We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but basic.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L. to your Saves list
San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L.
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   San Pedro - Rio Nanay, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice, but basic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Getting there feels like an adventure which is great. The place is located in a small village. During the dry season there is a 15 minute walk from the river to the lodge. All the staff were very kind and friendly. There are rescued animals on the property that are a delight to watch. Gart was very kind. The tours are a good value for sure. We found the food to be very good with vegetarian options at every meal.
Do not go expecting hot showers, soap, washcloths, or air conditioning. This is a rustic place.
Overall, we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the San Pedro Lodge! You are right, it is a rustic place, without comforts such as airconditioning. We take great pride in our policy to provide comfortable showers and beds, and great food, as well as in our flexibility in trying to give you an unforgettable experience in the Amazon rain forest. I am happy to hear that we succeeded in that!

Wishing you happy travels, wherever they may lead you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
41
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don't go to Iquitos without Gart! He was a excellent guide and took great care of our group for 5 days. This is the real deal! He is well established in the community and has great contacts in the area. He was able to customize our Amazon adventure according to what we were looking to do. I definitely recommend traveling to stay with Gart's shaman friend Senor Lobos in his home village Puerto Miguel. The accommodations are modest but its worth it...the real jungle experience, with a true medicine man. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Google Translation
Hallo Victor!

Leuk om iets van je te horen! Dank je voor je vriendelijke woorden; het is altijd fijn om te weten dat onze gasten een mooie ervaring rijker en met goede herinneringen naar huis gaan. Misschien zien we elkaar nog eens in San Pedro!

Groeten!

Gart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I never write reviews on tripadvisor but this experience was too good to not write about.

A friend and I stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in early Oct and the entire experience from the booking to the actual stay were seamless (especially when compared to the rest of our trip in Peru).

Gart is very professional and replies to emails promptly and answers all questions and is willing to accommodate all requests. We were going to arrive in Iquitos but were only staying for 2 nights but wanted to participate in 2 tours. He accommodated our requests and we had 2 great day trips.

Our first tour guide, Jino, was great. His English was impeccable and he knew the city and its surroundings very well and could answer all of our questions. The 2nd day were had a jungle tour. Our guide this time was also very nice and helpful but his English was not as good so we did not seem to get as much out of the tour as the previous day, but it was still nice.

Lastly, the best part of the stay was the lodge. It is spartan and expect to go without most amenities, but you won't really miss them. There is no electricity in the rooms but there is in the main area where meals are served. There is no hot running water, but you really won't miss this since it is insanely hot in Iquitos. It is very clean and quiet place to stay. All the meals are included in the stay and the best we had during our week in Peru. The cook is amazing and the famous pancakes are really worth it. However, the best part of our stay had to be great conversations with Gart and the staff over long, relaxing meals. Gart has a wealth of knowledge and will share his experiences with you.

Definitely worth the stay. And for the price...you cannot beat it. It is cheaper and closer than most other lodges but still far away enough to get some r&r.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi there, ladies!

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write these kind comments. I appreciate it, as do our friends at the lodge. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay at the lodge, as well as their trips and travels with us. Maybe we can do it again sometime!

Best wishes, and happy travels!

Gart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

San pedro lodge, is a very unique and special place. From the moment we got to iquitos we were greeted by Gart. Which was very helpful through out our stay. To get to the lodge we had to travel in a little boat, it was quite an adventure. The view and the feeling that your in the middle of the jungle was so surreal and breathtaking. The staf at the lodge was very nice. They went to buy ice and beer for us at the "pueblo". We ate at the lodge every meal. Which was prepared by the lovely cook. (it was nice having home cooked meal after all the days traveling through Peru) I fell in love with Francisco the 6 months old little monkey (tammarin), hanging around. It was super relaxing and lovely experience. I would love to go again and stay a bit longer and explore in the more primary forest.

Greetings

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Stacey!

It is nice to hear you had as much fun staying with as we did having you as our guests! Thank you for your visit and for your generous comments here. We all appreciate it a lot. Great picture with our man Olmes! Please come back some time for an extended visit.

Kind regards,

Gart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As said many times before - Gart and team are great. My wife and I wanted to get a bit further off the beaten path and Gart was able to determine an itinerary that matched our interests (staying outside the lodge for 2 nights). Don't hesitate to shoot them an email and ask questions.

