We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting, dont go, sheets and WC dirty, smoke smell all over” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Cabo Pantoja No 417 | Altura del Parque Zonal, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Lima, Peru
1 review
“disgusting, dont go, sheets and WC dirty, smoke smell all over”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was appauling, as soon as we entered the room we could feel the smoke smell and we had to change rooms because the room was dirty but then on the new one it was the same. So we decided to leave but we had to pay anyways, and we filed a complained and noticed the complain book is full!! The pictures they advertise are not at all as the hotel looks like in real life. It was the worst experience ever, plus it is very very far away from the center and not in a quieter zone at all.

Room Tip: Dont choose one, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jandre25, Gerente at La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Google Translation
Ante las declaraciones expuestas en este medio expresamos lo lo siguiente. Nos parece muy irresponsable de su parte afirmar que todas nuestras habitaciones olian a humo, ya que por un error nuestro se le asignó habitaciones para fumadores. Por otro lado cuando descidieron retirarse de nuestro hotel ya habian transcurrido 20 minutos y nuestro personal desistio en hacer cobro alguno por el servicio, ya que nuestro hotel cobra noches dormidas. Sin embargo usted insistio en pagar por la habitacion dejando el dinero sobre el mueble de recepcion y solicitando el libro de reclamaciones.(esta informacion lo pueden verificar en las cintas de video y audio de vigilancia)

Consideramos doblemente irresponsable de su parte afirmar que nuestro libro de reclamanciones estaba lleno de reclamos, ya que solo existen tres reclamaciones que son por asuntos de reservas y no por mal servicio o limpieza de nuestras habitaciones.

Sobre nuestra ubicacion le recuerdo que su reserva indicaba nuestra direcion exacta, usted incluso tenia en su hoja de reserva un pequeño mapa donde indicaba nuestra ubicacion, por lo cual consideramos su opinion irrelevante, ofensiva y perficiosa toda vez que el taxista que le recogio del aeropuerto venia diciendole que se cambie de hotel y todo por un tema de comisiones.

Finalmente lamentamos lo ocurrido y reiteramos que nuestro hotel esta comprometido en birndar un buen servicio de calidad, adecuandonos a normas y leyes vigentes en nuestro pais y ciudad.

