We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, but a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Restaurante

Central Restaurante
Calle Santa Isabel 376 | Miraflores, Lima LIMA 18, Peru
+51 1 2428515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,087 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $35 - $140
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best, but a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Central is certainly one of the finest restaurants in Lima. The sophisticated preparation of the different dishes makes them very special. My last experience was almost excellent. The steak I ordered was almost up to the standard, however it had a nerve across and it's tenderness left me with the doubt of how quickly it had been unfrozen. I do consider the menu is overpriced after having been at Central several times and comparing it to other options in Lima. Service is superb and very friendly. I do recommend this restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    137
    47
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting menu combinations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cool interior, menu items are more interesting and different than any other restaurant. Good drinks and lots of little desserts on the table when finishing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Central - Currently one of the best Restaurants in Lima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great and well presented foof, very good service and ambience. The Kitchen, which is full of chefs, was clearly visible through glass walls. - Well worth a visit. (Not cheap)
Calle Santa Isabel 376 Miraflores - 0051 1 242 8515

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I found the food and the service to be outstanding at Central. The food is a little on the more expensive side, but well worth it. I found the wine menu to be as reasonable as any other place. I have dined at Central on other trips ot Lima and it remains excellent and consistent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rest.Central: Terrible Experience - Worst Value-for-Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This used to be one of my top 3 restaurant choices in Lima....not anymore; last night, the food was simply horrible; appetizers were average, but main courses were a disaster; I ordered the rib-eye which came significantly overdone and my wife had the asado de tira which she also rated very poorly; us and my four other friends unanimously agreed on the food rating: poor; moreover, the service was severely weak; one of our two waiters was un-friendly and rude, and despite we asked three times, our wine was served late (after we had eaten our appetizers!); average ticket price was ~US$80 each; this restaurant experience was worth US$20; if you want great food and great service which is always consistently outstanding, go to Rafael. After being to Central ten or eleven times, this was sure my last one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Restaurante also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Central Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.