We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with this hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Buena Vista

Hostal Buena Vista
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hostal Buena Vista
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av. Grimaldo del Solar, 202, Lima ., Peru (Formerly Buena Vista Guesthouse ***) (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Lima
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed with this hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Having specified that we needed a room to accomodate three people at the time of booking (two adults, one minor) we were nevertheless forced into a double room, suitable only for two adults. To make matters worse, the room, including the bedding, was infested with tiny mites. Management were helpful enough, but one of the cleaning staff was surly at having to change our linen and quite insulting until she was informed that we understood spanish. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
3
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Awesome, felt right at home! Really friendly staff, nice big rooms, great location in Miraflores. This feels like a home rather than a hotel, so easy to feel relaxed here. It's also pretty quiet at night. I can definitely recommend a stay here - it's an oasis in the heart of this big city...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

An excellent, colonial looking style, nice and cossy hostal in the center of Miraflores (touristy district), great location, sorrounded by places where to eat, laundry places, markets, parks, Larcomar mall (cinemas, restaurants, bars...) banks, ATM's, cafe's, internet places, pub, night clubs, travel agencies, tourism information offices, among other places.
Between other things, you will find inside the hostal: Internet, WI FI, very nice breakfast, hot water, good plumbing, living area, book exgange area and a 24/7 staff that will make you feel like if you're at home. Spanish and english speakers.
Very well manage by Jorge Correa owner and manager of the hostal, not only a great guy, but a helpful, a can do attitude kind of guy with an excellent customer service and passenger satisfaction and always with a big "grin" on his face.
If I ever go back I wouldn't think twice in book with them again.
Prices are more than fair, I recommend it.
Alfredo Arbulu.

Room Tip: I stay in room number 6, was great. There are others with a balcony and great view, wouldn't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice decor, with antique-tiled courtyard, and small adjacent lounge, common spaces are full of antiques and plants, rooms are pleasant, and staff is very helpful, easy to walk to and from hostal day or night, very good location

Room Tip: try to get a room that faces inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Buena Vista during our time in Peru and had a fantastic stay. All staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable with plenty of hot water, and the breakfast each morning was delicous! A full-service hostal close to all the attractions of Miraflores.. we often walked to Kennedy Park or to Larcomar. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Conveniently located for the Park Kennedy and the bars, restaurants and shops of Miraflores, this is a very pleasant 'colonial' building. However, be warned: it is extremely noisy and the breakfasts fall far short of the brochure promises. In reality, they amount to little more than scrambled eggs or a fried egg and bread. There are small portions of fresh fruit laid out but these dishes are not replenished so you miss out if you don't get there for the 8 am start. Breakfast service is also incredibly slow and somewhat unenthusiastic. The reception staff, however, were more efficient and friendly - however, not to the extent of aiding with making a local mobile call (not possible from within the hotel itself!!). I was directed outside the hotel to first purchase a calling card from a local supermarket - not the kind of service I would have expected. Definitely avoid rooms 1 & 2 - by the entrance and close to the reception as you will be disturbed at all hours of the day and night. A plus (and a definite plus) would be to consider doing one of the Haku Tours - brochures are in the reception area. I did a couple and both were totally personalised and very fulfilling experiences indeed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 & 2 at all costs! (My friend and I had those and were continually disturbed by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hostal Buena Vista following a 5 day trek to Machu Picchu, and I must say that it was a fantastic experience. George, Leo, and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and VERY accommodating. The bargain price, made-to-order breakfast, abundance of hot water for showers, locking gate, internet access, and traveling advice that they provided made our experience memorable, safe, and relaxing. I highly recommend staying here when in Lima or Cusco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buena Vista

Address: Av. Grimaldo del Solar, 202, Lima ., Peru (Formerly Buena Vista Guesthouse ***)
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Buena Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.