atentamente

Gerencia General
Hotel & Suites
La Posada de Lobo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Taxi was waiting for us at Iquitos airport as arranged.
Hotel was very clean, rooms good sized. We were all very hungry and they kept the dining room open for us so that we could eat dinner there after we arrived. Very helpful getting in touch with our Amazon tour company, as there had been some communications problems and they needed to know where to pick us up the next morning.
Our only complaint was that there was no hot water in the shower.
Breakfast buffet was limited, but fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms ( double, twin for 54 US $ each) for 3 nights altogether.
All rooms were spacious with private bathroom, air condition , safety deposit box. Air condition in one room and ceiling lights were not working properly, but we could change the room without any problems the next day. Beds were all comfortable,room clean. If possible request room facing the pool, otherwise the street noise is disturbing. Wifi signal in all rooms very weak. Shower was usually hot, only later in the evening hot water ran out. Pool very nice and was lovely to use after a humid day.
Breakfast provided as a buffet, but very basic with white bread, jam, butter, fresh juice, some fruit, tea and coffee. We needed to have breakfast at 5.30 twice for early departure which wasn't a problem , except it was minimized to only jam, butter and toast with tea and coffee.
Free luggage storage was possible for a 10 day trip and nothing went missing. Also free airport shuttle service in both directions . The pick up at the airport was also on time and the E mail response was prompt.
Location was on the outskirts of time, but motorcar was only 2 soles transport to the town center. Service was always prompt and willing.
All in all we would give 8/10 and would come and stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool, otherwise you hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and spacious quarters, an excellent jacuzzi in my bathroom with water of any temperature you wanted. Clean drinkable water coming out of the taps. Service staff friendly and helpful, especially the barman-waiter, who will give you tastes of different Pisco to show you which ones are the nicest, he also makes a terrific pisco sour and a version with passion fruit (maracuja) as well. But in order to make one he had to send someone out to buy an egg! I was just there for 3 nights, May 25-27, I live in Manaus, Amazonas, so I am used to heat and humidity. But this place was too hot, little circulation, The small airconditioner in the bed room did not cool the room down until about midnight. The pool was warm and greenish yellow the first 2 days, was clean the last day but did not venture in it, it is too small and shallow to swim in. Restaurant was closed without any warning on Sunday night. The term buffet breakfast is just not so, it was a spartan hotel breakfast EVEN by Brazilian standards. NO protein of any kind, unless you call margarine protein. Coffee was good, but cold, had to add hot water to it. The papaya was good every day, the apples edible, the watermelon was rotten, and some of the bananas were ok. No cheese, yogurt,or cereal of any kind, just strawvberry jam, small balls of margarine floating in water and plain white sandwich bread which you could toast, the first day they had whole wheat, but again just the typical supermarket stuff. No hard boiled eggs or ham or cheese. So with the sweating heat and not a lot to stimulate your appetite you could actually lose some weight here, no enticing food to wet your appetite. Nearest restaurant is about 2 km, and they were closed on Monday. The hotel restaurant makes good fish and ceviche and a nice heart of palm salad with grated palm hearts The fried bannanas are greasey and the chorizo too salty and fatty. BEWARE of the wireless system that works good from 0400-0700 and then is iffy until night.I was here to work not play, and the internet system cost me $170, because I could not get through to cancel my room reservation in 2 hours of trying, ended up canceling after 12 pm and was fined! Price was fine, they did not come to change the towels or make the beds until evening, like 8 pm every day, a bit strange. But staff are nice, signs in your room and in lounge says you can not bring in your own liquids to drink, but no one blinked an eye when I was walking around with my own bottle of tequila and juices. I had the executive suite, which is nice in that you can be shut off from the other person with you and work, has a good kitchen area (nothing in it but a sink, counter top and shelves, and a good small stocked refrigerator. Then to make sure you lose weight go walk around the central market for an hour before lunch, and you will not eat lunch till supper time.

Room Tip: The place looks like the catacombs of calcutta, staircases and halls going every which way, 4 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you're looking for clean hotel, excellent food and drinks, outstanding staff, comfortable beds, and a refreshing pool with a tropical environment, than this hotel will fulfill the bill. I stayed 4 nights in complete comfort with impeccable service. During the heat of April a pool with a nice atmosphere was a must. Before deciding to stay at this hotel, I looked at a few other hotels with pools...this one met my expectations and more. Gracias for providing a great service and facility in Iquitos! I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Feel free to look at a few before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent 6 nights at this very nice hotel and enjoyed every minute there. The three different front desk managers were absolutely outstanding in helping me with all sorts of questions and requests. The all speak excellent English and this was a great help to me since I do not speak much Spanish.

The rooms were large, clean and the entire hotel is maintained in excellent condition. There was a nice inground swimming pool right outside of my room, breakfast is served daily and included in the room rate ( eggs, toast, coffee, juice, fruit). Drinks are available for the poolside.

I will definitely stay at this hotel when I return back to Iquitos this fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, rep. de Panama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best asset is the people that works there and the swimming pool. They were at the airport to pick me up and took me back with no charge, that was great. It should be known that the breakfast is not " buffet " , could be considered basic continental. The hotel, the rooms and restaurant is neat, they try their best to solve any problem that comes up. I have to thank mr ".Dx..t.."..and miss " N....a " for their turistic assistance. I spent and learned a lot with them.

Room Tip: Just make sure the toilet works good before you stay in the room. The internet is not fast, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Cabo Pantoja No 417 | Altura del Parque Zonal, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites is located only 3 minutes from the main square and just 3 block from the stadium and coliseum of Iquitos, We have 31 well-appointed rooms for the comfort you deserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.