We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really dirty room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Track Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Track Hostel to your Saves list
Green Track Hostel
Ricardo Palma 516, Iquitos, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free airport pick up!
Ranked #26 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really dirty room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hostel has an ok location (not the best in town, but OK enough) and the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, a boiled egg and bread. Coffee was not included in the breakfast, we had to pay one sol extra (for instant coffee) which seemed weird. The common area seemed nice, with a TV, and the backyard is nice enough.

Unfortunately I have to to give this hostel a Poor review because of the room. It was really dirty. There was spiderweb all over. The bathroom trashcan was full already when we arrived, there was old chewing gum on the wall, a really old and dirty soap on the sink. It really seemed like it had not been cleaned at all.

For me and my friend cleanliness of the room is very important and kind of a deal breaker, especially because these would be really basic things to adjust. The price also seemed a bit steep, compared to other places (30 dollars for a dirty hostel room just isn't OK).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Anna,
Thank you for the review, I would have appreciated if on the moment you checked in I would change room for you and would have founded out that the room was not cleaned as it should have been. The spider we can rebuild they webs in a day and in every house in Iquitos or hostel you will find them, So your room wasnt cleaned after the previous guest left, and please accept my apologies.

The instantaneous coffee ( sorry but that is the way in Peru) is included, What happen is FOR THE REST OF THE DAY we have coffee and tea for SELF SERVICE for S/1,00 that stays on the common area as well free drinking water.
I totally understand you think that the private room was not worth for the conditions you got it , We have cheaper room and beds , and with all of them included breakfast, wifi, kitchen , common area and desk information.
You arrived Sunday late afternoon and left early morning. and I guarantee that our location is great, 8 min to the main square, quiet, close to locals and cheap restaurants and markets great value for backpackers that want to mix with local people.
Im sorry for the inconvenience and wish you good travels

Green Track Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
9
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Guys -
Especially for the backpacker on a budget passing through Iquitos, Green Track Hostel is the place to stay.

Katoo & Gart went out of their way to make me feel at home and ensure I had knowledge of the goings-on in town as well as quick to make introductions to people who could help me carve out a more personalized visit in Iquitos, rather than just tagging along with big tour groups.

Extra amazing bonus: the daily breakfast. It's fresh fruit and bread from the market every morning and a full enough plate that it definitely tides you over until lunch.

I recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: The 3BR on the 2nd floor has a powerful over-head fan. Perfect way to beat the Iquitos heat at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review, It is good to find out that some people are happy and they can see the relativity of coast / benefit. Running a hostel in a city like Iquitos is not easy task, competition is very unfair, the water supply is limited, weather, you might get ready of the rats ,roaches but your neighbor does not, the moto taxi driver that try to convince you to go else where, staff that you have to double check on daily bases,,,, So to have recognize our services some time feels really good that gives us energy to improve
and go better.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Good location, clean, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast (included in The price) and the best wifi you can find in this town (in a town where Internet is very bad). The best of all is the owner of the hostel, Katoo. He is fluently in all the languages a tourist can ask for. He gladly gives you all the most useful inside information about Iquitos, next to him any tourist information/lonely planet is useless. AND it's cheap! If i ever og back to Iquitos, this is where I'll sleep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The owner charged us 3 times the amount that we were supposed to pay for one night. Then he got aggressive and threatened us. Horrible rooms and facilities. The only decent part was the wifi. I will never return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
It is very frustrating for us to see reviews like this published on Tripadvisor; Tripadvisor's system of handling blackmail reports has been inefficient and completely ineffective for us.

We allowed this guest and his friend to check in for their 3-night reservation without paying the first night, because generally our guests honor their reservations and pay their bills at the end. These guests disappeared for the rest of the day and only reappeared later in the evening, partying and making noise into the night. At 5am, the owner of the hostel got up to buy fresh fruit and prepare breakfast as per daily routine. He found them still drunk in the lobby of the hostel with all of their bags packed, ready to go without paying their bill. The other two guests in their four bed dorm can confirm that these two moved everything out of their dorm room and were planning to leave.

The owner asked them where they were going, and they said they were taking the slow boat to Brazil. The owner responded that the slow boat only leaves in the afternoon. So they changed their story and said they were going on a jungle tour. Since they had already stayed a night and were making a same-day cancellation on their reservation, the owner asked them to pay for a total of 2 nights. One of them became angry and confrontational, but the other said he understood and paid 100 soles for the both of them, equivalent to two dorm beds for two nights. The owner served them breakfast at 6am, took the time to give them all the information they would need for boats to Brazil, and then they left.

