We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The NASTIEST front desk staff I've ever encountered in Latin America” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miraflores Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miraflores Lodge to your Saves list
Hotel Miraflores Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colon 230 Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Pucon, Chile
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The NASTIEST front desk staff I've ever encountered in Latin America”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Rooms are a bit too overpriced, sterile and hostel-like for the price and the Wi-Fi signal didn't reach our room on the top floor but I would otherwise have recommended the place highly for its location and amazing breakfast buffet. That said, while the night staff and owner were kind, professional and pleasant the young woman working the desk during the day was the nastiest, most sour and unpleasant employee I've encountered in many years of traveling. Really over the top rude. It didn't matter if you made an extra effort to talk to her kindly, she was always beyond condescending and dealing with her was absolutely miserable. Truly a standout in a country where people pride themselves on being so respectful. She gave nasty looks and got snappy with every little question. We asked her to order a taxi for us to the Oltursa bus station and she quoted us a price which was the equivalent of $25 USD, the standard fee to the airport. She wasn't paying attention to the question and when we inquired about the price she said ¨that´s the price, if you have a problem with it find a taxi outside.´´ A group of Brazilian tourists came in asking for a room, return customers mind you, who were quoted a price dramatically higher than what we were paying or what they said they paid last time. The response I overheard was ´´That's the price now, do you want the room or not?¨ We need to go back through Lima a few days later and made it a point not to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
59
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Quality management and courteous, professional service provided a very pleasant 3 day/2 night stay for us in Lima, Peru. Our room was quite comfortable with plenty of hot water at all times. A mini-fridge in the room allowed us to have cold refreshments at-the-ready. We anticipated a superior breakfast experience based on prior guests' reviews, and we were not disappointed. There were so many choices! Though nestled in a residential area, it was only a quick and safe walk to a main avenue and quaint side streets full of shops and eateries. In closing, when a hotel staff is quick to smile, extend a greeting, and offer to assist in any way, a traveler is put at ease in unfamiliar surroundings. My husband and I certainly were at Hotel Miraflores Lodge.

Room Tip: We enjoyed # 213 because it had a balcony with a lovely view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a quiet little oasis with a very nice Patio with WiFi.
Nice rooms, though not large, with a personal safe, wonderful breakfast, and very friendly and helpful staff. Good value.
Located in a pleasant area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a cute hotel, with an open courtyard in the middle.

Best thing: Amazing morning breakfast included in the price. They had so much selection and they make it fresh, eggs, potatoes, fresh breads with 11 kinds of jam, and lots of other add-ons, including 6 types of bowls with olives, feta and tomatoes. Mmmm. It starts at 7:30-10:30, so there is a good chance you will miss it if you aren't sleeping in.

Worst thing: No real map. Or city bus information. There is two tiny maps on a brochure selling you tours. The lady at the front desk just told us to go find the tourist information booth in Kennedy Park, (only a 10 minute walk) but I felt that they should have that info, maps and bus info, available for us at the hotel. The booth was not open at that time, so we never got that info, though I asked for it several different occasions. I feel that the city would have been more accessible to us had they shared this info with us. Everyone else at the hotel was helpful, except her. Advise: print off a good map of Lima from googlemaps.com or you will be without.

The hotel: Hot showers, warm beds, and temperature control (the only place we stayed in all of Peru with that last amenity). They also had shampoo and soap, a free 2.5 liter bottle of water in your room, which is great if you get in late and want to drink water. A mini fridge, not too overpriced.

Location: Great for the Miraflores District! Only about 10 soles cab from Plaza de las Armas. 50 soles from the airport, or about 40 minutes depending on traffic. If you get their hired car, it is $25 USD per person, or roughly 75 soles per person, cheaper to get your own cab, esp. if you are more than 1 person.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Three women stayed here two nights.

Cons: The room smelt horrible and felt dirty. Only insect was a spider (even checked in and around beds). Our shower had black mold and the door wouldn't stay on the tracks. Our stuff was always damp, and had a funk to it when we left.

Pros:The breakfast and staff however were terrific. Location was good for local grocery and cab.
We felt safe and welcome here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Really convenient location, helpful staff (we asked about the advertised $25 cab ride to the airport and they directed us towards a cab for half the price that was just what we needed). Best breakfast spread we saw in Peru - can't beat that! Also most comfortable bed we had in Peru! Only downside was that they are currently doing construction during the day (seemed like about 9 am - 4 pm), so impossible to take a nap due to the jackhammering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent only 1 night here. Unfortunately there was construction going on right next to our room...jack hammering and pounding throughout the day, so we couldn't come back to take a rest and relax. The beds had a plastic covering on the mattress and were very uncomfortable. The room had a musty smell and there was a lot of black(mold?) around the bathroom tiles and grouting around the shower. The positives: The nice girl at the front desk, Leidy, was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was excellent! The lounge and breakfast area downstairs are very nice and comfortable. This would be a GREAT value hotel if they could update the rooms and bathrooms and finish up,with the construction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miraflores Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miraflores Lodge

Address: Colon 230 Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miraflores Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Miraflores Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miraflores Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miraflores Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.