Without trying to repeat everything that has been said before - a few things i noticed that are an advantage here:
- seemed to be very flexible in terms of arrival and departure times (they will meet you at the airport and make sure you are all set for departure).
- Very inexpensive and no deposit required to reserve. (don't be scared off by this!)

The lodge itself is actually very small but very nice in that you can reserve a private bungalow. I visited during low water season - so there was a 20 min hike from the boat drop off to the lodge. Being low season however - great fishing in the lake! (caught a few peacock bass from the dock!)

The lodge location isn't as remote as many others but far enough away from Iquitos to completely escape the madness! However, if you are looking for excursions into the more remote areas (or even a place to stay in town) - that can be coordinated as well!

Room Tip: check to see if the private bungalows are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear friends!

Thank you so much for your kind words. Your comments are greatly appreciated!

It is gratifying to know that our work and our flexibility pay off, and that you enjoyed your stay and your travels with us. Every visit is different, and every visit is a challenge for us at the San Pedro Lodge, so it is good to know that our efforts are not in vain.

Best wishes from all of us, maybe we will meet again some day!

Gart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at San Pedro Lodge for three nights in July. I had a wonderful time and met lots of nice people. The food is amazing. The forest is gorgeous. You can swim in the river. The animals are fun to watch. Francisco, the little tamarin, was hilarious -- he peed on me from high up on a beam while I was writing. I cherish the pee stain in my journal as a memento.

Iquitos is a really far out city also, and Gart was great at helping to connect me with interesting things going on there, and other nice places to stay.

I would like to return and try out one of the longer camping trips next time, and get a little deeper into the primary rainforest.

Overall I highly recommend San Pedro Lodge

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I remember the monkey pee incident :-) How many people can say they have been peed on by a monkey?! I am sure Francisco meant it in the nicest possible way!

In any case, thanks for staying with us in San Pedro, and please do come and visit us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at San Pedro lodge for two nights and it was one of the most adventurous but also relaxing vacations that we've ever had. This was all possible because of Gart and the friendly staff who treated us like friends rather than just visitors.
On the day of our arrival, we went on a great hike in the jungle where we saw a huge Lupuna tree at the end. On the second and the third day, Gart personally gave us a tour around the city of Iquitos and also different places along the Nanay river. The tours were much more than just sight seeing and we learned so much about the beauty of the wildlife of the amazon, as well as the problems that exist in preserving the envioronment.
At San Pedro lodge, all three meals were included and they were all delicious! We loved the simple and relaxing atmosphere of the lodge.
This is definitely the place to go if you want to see the beauty of the amazon and go on an exciting adventure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGart, Owner at San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi Tomi and Nyika!

Thank you for your kind words. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay and your trips with us. We certainly enjoyed your company as well! It was lovely to meet you both and spend time with you in the Iquitos region. I hope we can do it again some day.

I wish you happy travels, wherever they may lead you!

Kind regards,

Gart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L.

Address: San Pedro - Rio Nanay, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L. 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pedro Lodge is a modest but comfortable jungle lodge that offers the best of both worlds. It is located on the Nanay River, at less than two hours from down town Iquitos and less than an hour from the airport, but you would never know it, for its peaceful rainforest environment.Come and enjoy the beauty of the Peruvian Amazon rain forest, which has the highest biodiversity on earth. We will take you on a variety of day trips and tours to destinations throughout the Iquitos region.Or you can simply stay at the lodge and enjoy the tranquility of our forests and lakes. Go for a swim, a canoe ride, a jungle hike deep into the forest, or a village visit; we promise you, you will not be bored.The lodge has four bungalows, each with first-class beds and bathrooms with showers. Two bungalows have two rooms each that share a bathroom;the other two bungalows have one room each, with a private bathroom.All beds are fitted with mosquito-nets.Our rates are among the lowest in the region. A single room starts at just 60 soles (21 dollars) per night, and that includes breakfast and a free airport pickup. Drinking water and fresh fruit drinks are also free of charge, as well as the accommodations you can use at the lodge.Please let us know your wishes and special requests and we will work hard to make your dream trip into the Amazon rainforest a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pedro Lodge E.I.R.L., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.