We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get a room at front” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ricardo Palma 252, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't get a room at front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed total of 4 nights, 2 nights before and 2 nights after a trip to the Amazon.

The first 2 nights we managed to get a room at the rear thanks to the porter and missed the road noise. The last 2 nights we were stuck at the front and the traffic noise was very loud.

The location is within walking distance to the main squares, food and shopping.

The bar is nice with great service. Breakfast is average.

If organising a ride through the hotel, check the price first, for some reason we paid S40 from the airport to the hotel and then only S20 from the hotel to the airport. It was the same car and same driver.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you get a room at back of Hotel. Traffic noise is loud and may keep you awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
27
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Considering where you are, this is by far the best option in town. Spotless rooms, great A/C and private baths with hot water. The restaurant is great, too. Great espresso and even better staff. They can meet you at the airport, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It was so nice after a hot, humid day of sightseeing in and around Iquitos to get back to the Victoria Regia and enjoy the air conditioning and fantastic showers! It was probably slightly overpriced for being in Iquitos, but as far as a nice hotel goes, it was a good deal by my US standards. There was plenty of light in the rooms which was wonderful. The staff was helpful and very professional.

Cons: WIFI definitely didn't work up in the room, but worked fine in the common area.
Pool closes at 6pm which made no sense to me.
Common computer is the slowest I've ever seen, so I didn't even bother trying.
I wish it had been just a little closer to the plaza, but the walking distance is certainly easily doable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is perfect for your stop over before and after your journey into the amazon. We stayed here on two days and the hotel was kind enough to store our bags while we went into jungle for four days. Breakfast is included and is your standard fair, no complaints. One of our rooms had a loud buzzing noise coming from the wall, the staff quickly changed our room and actually upgraded our room in the process.

The only negative on the hotel is the location. Your really not near anything, not even restaurants. Not a problem though, local Tuc Tuc taxi's are at the front door and very cheap. They will take you to main square, and restaurant strip (five minute ride).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed only one night at the Victoria Regina Hotel in Iquitos, Peru as part of my jungle tour with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT). The hotel is located in the center of this river city of 500,000 people, which means there’s plenty of horrendous street noise -- day and nights -- mostly caused by thousands of passing three-wheels motorcycle taxis.

My room on the 3rd floor of the hotel was clean, cozy and extremely noisy. Noise filters in not only from street noise, but internal hotel noise through the bathroom window -- ugh! Plenty of noise also flows through the entrance door as people walking by and chatting have no sense of consideration -- horrible!

The room had a double bed, a small table with a chair, and a stand for my luggage. The bathroom had a nice bathtub, commode and sink -- all quite clean with abundant soap, shampoo and towels.

The hotel also has a small swimming pool and offers free WiFi that is as slow as molasses -- five minutes just to wait for a short Hotmail message! That’s because you are a zillion miles from NOWHERE. The hotel is well air-conditioned, which is a blessing in this hot, humid city.

The hotel’s breakfast, included in the price I paid for the room, was served buffet style in the restaurant, located on the 1st floor. It was adequate and delicious.

Two blocks aways from the hotel is a large grocery store, which was quite convenient for me because the prices there were very reasonable compared to those on the river boat on which I rode for six days after staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Remember, you are in the middle of the Peruvian Amazon and you need to set your expectations accordingly. This hotel is neat, clean, but modest in it's amenities. It has an small inside pool that is well maintained. It also ha a small restaurant that is especially good for breakfast! You are about 5 blocks from the main square and, as a result, the hotel is quiet and street noise is at a minimum. I have found the staff to be helpful and friendly and willing to go the extra mile to assist their guests. It's not 5 stars but is all you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've lived in Lima for 2 years and travel to Iquitos often on business, stayed at this hotel multiple (4-5) times but also maranon and nuevo maranon as well as some other less well known. Basically there are no 4 or 5 star hotels in this city, its a million miles from anywhere and very difficult to get anything into the city (this month they have a diet soda shortage) so you cant expect an abundance of options or high quality in hotel finishes, linens etc. Victoria Regia is the best of the lot, but still only like 3, 3 1/2 stars. Internet is woefully slow throughout the city, including here, but at least they have it and its free, breakfast buffet is good and free, there is an in room A/C and hot water plus 70 channels of satelite tv with some english stations. Hotel is convenient to malecon, plaza de armas and many shops and markets. Staff are super helpful and friendly, don't waste your time looking all over for a hotel, I have. Just stay here but realize the limitations of a remote site.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites

Address: Ricardo Palma 252, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites is located only 4 blocks from the main square of Iquitos. The Hotel is ideal for tourist and business travelers. Room Features • Cable TV• Phone with direct national and international dialing • Air conditioning • Safe deposit box • Wireless internet access • Hair dryer (only in Junior Suites and Suites de Luxe) • Jacuzzi (only in Suite de Luxe) • Mini bar • 220/110 V. power supply Facilities & Services • Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 12:00 m • Room service (from 7:00 am to 23:00 pm)• Bar - Restaurant "Los Vitrales" • Elevator • Laundry service • Luggage storage • Swimming pool • Conference room "Rio Amazonas". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Regia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.