We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Amazon Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heliconia Amazon River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heliconia Amazon River Lodge to your Saves list
Heliconia Amazon River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Las Palmeras , Yanamono, On the Bank of the Amazon River | 50 Miles North of Iquitos, Amazon River Down, Iquitos Indiana, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Amazon Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I went here in 2006, not 2010, after a week and half of travelling between Lima, Iquitos and Mazan...it was great after being in a hut for a week, having hot water, decent food and fun bar/lounge to hang out in. It was very rustic in a fun way, rooms were sufficient, bathrooms as well. There were safes in the room, which was great, with fun pirate looking keys. The lounge/bar had hammocks and was in the center of the spider-like layout. Very neat observation tower also. The back of our room was partially screened for a window and you could hear the sounds of the jungle loud at night...very cool.

Room Tip: Well they're all good, all central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
32
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I've traveled in over 75 countries and done a number of trips to the Amazon in Peru & Ecuador. This, by far, was the worst and most over-priced place I've ever stayed in.

The fact that the place is super-basic ("rustic" would be a severe exaggeration) without electricity is a fact you can live with. And the food is awful but hey, you're in the middle of a jungle and that's okay too.

But what really got me was the fact that the "jungle walks" were very, very lame and you basically have NOTHING to do. Yes, you go to the nearby lake for fishing and caiman watching but they were both SUPER-LAME.

On the way back, our boat (very reckless driver) broke down in the middle of the river and we had to get towed by a small fishing boat - there were no apologies from the owner or refunds or anything - lucky we didn't miss a flight.

All this is fine if we didn't have to pay a ridiculous 3M COP for 3 nights. We left after 2 nights because there was NOTHING to do.

So, if you want a "jungle" experience, do day trips from Leticia or go to Puerto Narino or avoid Colombia altogether. There are plenty of options from Iquitos which are far superior.

One positive thing I'll say about the owner - he was flexible as I changed the trip dates several times. But we were practically the only ones staying there and this is the peak season. Tells you something about the place!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeliconiaLodge, Propietario at Heliconia Amazon River Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Balap
Heliconia Amazon River Lodge is located on the banks of the majestic Amazon river (margin left side) , to 80 km away from Iquitos City in Perú but not Colombia.
Your opinion is about a place located in Colombia.
Our Lodge called Heliconia has electricity, actually the electric generator (completely encapsulated) is used for some hours.
In addition our price are in US dollars and not in COP (colombian pesos).

Therefore I ask you kindly to eliminate your opinions of a place that is not our Lodge.
Many thanks in advance

My best regards

Adela Acosta
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Owned by the same family who owns the Victoria Regia in Iquitos, this lodge does everything possible to provide a customer service oriented experience. The 1.5 hour boat ride from Iquitos to the lodge goes by quick as you take in the surroundings. Upon arrival, lunch is served in a buffet style format, incorporating local fruits and juices, as well as traditional beef/chicken. Rooms are what you'd expect from a lodge in the Amazon - no electricity (except for a few hours a day), no TV, no A/C. But you don't go to the Amazon to watch CNN. Besides, with all of the excursions, you reallly don't spend much time in the room other than to sleep. The beds were comfortable, however, and there was plenty of hot water in the morning to shower with.

You come to Heliconia to experience nature and the local culture - and the staff certainly makes sure you do. Whether it's a hike through the jungle, fishing for piranha or playing with sloths with children from a local community, the tour guides do everything possible to make the adventure an enjoyable one.

Pedro, the lodge's macaw, makes for a lot of fun and he even played soccer with me and some of the village kids!

Everything is included except drinks, but they are moderately priced and the lodge does not gouge you. Tea and coffee and water are available 24/7. Overall, an incredible experience and something worth doing again if I ever make it back.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room that also has an area with a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My 2 girlfriends and I (mid-20s) stayed here with a 3 day, 2 night package and we loved it! We were greeted with a friendly staff and delicious pink drinks as soon as we arrived to the lodge. Our guide Carlos was so enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the various aspects of the Jungle. The excursions were the perfect length, and we had enough time between excursions to relax by the (clean) pool or take a siesta in the Hammock Room. I especially liked our trip to the villages and schools where we got to meet students and members of the indigenous tribes of the Amazon.

The food was delectable! As a vegetarian, I had been eating mainly eggs and potatoes for the majority of my stay in Peru, but not at Heliconia! The chef, Victor, prepared amazing vegetarians meals on top of the regular meals, which was much appreciated. They also exposed us to many Amazonian fruits that you can't find elsewhere- so tasty!

The rooms were comfortable, the water was hot, the pressure was good.

