We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas meets Iquitos - a nice change after being in Peru 2 months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yellow Rose of Texas

The Yellow Rose of Texas
Putumayo 180, Iquitos, Peru
(51-65) 23-1353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 62 Restaurants in Iquitos
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Highland Village, Texas
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Texas meets Iquitos - a nice change after being in Peru 2 months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This restuarant is a few steps away from the main square - Plaza de Armas. It is a Texas Long Horn based theme, but it is also a great place to see many amazon artifacts as Gerald, the owner, has collected over the years. They serve a Texas style menu with a jungle twist and then strait local Peruvian jungle food if you prefer. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I ended up eating there 5 or 6 times and enjoyed everything I ate. It seems to be the local hangout for anyone world wide as the food is good, service is great, and the people very friendly. Definately a must stop while in Iquitos!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    35
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I will be back again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice menu, excelent service, great food and a lot of options fpr vegetarians like me, if you plan to do ayahuasca, they will have an special diet for you

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos, Peru
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wide menu selection, food and service not consistent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Texas has a large menu with a lot of selection including most of the local dishes and many of the American style foods. So if you are missing American food, this is one of the few places in Iquitos to find it.
Prices are high for locals and normal for the tourist.
Lunch menu selections run out in a few minutes, so need to get there when they open their lunch menu to have choices.
Several times when arriving for lunch 15 min to a half hour after opening their lunch menu I have been told that most of the selections are no longer available. Lunch specials set menu is available most of the afternoon, but need to ask for it as they prefer you to order off the higher priced menu.
The food quality and preparation is not consistent. Many times it is excellent and other times poor, depending on the cook working that shift.
Service in the past was excellent, but waitress staff change almost daily and many times the service is terrible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ate here twice in our stay, mostly because I wanted to make sure my teenager who got sick had something "safe" to eat. Food was decent. Went in a large group the first time and some of our group raved about the food, others thought it was ok. The frozen lemonade is FABULOUS and not to be missed. I work in the art world, so the inside room with a/c did give me a headache, a little TOO much for my taste, but I will admit being an art snob.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Margaritaville kitsch a fun change but skip the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I enjoyed Margaritaville as a fun escape/something different but there is a lack of consistency/quality in the food preparation in the restaurant. I've had good times and bad times. Portions are big if that is what you are looking for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yellow Rose of Texas also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to The Yellow Rose of Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yellow Rose of Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.