We do our best to bring the best service to our guests, but we do not tolerate people who try to take advantage of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Greentrack. The location was not the best, but it was manageable. They give you a key for the front door, and I always felt safe. There seemed to always be anywhere from 3-10 guests at a time, which is a small enough number that I didn't worry about theft. The hangout/kitchen area in the back is really comfortable and nice. The kitchen is pretty basic but it is a good size when compared to the size of the hostel. The free breakfast was basic but certainly delicious and appreciated. The service was also great and they are there to help you with anything you need. The rooms/bathrooms could use some work, which is why I gave it 4 stars. I didn't have a ladder to get up to my top bunk, and everything was shabby and falling apart. This place attracts a pretty chilled out crowd, everyone was either into spirituality and/or environmentalism. I met a lot of really awesome people in my 4 nights here and heartily recommend this place.

Room Tip: First I was in the 4 person room near the kitchen, and I have no complaints about that. This room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to submit a review and letting us know where we can improve. Our location was actually a deliberate decision because we wanted to be away from the crowds and noise of the Plaza de Armas but still be within walking distance. There are also many local places to eat around the hostel that are much cheaper than in the Plaza.

We're happy to hear that you felt safe because this is one of the most important things to us. We are currently in the process of renovating and improving our rooms, and we thank you for your honesty.

Thanks for choosing our hostel and we wish you safe and happy onward travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I truly can't say enough about Green Track hostel. We had a pretty gnarly jungle excursion through an agency in iquitos, and this hostel an the staff was out saving grace, and redeeming quality for our trip. The owner is knowledgable and passionate about the Amazon, the staff friendly and welcoming. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and AC is an option (hard pressed to find other hostels offering this in Iquitos). The food is healthy and fresh in an Eco-friendly, home-like environment. Green Track hostel is considered the only option amongst us Peace Corps volunteers, but would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi Mandy, Thank you for your review; we're so happy we were able to help you out. Unfortunately your bad experience with that other tour agency is far too common, and it reflects poorly on Iquitos tourism as a whole. We're glad we were able to bring some positivity to your trip. And we love our Peace Corp guests! You are welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My Stay at Greentrack hostel andduring myecifically at the Tapiche Ohara Reserva was nothing other than mind blowing!

It was magnificent Katoo and Deborah made it all worth it , Long Hikes in the jungle everyday , long snoozes in brazilian hammocks in the Maloca.

The most important aspect about this Reserve is that these people have done everything from their hearts and because they genuinely care about protecting the amazon rainforest from poachers and loggers who would otherwise destroy it , and not just trying to have as many people visit the reserve as possible to make a quick buck.

I had some profound experiences during my week in the jungle among them was seeing a Boa constrictor devour a Squirrel monkey a meter away from us!

The rest I cannot mention you will have to see for yourself the Smells tastes and incredible Beauty that this Reserve has to offer , The wild life is like nowhere else as it is still Wild, although one gets the sense that some animals in the canopy are petrified of humans due to the past, the love and compassion that has been put into this Venture is like few places I have ever been to in my life.

To Katoo and Deborah and the rest of the team thank you for the warm welcome and departure and the incredible hospitality, despite.the remoteness of the reserve and sometimes the shortage of amenities in such a remote location the Greentrack Team would always make a plan to make sure you are comfortable and at home.

I will definitely visit here again above all other establishments in and around the peruvian amazon in Iquitos because it deserves the attention , this is a must do in my book s!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Green Track Hostel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi Matthew, Thank you so much for your review and for your support of the hostel and the reserve. We are honored to be able to share this special place with our visitors, and we welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Track Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Track Hostel

Address: Ricardo Palma 516, Iquitos, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Track Hostel NOW MOVED TO THREE DOORS AWAY in the heart of Iquitos, Peru, located in a nice residential area. It is seven blocks from the Plaza de Armas, the main square of Iquitos, and also walking distance to Belen market, a popular tourist attraction. We have private rooms as well as air conditioned dormitories, and a private courtyard and ROOF TERRACE. We invite our guests to use our extra large kitchen for food preparation during their stay. Wifi internet and a BRAZILIAN breakfast is included to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Green Track Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Track Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.