We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest Ceilings , live in history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Morey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa Morey to your Saves list
La Casa Morey
Calle Loreto 200 | at the Plaza Ramon Castilla, Iquitos 01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Highest Ceilings , live in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We spentbone night in casa Morey before leVing to rhe jungle, the location is walking distance to most of the attractions and make you live the old times with comfort, hot shower and very clean beds. The size of the rooms ara that of a two bedroom appartment the ceiling height is 20 feet or more. Its good to see a this recovered for tourism

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    40
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
58
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iquitos, Peru
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Casa Morey is a historical site and museum mansion from the days of the rubber boom in Iquitos. Everthing here is large...from the time you walk in the reception lobby, the halls, the ceilings, the rooms!
Even with everything on a grand scale, the Casa Morey is still comfortable and relaxing. The staff are friendly and anxious to help you. Service is outstanding.
The Pool is refreshing to help on the hot tropical days of the Amazon Rainforest Jungle.
Prices are reasonable.
Location on the Plaza Castilla overlooking the Itaya/Amazon Rivers. A great meeting place before heading out on the many excursions available in Iquitos and the Amazon Jungle.
Only 3 blocks from Plaza de Armas and the Boulevard, so you can walk to all the central Iquitos locations.
Casa Morey is a great choice and one of the finest hotels in Iquitos.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Plaza Castilla will give you breath-taking colorfull sunrises over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night after returning from the Jungle. Nice bit of luxury. The building has bags of character, rooms are large and airy, and the pool was great to cool down in the heat.
Breakfast was good too, I would recommend.

Staff were friendly and helpful when booking and when we were there too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After a crazy (but safe!) ride from the airport, which was provided by Casa Morey, we found ourselves in an incredibly large and clean room overlooking the riverfront in a converted mansion! The staff on check in were super friendly, and extremely welcoming. Casa Morey is located right within walking distance of the Plaza de Armas and Jiron Prospero, a blast to walk down in the evening! Did we mention the room was HUGE?! I think we were able to unpack and lay out every item we carried in our packs, which was super convenient after a week in the jungle. We stayed here on the bookends of a trip into the Amazon, and on our return, I noticed that I had lost the only fleece sweatshirt that I had brought on our trip, with plenty of cold weather to come. After a couple of attempts, the awesome guys at the front desk found it, left in the room the week before, and my lucky hoody, replete with pre-existing burn-holes, was back in my hands! Thanks guys, you rock, I swear it was folded and pressed when they brought it up to me, and a tad bit luckier to boot!

We`d definitely recommed the Casa Morey, not only for the fabulous (and free!) garment storage, but for the location, quality of rooms, views of the riverfront, and definitely the friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for something on the riverfront, huge rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel has a lot of old rubber boom charm, from the tiled exterior to the bell pull for entry into the building to the palatial ceilings. The beds were not terribly comfortable, and we noticed in our rooms (we had 2 triples) that some of the beds had been roughly built from lumber and did not fit the mattresses - which were thick foam rather than real mattresses.

That said, the rooms were otherwise very comfortable, with powerful air conditioning and lots of hot water. There was also a lovely breakfast included, and a communal fridge in which we could store our own drinks.

The staff also handled a little mix up with our rooms very well, and arranged our transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As part of my recent trip to Peru, fifth to be exact, I had the luxury of staying at the mansion turned hotel, Casa Morey. The words that come to mind immediately are elegantly stated opulence. My room was so large it actually could have used some more furniture! The dark green velvet chairs were so inviting as you entered the room; immediately off the swimming pool. The bath was modern and included hot water (a popular question for people traveling to Peru). The room was air conditioned which was a welcome respite after the hot and humid weather. The hotel also offers WiFi which made it super easy to stay in touch with friends and family. The staff was so cordial and welcoming! Breakfast was included each morning but to my surprise the first morning I was greeted by a kitchen staff member asking me how I would like my eggs! There was an array of fruits, vegetables, olives, and juices along with ham, cheese and of course coffee and tea. All of this only cost $70 American dollar each night. The front desk is manned twenty four hours a day so even if you stay out to the wee hours there is someone to let you in. Checkout time is 12:00 p.m. but if your trip to the airport is not until much later the staff is very accomodating in allowing you additional time in your room. This would definitely be my choice for additional future stays in Iquitos.

Room Tip: Remember that this used to be a mansion so there are not many rooms available. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The sweeping views and crazy high ceilings made this a trip in time to another era. I loved staying here. The staff was very friendly and respectful and the breakfast was good. Good location too from the Plaza De Armas and the surrounding areas. Beds were comfortable. The TV was old and small but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Get the riverview with balcony most definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Morey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Morey

Address: Calle Loreto 200 | at the Plaza Ramon Castilla, Iquitos 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Morey is a historical monument in the heart of the Peruvian Amazon. Situated along the riverfront of Iquitos, Peru this boutique hotel offers an ambiance of bygone times in spacious accommodation and personalized serviced. Built by the wealthy rubber baron, Luis Morey in 1913, it has been restored to its Victorian Splendour and Amazonian motifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Morey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Morey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.