We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerson is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amazon Jungle Guide

The Amazon Jungle Guide
Calle Central Mz P Lt 8 Asent. H. Nvo Versalles | Punchana - District, Iquitos 16001 Iquitos, Peru
(+51) 965 013225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Iquitos
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Curuhuinsi Eco Adventure Tours & Expeditions it is a local Tour Company, which is run by local people, based out in Puerto Miguel, Ucayali river, 260 km south Iquitos, Peruvian Amazon. Gerson Pizango, 'The Amazon Jungle Guide', can offer you a totally unique and authentic Amazon experience.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gerson is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Gerson Pizango was our guide and he could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was just me and my boyfriend, which made the experience very personal. We had a limited amount of time in the Amazon, but he was able to make sure we had time to do everything we wanted to, including pirhana fishing, dolphin spotting, and visiting an animal sanctuary. I highly recommend him. He really does everything he can to make your trip special.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazon experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I can't say enough positive things about this experience. I would highly recommend this experience if you are prepared to get sweaty, try new things, and enjoy the "wild" and all that comes with that!

We wanted an authentic amazon adventure and that's what we got. We were 4 Canadian girls in our 20s travelling through Peru and doing some natural medicine volunteering. Gerson and his gang of guides tapered our adventure to suit our interests in natural and botanical medicine (We did a several jungle hikes/walks). Other adventures included piraña fishing, caiman "hunting", river dolphin watching/swimming, bird watching, monkey visits, night walks to see spiders, etc etc. This was awesome!
Staying at the lodge was amazing. It's situated right in the jungle and you fall asleep to the sounds of the Amazon!! It is rustic but completely comfortable, and serving some of the best food I ate while during my month in Peru.

Thanks for an amazing time Gerson, Kid, Olin and friends!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The whole experience was amazing. They really take care of you. The days are custom built and full of so much cool stuff. We saw pink dolphins and held sloths and hung out with monkeys... Food was plentiful and delicious and the whole lodge felt like Swiss Family Robinson. Great company. Would have been five stars but he almost made us miss our flight out of town by being late.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most Thrilling Experience of My Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Kid was the best tour guide I could have asked for. He spoke perfect English and made sure to make everything an unforgettable experience. When deciding what to do he never said no to any of my request of activities. I don't know how he spots out all the animals but he can find them all from far away. He was happy to teach me many skills to use when catching animals and surviving in the jungle. I definitely plan to come back again and stay for a much longer period of time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

There is no set itinerary. We were asked what we wanted to do and we did it. We hunted for and caught cayman. We fished for pirahna in the morning and ate them at night. Our amazing guide Kid caught an anaconda. Visited a local village. This is no Disney Cruise. If you want amazing adventure and the experience of a lifetime, this is the place for you. Spartan accomodations. Great food. Extremely knowledgeable guides who have lived their whole lives in the area. One of the greatest adventures of my life.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amazon Jungle Guide also viewed

 

Been to The Amazon Jungle Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amazon Jungle Guide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.