We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, helpful staff, good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 213 Specialty lodging in Lima
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, helpful staff, good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Friendly helpful smiling staff, good wifi (but doesn't reach all upstairs rooms), tv with large DVD selection, good kitchen and fridge to use with supermarket close by. Great location. On a main street so it's especially noisy in outside bungalows in peak traffic times but inside the main house it's less noisy. Very hot water but pressure fluctuates if others are also showering. Nice spaces to relax but the outside patio could do with a dozen more plants do it's less sparse, but there's pingpong, darts, fooseball and board games so overall I felt really relaxed and comfortable there- recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    35
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
50
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Hitchhikers backpackers in Cusco-where I stayed for a week- booked me a single room with bathroom here for one of my last three days in Lima as they were booked up for the rest of the time. It cost me 70 Soles and I was pleasantly suprised with the quality of my room. It was in a quiet area of the hostel, cable TV perched high up on the wall-great for watching it in bed-and high pressure, HOT water showers; the best during my whole trip. The reception area has loads of flyers available with info on Lima, Spanish courses, adventure trips within Peru and also on hostels in Quito, Ecuador. I read on one of the reviews that said the rooms had a musty smell, and yeah they do a bit, but it wasn't a big deal for me. The reception staff were nice and smiley and I wanted to stay for another two days but it wasn't to be. Their sister hostel in Cusco is good as well; single rooms 60 soles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Let's get the negative out of the way: the room was dank, airless, and humid. I got in at 1 am and could have asked for another room but just collapsed into bed.

For my return trip, I have booked a room that has a large window. The deskclerk was awesome (Piter). He arranged the delivery of bus tickets, gave good walking around directions and went out of his way to take care of us. I will be back with groups

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

The hostel was great, the service was amazing, and we all had a really great time. It is in a safe area, and they always helped out us with recommendations of things to do and how to get there. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I love coming here. The staff is amazing and always willing to help. You meet people from all over the world. I actually miss the hostal once I'm back home. Can't wait to go back. The location is great very safe. You can't beat the price either.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really friendly hostel, great communal space and only 6 bunks per room. Also very clean and in a good location in Mirraflores, highly recommended. Breakfast not great but at least its included!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is located in one of the best areas of Lima (Miraflores) . The Love park is just a few blocks from the hostel. Unfortunately, my mattress was as hard as a rock! I stayed 2 nights in a dorm and the last one I changed to a private room and the mattress was better. The breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 213 Specialty lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.