We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room meets needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Colibri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iquitos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Colibri
Save
You added Hostal El Colibri to your Saves list
Raymondi 200, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, room meets needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

At the time of my stay ( 4 August) there was major construction on the street in front of the hostal, blocking vehicle access, and making lots of noise during work hours. I don't know when it will be done.
This hostal is one block off the malecon, a pedestrian street overlooking the river, with lots of artesan markets lining the street. It is 1 block from the plaza de armas. Great location!
I stayed here for one night after my trip to a jungle lodge. This hostal only takes cash, no plastic, so be prepared. There are a variety of rooms, including singles, doubles and triples. A/C is available for 10 soles more.
Check in went smoothly, and I was given the key, the tv control, and the a/c control. The tv control didn't work, so I went and got another one, no problem.
My room (218) was on the second floor facing the street, so there was some street noise, but between the tv and the a/c, it was minimal. A/c was cold, and you can set your own temp. There is a small desk and chair, and a built in closet with hangers. The bathroom was basic but clean. There is a small shelf for toiletries next to the sink, very helpful.
The sheets on the bed were rougher than what I am used to, but the bed itself was perfect for sleeping.
There is a small courtyard area where the stairs are, and a small cafe but I never saw anybody there. Security is good- they have to buzz the door for you to enter, and the staff seem to know everyone, and their room number, quickly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
16
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Clean, spacious, nice bathroom, good bed, strong fan, great location. Excellent breakfast (extra) with strong coffee-- definitely worth it. If you're going to be in Iquitos and want budget lodging, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Perfect if you want a very simple cheap sleeping alternative in Iquitos. Hostal is in perfect location and staff are really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT , OHIO USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My 5th stay at Colibri , Safe , Comfortable , Great Location , Very Attentive & without question a great value for your dollar . If any of these features meet you're needs , look no futher , you've found you home away from home . I'ts mine !! ....Rudy

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Ice cold a/c, cable TV for those late nites, clean sheets and none to loud, all for 20.00 and less with no AC, I will stay here again...rooms are not very large but good enough

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I stayed here for a night and found it ideal for getting to know the center of Iquitos. The location couldn't be better for the boulevard and the main square. Rooms are clean, a good size, and come with a TV... hot water was suppposed to be included but in the end the weather was so hot that a cold shower was just what we needed. The only annoying thing was the street noise. We were on the third floor and, although the views were great, the noise from the motorbikes went on all night. But for the price and the convenience I would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed at El Colibri every time I came back to Iquitos during my one-year stay in Loreto and it became became my second home. Very central location means some noise - but that's Iquitos! Great value for money. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Colibri

Address: Raymondi 200, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostal is located in Raymondi 200 street one block from square; all the rooms have private bathroom, TV cable, hot water and cold, WIFI.There is service coffe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal El Colibri Hotel Iquitos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.