We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Doral Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Doral Hotel
Av. Jose Pardo 486 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 196 hotels in Lima
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I arrived at this hotel late at night having been bounced from my reserved hotel which had overbooked itself, so I was not in the best frame of mind and didn't know what to expect. However my mood was instantly improved by the genuinely friendly and helpful welcome I received by the reception staff, who went out of their way to make me feel welcome.
The rooms are indeed a little old, but very clean and spacious with a separate sitting area between the entry and the bedroom which cuts out noise from the central atrium. The rear-facing rooms are therefore very quiet, though I suspect the front rooms could be noisy as Jose Pardo is a busy street.
Delightful rooftop breakfast area by the pool.
Good value, and mostly Peruvian and Latin-American guests which is a nice change from the "gringo ghetto" hotels like the nearby Antigua Miraflores (which is the hotel that bounced me!)

BTW previous reviewer is inaccurate when he says this hotel is 45 minutes from Miraflores. It is in fact, 5 minutes walk from Parque Kennedy which is the heartbeat of Miraflores, and 15 minutes walk from Larcomar on the clifftop.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vaglio basilicata
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If I was not going to meet Ronald at the check out, then this review would be surely worse.
Lima itself is a city too large and the distances can exaust the patience of everybody.
When on Wednesday I arrived at the hotel I was quite disappointed by the interiors of the lobby and even worse by the rooms. It would be more a 2* than a 3*.
Rooms are old and even more the furniture. When I entered the rooms the aircon was off and it was so warm and humid that I left the baggage, turned on the aircon and left the room immediately.
Rooms are very noisy since are facing on an important street and you can wake up very early in the morning. In all this it has been a surprise to have breakfast on the terrace where there is also a swimming pool. Not an unforgettable breakfast but nice ambient anyway.
The best thing happened has been to meet Ronald at the check-out desk in the morning. The typical guy that with his smile and kindness has surely changed positively my day. Great person. From this hotel to reach Miraflores requires up to 45 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have stayed at the Doral for the last eight years when in Lima. . the location is excellent and safe. the rooms are large and clean. the staff is the most cordial in the world. I recomend this hotel to all of our freinds. They have a very good and dependable airport pickup service at $30. .
one improvment area. the center of th ebuilding is open air and sometimes one can hear conversations at the desk.

Room Tip: stay high and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Hotel was very good, excellent for a businessman, also good for families.
This hotel location is excellent, in the center of Miraflores District everything is within easy reach.
The biggest asset this hotel has is the personnel, totally professional,and friendly. They go out out of their way to help you.
Caution, the use of the hotel phone is expensive, no charge to receive calls.
You can rent a cell phone at the airport, this can save you a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

El Doral is located 30 minutes/45 soles taxi ride from the airport, a safe, well-lit 10 minute walk to Parque Kennedy in central Miraflores and the Indian Market, and 20 minutes to the Malacon and Larcomar Shopping Center. The included breakfast was excellent and served on the open air rooftop restaurant and bar by kind and friendly staff. The rooms, circling an open air atrium filled with ferns and flowers, were adequately sized with a separate sitting room and fridge and comfortable beds. The bathroom was efficient with plentiful hot water. The 110 volt electrical plug in the bathroom was a welcome surprise.
The bilingual hotel staff was friendly and knowledgeable about Lima and Miraflores, and readily offered good suggestions for local activities and restaurants. Every question or request was quickly answered and resolved.
We thoroughly recommend this 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I stay always there when I trip to Lima. It´s an apart hotel. The rooms need a new redecoration and the rooms can looks darkish inside, because of dark furniture and low profile ilumination ! Perfect location for Miraflores and excellent good-value for money.
The service is the best of this and there is a special attention from the staff.
Try to get the rooms back off from the building, as the front of the avenue can be noisy mainly at the lower floors.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Very helpful and service-minded staff. Good Rooms with great beds and bathroom. Really clean. Pool on the roof. Simple breakfast. Overall I had a great staff and would recomend it for everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Doral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Doral Hotel

Address: Av. Jose Pardo 486 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 196 hotels in Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Doral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Doral Hotel to your Saves list