We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Frio y Al Fuego

Al Frio y Al Fuego
Av La Marina N 134-B, Iquitos, Peru
+51.65.965607474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Iquitos
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Splurge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I made the trip to Al Frio... for a bit of a fancy dinner with the Mrs. We enjoyed the surroundings, the boat trip over there is cool, and being able to look out across the river while dining makes for a cool and romantic evening. Drinks and service was excellent, but for me the food (I had a steak/tenderloin) was just average. Still, would def go back - maybe earlier in the day to make use of the pool.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    104
    25
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is one of the most romantic, wonderful, restaurants I think I have ever eaten in in all of Peru. I thought the food was wonderful. I am a vegatarian so the choices for me were limited but what I did eat was fabulous. On top of the great food the atmosphere here is just lovely. The music is beautiful,and the views of Iquitos from the water were beautiful. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive, taking care of our every need. If you are in Iquitos I highly reccomend that you eat here you won't be sorry.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“take a bathing suit during the day, and romance at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

the first time we went at night - and it was a romantic boat ride - just the two of us to the floating restaurant. The food was good - the salads are better - can't remember the first one we ordered, but think it was named after the restaurant - best thing we ordered during our two times there! there rest of the food was okay - and DON'T order wine - stick to pisco if you wish to drink. We went the following day as there is a swimming pool - TAKE A TOWEL. it was perfect swimming around and then having a leisurely lunch by the pool. But the weather can change and pour down - we were in a monsoon twice that afternoon.
Had no problems with the boats - they were always available. it closes at 4pm at lunch, so everyone (including staff) takes the last boat during the afternoon. But usually, you they are waiting to take you back whenever your choose to go out or leave.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Iquitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

What an experience! You enter the door at what looks to be a regular shopfront, and are confronted by an amazing staircase down made of rounds of cut trees. As you go down the walkway, your surroundings look less and less like a man made structure, and more and more like the wild Amazon. At the end of the walkway, you board a wooden boat with bench seats on both sides. The boat carries you out to the floating restaurant in the middle of the Amazon River.
The restaurant is two stories tall, with a bar downstairs, and for some reason a swimming pool. Dining is upstairs, and the setting is just lovely. All of the furniture is rough hewn and very rustic. Place settings and centerpieces were lovely.
The service was quite good also. Our server was very attentive.
The only downside was the food. It was pretty mediocre, and very expensive. Still, I would recommend it for the experience more than for the food. You are pretty much stuck at the restaurant until all of the diners are finished, so be sure you set aside 3 or 4 hours for this. Reservations are a must!
There is a great little convenience shop right across the street where we sat and had beers while we waited for the restaurant to open.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Good food and expensive by Iquitos standards. But the experience of riding in a boat out to a floating restaurant is quite unique and very beautiful. Definitely not an everyday restaurant for most of us, but an experience that anyone going to Iquitos should have at least once. Muy romanico!

  • Visited July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Frio y Al Fuego also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Al Frio y Al Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Frio y Al Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.