We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amazon Animal Rescue Center CRA

Amazon Animal Rescue Center CRA
Iquitos, Peru
063-23-2665
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Attractions in Iquitos
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I thought this would be a good place to visit based on the glowing reviews here, but our experience was quite different. The centre is small, there are just a few animals to see - a couple of monkeys, one otter, some turtles, a couple of macaws and the manatees (which were well worth seeing). The tour was quick, the explanation brief. The guide told us nothing about the educative work done by the centre. (Of course the tour was in Spanish, but we had someone translating for us). We were not given sufficient time to watch the animals; and it was not possible to walk around alone. We were allowed to feed/touch the manatees but the group was large - possibly due to the fact that it was pouring with rain, and tours had been halted in a vain attempt to wait for the rain to stop. Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We got to hold lots of exotic animals. It's a very small facility, costs very little to visit, but well worth the trip. When will you get the opportunity to hold a HUGE snake, have a parrot on your head, and hug a sloth?

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sloths were awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

get up close and personal with jungle wildlife. Got to hold and the monkeys. Great experience. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's wonderful to know there are organizations protecting wildlife, even when the government often turns a blind eye. Run mostly by volunteers, cra is also a reserve for turtles, monkeys, a sea otter, and macaw. I loved my interaction with the manatees and was on of the highlights of my trip in Peru. I highly recommend everyone to come here. We hired a tuk tuk for the whole day and it was only 40 soles to the manatee reserve as well as pilipintuwasi butterfly reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to see the endangered manatees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a quick private tour with a very knowledgeable guide who spoke great English. We saw a rescued otter, monkeys, and endangered turtles, but the highlight of the place is definitely the endangered manatees. We saw the baby ones as well as the adult ones, and were informed about the importance of these animals in the ecosystem as well as the threats they face. The rescue center has in place measures to gradually reintroduce the manatees into the wild, and their efforts should be applauded.

We took a mototaxi for 15 sol to the rescue center, and it took us about 20 minutes from downtown Iquitos. Entry fee was 10 sol per person, and for an additional 5 sol we got to feed water lettuce and bananas to the manatees while petting them. They are very gentle herbivores and we are very happy that there is an organization doing all it can to protect this species while educating the people of their significance. Definitely a must-see if you are in Iquitos.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Animal Rescue Center CRA also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Amazon Animal Rescue Center CRA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazon Animal Rescue Center CRA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.