Great lodge to stay at, with enough excursions to stay busy all day and enough flexibility to just chill with a game of soccer with the locals!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I have had the chance to visit the Amazon many times through the years and often stay at the Heliconia. The food and the service has always been superb. Since my last visit, they have added a swimming pool and remodeled many rooms. This is a great place for groups, families and friends to experience the Amazon Jungle. The fishing and jungle tours (both night and day) are excellent. If you visit Iquitos, make sure you spend a couple days at the Heliconia.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My best jungle lodge experience. Great location, fine setting and friendly staff -- and that includes "Pedro" the itinerant macaw who hangs there (literally). Ask for one of the renovated rooms -- the are especially nice.
Jack
Colorado

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at Heleconia, about 50 miles down river from Iquitos. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and our guide, Victor, was superb. We did several hikes in the jungle - the night hikes were especially interesting, spent early mornings in small boats watching birds and monkeys and relaxed next to the small pool. We visited a local village where Victor demonstrated how the people along the river manage their sustenance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heliconia Amazon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Amazon River Lodge

Address: Las Palmeras , Yanamono, On the Bank of the Amazon River | 50 Miles North of Iquitos, Amazon River Down, Iquitos Indiana, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Amazon River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Heliconia Amazon River Lodge, named after the jungle's most stunning flower and stay in one of the most exceptional lodges within the 40-hectare rainforest reserve at the Northern Peruvian Amazon. Experience authentic comfort during your rainforest stay amidst the wildlife, islands and lagoons, a perfect base to begin your low-impact Amazon adventure. Explore the jungle, feel the wildlife first hand and appreciate the wonders of nature. Go trekking, bird watching as well as looking out for pink dolphins. Our prime Amazon limited electricity lodge assures you with an enlightening and eco-friendly stay, an exploration of raw journey yet providing you with the most comfort and convenience. Sail through this magical rainforest, wander the natural beauty, and then relax back to the comfort of our lodge with some marvelous memories. Location Heliconia Amazon River Lodge is located on the left bank of the magnificent Amazon River in Yanamono Communal Reserve, 80 km (50 miles) from Iquitos City. Getting there. International flights to and from Iquitos are now being serviced by Copa Airlines, initially from Panama. From Lima, fly to Iquitos via domestic airlines with several flights daily. 90-Minute flight. From the Iquitos Airport, we will transfer you to Bellavista Port, where you will board our motorized boat for 1.15 Hours downstream along the Amazon River. Our Unique Qualities: • Archetypal Amazon architecture rustic houses built on stilts all connected by thatched roofed corridors with a refreshing swimming pool in its inner garden; ecofriendly limited electricity yet safe and secure which is the lodge's standard • Built by local construction masters from the Yanamono Reserve, renowned for its vast biodiversity and having the most number of tree species in the jungle of the Amazon River. • Commitment to protect the surrounding ecosystems in a working and sustainable cooperation with our host communities; observing sustainable practices such as providing hot water shower using natural gas. • Typical Amazon cuisine, distinct flavor with global appeal The Lodge in detail: Stay at an eco-sensitive, limited electricity lodge built by the local host community in a complex of 14 rustic clusters of native style pavilions that house the Reception/Bar, rooms, dining, public areas, Shamanic Ritual House and the swimming pool within the inner garden. Admire the Lodge's high ceilinged thatched roof made entirely of palm fronds, a rustic work of art. Rest and relax in a choice of completely screened rooms with terraces overlooking the gardens & forest or bungalows with hammocks and rocking chairs, likewise, you can dine and unwind in the comfort of screen protected restaurant and lobby bar. Key Features Airport shuttle; Lobby Bar; Guided Jungle Excursions; Swimming Pool; Hot Water Showers Check-in - 1:00 PM; Check out - 12:00 PM Lodge Facilities - Lobby Bar - Restaurant - Swimming Pool -Hammock Hut - Library - Play Room -Shamanic Ritual House -Rustic Amazon Cookhouse Services - Airport shuttle - Porter - Bilingual Staff - Land and boat transfers - Safe - Travel desk Rooms Slumber and snooze in a pure and simple rainforest retreat, as you encounter nature at leisure. While the Amazon beckons for you to discover and explore, this unspoiled ambience also encourages much needed repose and relaxation. With thoughtful consideration, our Heliconia Amazon River Lodge was built for your comfort: spacious twin, double and family rooms constructed in typical Amazon style, well ventilated with high ceilings and panoramic windows for you to gaze out to the landscape outside. One cluster of rooms overlooks the garden and forest, with terraces where you can relax and enjoy while looking out to the grandeur of the flora and fauna - well worthy for a jungle getaway. Amenities • Electrical outlets to charge your laptop, tablet and other devices • Ceiling fans • Private bathrooms with hot water showers • Safe, flashlight, rubber boots and rain poncho for each guest • Ideal for families with family rooms for up to 4 people. Water bottled for each guest , the first day The Lodge consists of 14 clusters, 8 of which house the 26 rooms distributed as follows: • Yellow Pavilion 6 rooms with terrace • Red Pavilion with 4 bedrooms with terrace • Green Pavilion with 6 rooms with terrace • 4 Bungalows / terrace room • Brown Pavilion with 6 rooms with loft ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Heliconia Amazon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Amazon River Hotel Iquitos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliconia Amazon River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.