We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel experience I have had so far. Avoid.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Las Fresas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Las Fresas to your Saves list
Hostal Las Fresas
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Las Fresas 221 | Urbanizacion El Olivar, Lima Lima 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 242 Lima B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience I have had so far. Avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel was located in a very bad neighbourhood. It is a very dangerous place where one cannot go out at night. There was no hot water. The room was smelly and dirty. I stayed two days and didn't clean the room. The beds were terrible with plastic on the mattress. The breakfast was expensive and horrible. They charged 25 for a Taxi to collect you at the airpot but the Taxi doesn't have a permit to park inside the airport and you have to walk all the way to the outside of the airport with your luggage. Outside a Taxi cost approx. 10 soles till the hotel. There was not TV in the room despite being described in the room facilities.The staff asked 50 soles to change to a similiar room with TV! But the difference on the website was only 10 soles! This is the worst hotel experience I had so far. If you want a place near the airport to crash between flights look somewhere. Avoid this place like a plague for your own good, unless you want to be robbed by the hotel staff and their neighbours.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
13
48
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed there one night between flights. Their taxi wouldve been cheaper, but still expensive. Room big, quiet location. Breakfast "only with forewarning" - as if one night wouldnt be enough. Their taxi didnt arrive in the morning, so I got my money back and took the first car that stopped to a wave of a hand.
I'm sure there's other hostels closer to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for the first night of my travels. The owner Rafael is very helpful, got up in the middle of the night to welcome me and can organise airport transfers for you etc. Its really close to the airport which is what I needed and there's a main street a short walk away where there's shops and money exchange.

I stayed in a double room with ensuite. Small and basic but clean and did the job!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

After several weeks in Peru my boyfriend and I stayed for 3 days at Hostal Las Fresas. We liked our room, there was hot water and the staff was very very nice. We used one day with Paulino, The father of the owner, in Lima, he showed us the zoo and the waterpark wit art. We are very satisfied about our stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We booked a night at Las Fresas because we read it was close to the airport, and the price was right ($20)- but transportation to/from the hostal, arranged by the hostal, cost $10 each way- as much as a night in the hostal. And the arranged transportation was a public taxi- yes, someone met us at the airport with a sign with our name, but he just walked with us to the public taxis outside the airport grounds, bargained with the drivers there, and put us in a pubic taxi. The taxi driver didn’t even know where the hostal was- took several wrong turns before funding the right street. But I can’t really blame him- the hostal is in a residencial neighborhood in the middle of nowhere - all the streets look the same. There is a kitchen in the hostal, but we weren’t told we could use it. There is a small store on the corner, and we were able to buy bread and cheese for our dinner- not much else in the store.
The room was essentially clean, but worn. The mattress was obviously cheap, the pillows like large rocks, and the water in the shower never got warm. The wifi worked, the TV had English channels, but poor reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

After a long, late flight, it was nice to come to a place w/ a homey feeling! The pick-up from the airport was smooth! What caught my attention was the cleanliness of the place- from the receiving area, to the floors, the stairs and then our good-sized room w/ ensuite bathroom! There was really nothing fancy about the hostal but for the price we paid for 1 overnight stay, I would definitely say it was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Victor was a great host -- he answered my emails and questions promptly, helped to explain pick up to/from the airport, and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. We booked Hostel Las Fresas because of its nearby location to the airport, since we were on our way to Cusco.

The best part was when I accidentally left my glasses and sunglasses behind, and he emailed me letting me know he had them and I could pick them up when I returned to Lima from Cusco. He kept them safe and reassured me it would all work out.

The room was clean, and the bathroom was clean. Rooms were a great price. It's the perfect place for lodging if you need a quick place near the airport, and you're on your way to Cusco the next day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Las Fresas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Fresas

Address: Calle Las Fresas 221 | Urbanizacion El Olivar, Lima Lima 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Las Fresas 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE ONLY 5 MINUTES from the Jorge Chavez International Airport and we have affordable, comfortable rooms with double beds, private bathrooms, hot water, cable TV and Wi-Fi. If you want to relax, come to our hostel and enjoy a customized service with a family atmosphere so you feel right at home!!We offer accommodation in Lima for different kinds of customers around the world, whether couples, individuals or backpackers. We also enjoy a very good location, away from downtown traffic.Our area is very quiet and our environment is the perfect place to stay. All our rooms are clean and comfortable as well as the shared facilities.It's definitely a place where you can enjoy a nice stay with a high-quality service; we offer single and double roomsFree services included or the Hostel:- Free access to internet (Wi-Fi)- Provision of towels, sheets, and toilet paper and bed clothing (free)- Attention 24 hours- Housekeeping can clean your room as many times as you need- We can store your valuables such as documents on a safe when you are staying with us- Room-service- We offer personalized and friendly service to enjoy your stay in our accommodation.Additional services:-Pick up Service-Transfer (Airport, Bus Station, etc)-Breakfast-Storage Room (Backpacks, suitcases,etc)Edible products such as chips, snacks, soft drinks, mineral water, beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Las Fresas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Las Fresas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.