We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good serviceable hostel, cool rooftop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Hostels

Save Saved
You added Dragonfly Hostels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Hostels
Avenida 28 de Julio, 190, Lima 18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 212 Specialty lodging in Lima
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good serviceable hostel, cool rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed on a couple of occasions, well located hostel a bit away from the other hostels in Miraflores. 5 minutes to the coast walk and shops etc

Comfy beds, good bathrooms, decent WIFI, nice kitchen, computer to use and very helpful staff. Quiet hours are strictly enforced so despite the dorms being close to reception I found it easy to sleep.

The roof was excellent to socialize on and meet everyone staying at the hostel. Not being able to being your own beers into the hostel is a bit annoying but there are good beers available for sale.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate you shared your experience with others travelers.
As you notice we make a lot of effort to maintain a good balance between fun and chill-out. We do not allowed beers from outside for 2 main reasons: the empty bottles brought from outside can not be recollect by our suppliers and so we are not able to recycle, we have a great selection of beers at the hostel and we have a microbrewery.
Thank you for choosing Dragonfly Hostels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    61
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
48
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent an evening here whilst in Lima in 2014. The booking process was quick, efficient and friendly. This centrally located hostel has a very welcoming feel to it and all the staff were very friendly and professional. I will 100% be using this hostel in the near future. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi,
We appreciate a lot your comments. We know that for each traveller it's his first time in Peru and we want to give you the best first impression.
Have a great trip in Peru,
Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stay in Lima every month or two. And when we come we typically stay at Dragonfly. We've stayed in most of the rooms on multiple occasions. 

The good: Nice staff, great terrace bar, good beer (a rarity in Lima) and a great location. The hostal tends to attract a very laid back crowd, which is ideal for solo travelers. 

The not so good: It's an old building and rather noisy (in all the rooms). The price is not outrageous, but it's not cheap either. There are better deals certainly in Lima. The beds and pillows are lacking. The bathrooms are cramped.

All told, it's an OK option. And unless you want to spend a lot more, you'll struggle to find better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate your honest feedback. We always glad to hear what we can improve.
About the good: we focus a lot to maintain a social ambiance, not too big, not too small and a staff who really take care of your well being.
About what we can improve: the bathrooms is our next big project, it's a large investment but we are willing to do it.
The building is one of the last old house of this very active neighborhood in Miraflores. Being in the heart of Miraflores imply we have to deal with the city noises.
We keep our rates as competitive as possible, but we don't compromise with quality of service, cleanliness... I encourage to check our special offers like 3x2 in our dorms.
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hostel was staffed with very friendly people and our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The rooftop terrace was perfect for a late night drink or to mingle with fellow travelers. It was a great location, blocks from Parque Kennedy and plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants, etc. Try their beers, they are great!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi,
In the same of all the staff, I thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you liked our effort to make your stay the best.
Our beers are brewed in our hostel in Cusco, feel free to visit our micro brewery in Dragonfly Hostels Cusco.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nice place to hang out for a few days. Friendly staff create a nice atmosphere helping guests to chat more (good when travelling alone!). The private rooms were a bit cold when I was there. Take advantage of the available blankets!

Room Tip: Dorms downstairs are warmer than private rooms on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hola!
We appreciate you shared your experience with us.
As you said, blankets are available and very soon the summer sun will warm our spacious terrace.. it's time to come back for a Barbecue.
Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall not a great experience. Hostel forgot our airport pickup and so wr had to ring them after we exited the airport terminal. Although hostel is in an awesome location, private rooms are dark, small and very run down. The bar is nice, but rooms can be noisy as they are right next to the bar and walls paper thin. The staff here are awersome and are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi,
We thank you for your feedback, we always try our best to make your first contact with Peru the best experience.
About the airport pick-up, as we mentioned in our confirmation email, we recommend to not exit the terminal. As you noticed, once you passed the customs, it can be difficult to see your name on a sign due to the large number of peoples waiting and we give a meeting point inside the terminal. You've made also the right choice to call us, so we can inform you.
The rooms on the roof top terrace are our budget offers and can be more subject to the outdoor activities (our quiet hours still 11pm-8am).
We always recommend to ask our friendly staff for assistance if anything is wrong.
Thank you for choosing Dragonfly Hostels,
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location, very good value, very helpful staf. This has been my favourite hostal when I was travelling in South America. Unfortunate I was only staying for one day in Lima, Lima is so big you need a few days to appreciate the beauty that Lima has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi,
In the name of all the staff we want to thank you for your kind comments.
Everybody give 200% to make your stay in Lima a great experience and we are happy that you appreciate and share it.
Cheers from Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dragonfly Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels

Address: Avenida 28 de Julio, 190, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 212 Specialty lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hostel in the safe neighborhood of Miraflores district, in Lima. Great cafeteria with kitchen recently renovated, we offer spacious dorms and comfortable private rooms with quality bedding. We are the only hostel in Lima with surf facilities in the beach, 10 min walking distance. A great roof terrace for chill-out at the bar or BBQ. NEW: find our micro-brewery beers at our bar! Around here you will find restaurants, bars and all kind of attractions. Close access to the beach of Makaha, with surf rental facilities. We will be happy to accommodate you during your stay in Lima. We offer : Free linen, free internet, WiFi, TV Cable, surf board rental, bus and tours booking, free baggage storage, lockers, chill-out lobby, movies, DVD & books, kitchen facilities, hot water 24/7, all kinds of good traveling advices and a selection of tours and treks in Peru. Open 24 hours. Airport shuttle service on request 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.