that they normally closed at 11pm, nothing was too much trouble. This attitude was epitomised by both Maitre 'd Alfonso Candiotti and waiter Gianny who were happy to explain any dish and to chat as time permitted.
When we returned to Lima after nearly two weeks travelling elsewhere in Peru and again walked in to the La Locanda, we were greeted like long lost family. It was again late at night and all we wanted was soup. We were presented with beautiful chicken soup and the usual complimentary bread selection. Better than many so-called top restaurants in Lima!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant at the start of trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu. We stayed at the Swiss Hotel in Lima for a couple of nights before our tour with International Expeditions started. La Locanda has great food ann beautiful presentations. My wife and I shared ceviche starter that was perfect. Our main courses were also very good. Service was outstanding, very helpful but not over bearing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went to La Locanda for a very special celebration with family.
This restaurant has all sorts of food, sea food, pastas, meats, etc.
What makes the place different from the rest is that you get the best service. The maitre takes his time to explain the dishes, is always trying to give you the best possible service, and becomes involved with the customers.
The price is expensive, around 100 soles per person, without alcoholic drinks.
I would recomend this place for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The place is beautiful , excellent service, superb food and the staff is great especially Alfonso Candiotti. Thank for a great dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda - Swissotel Lima also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to La Locanda - Swissotel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda - Swissotel Lima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.