We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large menu not only of purely Jap food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makoto Sushi bar

Makoto Sushi bar
CC Jockey Plaza, Surco, Coming Soon Calle 2 de Mayo 413, Miraflores, Lima, Peru
+51 4368472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 1,087 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For over 17 years, Makoto has been celebrating the combination of Japanese technical food preparation with the fresh seafood from Peru. Always offering various seafood dishes prepared with authentic Japanese ingredients in a relaxing ambiance where talented itamaes surprise diners with their specialties. Winner of the Peruvian Business of the Year 11 years in a row, Makoto has won numerous awards over the years for its excellent food and service.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Top Contributor
596 reviews 596 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“Large menu not only of purely Jap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just arrived in Lima we wanted something light and quick. Japanese food was ok, but also very good ceviches. Only a bit slow in managing the payment, but probably not their fault.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad rolls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After Ono left Miraflores, we didn't have time to go to neighboring neighborhood for sushi. We stumbled upon this place while strolling the beach & relaxing at Larcomar. Their fish selection is limited: no escolar, uni, toro, hamachi. We finally settle for rolls. They are dry. The rice didn't taste right. All we can taste are rice & cream cheese, even though there are other stuffs in the rolls. On top of that, the price wasn't cheap either...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Shushi at Larcomar, is Makoto!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

this is my second time in Makoto, I can only say, quality is excellent, service was ok , not very good, but I will come back always to eat, not to expect a better service, I can tell them, but the service in Peru is not good in general, due to the owners , they dont have no idea how to serve , only international hotels, knows about it, or the best restaraurants only, even that they dont have not idea how to teach, how to serve and please the clients, I WILL RETURN , I LOVE THE BEST SUSHI IN LARCOMAR.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing, if this was my first visit I would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There were new staff on duty that had not been trained (or just did to care) and the old hands seemed to be uninterested. Not sure what the problem was but the food saved the evening but will be circumspect about returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good sushi in the heart of Larcomar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Quality of sushi and sashimi was quite good. Thought the price was reasonable and the service was satisfactory.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto Sushi bar also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Makoto Sushi bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makoto Sushi bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.