We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if your coming to Iquitos bring your golf clubs !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amazon Golf Course

Amazon Golf Course
#185 Malecon Maldonado, Iquitos, Peru
+51-65-223730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 attractions in Iquitos
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Amazon Golf Course is a difficult nine hole adventure with a par 5. It's not so much birdies and eagles; more like boas in the rough, caiman sunning in the sand traps, piranhas lurking in the water holes. It is the only course in the world where golfers are issued a machete to carry in their golf bag. Please, avoid the anaconda.The Amazon Golf Course is Pay and Play Golf at $25 for 18 holes, includes 12 balls, clubs, and machete, additional balls $1 per ball.
Iquitos, Peru
1 review
“if your coming to Iquitos bring your golf clubs !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

what a great surprise,theres a great 9 hole golf course here in Iquitos,Peru !!
they have 9 holes,2 x par 3 and 1x par 5,the rest par 4. the 4th is an island par 3.
lots of water hazards (real hazards as theres piranihas in some of them ! ) plus sand traps ( lovelly white sand ),supposed to be some cayman and snakes around,but didnt see any , thanks !!
the whole course although relatively new, is beautiful. when the trees etc. grow a bit more it will be fantastic.
cost only $20 for 2 rounds. plus theres a good practise range,if like me you havent played for a while.
you can also hire golf clubs, have a beer or two,soft drinks,and if you need a bit of help thats available too from the really friendly staff.
cant recommend it enough, we had a great day out

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iquitosperu
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day on the Amazon Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I'm not really a golfer, more of a hacker but yesterday I went to knock a few balls around with my son George. What a great time we had. The Amazon Golf Course is really a paradise in the middle of the jungle. They tell me that they have planted over 3000 trees and plants during the last 3 years. The staff are really helpful, bringing out cold bottled water when we were half way round. the bar on the first floor has a wonderful view over the entire course. Wether you play golf or not a trip out to the Amazon Golf Course is well worth it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Augusta in the Amazon - The Only Golf Course in the Amazon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Not much sleep last night as the anticipation of playing the Augusta in the Amazon is more than I can bear. Looking down the number one fairway of the most beautiful golf course in the Amazon, I realize how long it has been since I touched a golf club. My caddie is beside me and suggesting an 8 iron for the beginning par 3.

It's a little hard to see exactly where the flag is because it is only three feet tall and no GPS here. In fact there are no carts, no cart paths and my caddie is carrying a machete. Not so much for protection, although many have run across a boa constrictor or an anaconda on the course, more to mow down the rough if you happen to land there. Which is a distinct possibility since the whole course is rough. After all this is the best course in the Amazon primarily because it is the "only course in the Amazon".

We got out early and caught up with the greens crew mowing number 3 green with a weed eater. Well we got a half mowed green, what more do you want, just stay on the short side. They have two weed eaters and a couple of machetees to keep the course groomed immaculately; well almost immaculately.

Unique rules for this course, if you lose your ball in the fairway you get a free drop. It's an automatic two putt if you put it close, no need to run the score up and it is difficult to pull the flag from the water bottle that has been buried to hold it in place.

For the complete post and pictures go to http://mggreen.wordpress.com/2011/02/19/augusta-in-the-amazon/

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Golf Course also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Amazon Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazon Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amazon Golf Course to your Saves list