We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Florentina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hospedaje Florentina to your Saves list
Hospedaje Florentina
JR. Huallaga #212, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
High River, Canada
1 review
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Clean, friendly and great location, close to the action. The only issue I had was access to Internet was limited to the front and reception area. The price could not be beat and included a breakfast. I will choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the front for internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Hostel Florentina for a week with my teenage daughter. The room was basic (we did get a room with air), two beds, tv with cable and private bathroom with cool water shower, but super clean and affordable. Beds are passable, only sheets (which is fine if you don't have a/c) and I brought my own pillow, but theirs seemed ok. Since we had a/c, our room had windows that closed and there was almost no noise from the very busy street our front.
The staff was very friendly and attentive. I speak very little Spanish, but was able to communicate with "Spanglish sign language" with the staff. We ate breakfast each morning in the cafe at the hotel. Sometimes with their food, and sometimes with mostly ours. The ladies were always attentive and the food was decent. We also used the laundry service and it was pretty quick (24 hours) and affordable, delivered right to our room.
The hotel is located one block from the main square, so very convenient to everything either by walking or grabbing a motorcar.
Wifi was available in the lobby, a rarity it seems. Slow by American standards, but I was grateful to have internet access right in the hotel (the nearby internet cafe's access can be slower than the wifi at the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witten, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed 5 days at hospedaje Florentina and found maybe the most quiet hotel in Iquitos. The stuff is very friendly and helpful, the location is very clean, the beds are good. The rooms are not very bright, but on the other hand it keeps the heat away!.
The Hotel is only one block away from the central Plaza de Armas, two blocks from the malecon, so you can find restaurants, bars, shops and everything you need in short distance. Don´t miss the Belen-market, one of the best ones we´ve ever seen - even if you compare it with asian markets!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was staying there for 3 days with my husband. The proce was ok, the rooms clean, we had a room with a bathroom. My husband was irritated by the loud sound of TV from the opposite room (the windows don't have glass, only shutters so we went to the guy in the reception two times and he asked the other guest to turn down the volume. But sleeping by the tv is quite normal in Peru. For me clean sheets and bathroom were the most important. You can also buy there quite nice breakfast for 7 soles.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a lovely hotel which although being in the heart of the manic city of Iquitos, is quiet and tranquil. The staff are really friendly and even arranged for a tour operator to come to the hotel to discuss jungle tour options with us (which we booked and had a great time, leaving some of bags at the hotel until our return). Safe and very clean and the rooms all have fans. Very good value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We initially stayed in casa Florentina for a few nights and then returned to it after a short trip to the jungle.

It's one block away from the main square, surrounded by all types of facilities (laundry, internet, banks, small shops, bars and restaurants, etc.).

The hotel itself is very proper (often frequented by Peruvian businessmen, doctors, etc), clean, with free wifi and it has calm colours and is cool (though no A/C).

The only downpoint is the breakfast service, which is not included in the price and is rather minimalistic and expensive for what you get. Instead of the coffee that is part of one of the menus, I wanted just a cup of hot water (I had my own medicinal tea) and had to pay extra for this!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I stayed at Hospedaje Florentina for 7 nights while in Iquitos for a medical mission, as part of a group of 22 people. It is located 1 block from the Plaza de Armas, with lots of restaurants, Internet cafes, and a few bars within a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel itself has a small restaurant area where I ate breakfast most days, which was good, fast and cheap. They also offer laundry service, with a day or so turnaround on your clothes. The staff was always pleasant and helpful, and the rooms were cleaned daily.

The rooms are pretty sparse, with single beds in most of them. Only 1 room in the hotel is air conditioned, and the bathrooms are pretty small. There is no hot water in the shower, but that was not a problem for me as I was always sweaty and the cold showers felt refreshing. The beds are somewhat comfortable but not spectacular, the pillows are like rocks (wish I would have brought my own), and each room has a TV with cable that gets 50+ channels. For the price it is a great value, and overall is a nice little hotel in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Florentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Florentina

Address: JR. Huallaga #212, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hospedaje Florentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Florentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.