We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, slow down, savour the moment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iquitos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge
Putumayo 163 | dpto 203, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Relax, slow down, savour the moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My son and I spent 4 days 3 nights with the crew at Otorongo and had a ball!!!! Thanks to our guides, Aussie and Segundo, we came away refreshed and invigorated. The owner, Anthony, believes in making sure you got what you need with calls before we arrived and a follow up call from the US where he was taking a break, 15 minutes after arriving back in town to ensure it went well and ask where he can improve. My short answer to him was keep doing what you are doing!!

We spent a morning fishing on a small local lake, had lunch with a local family in their home, (Spanish skills help here but the guides can translate), boating around the river looking for and finding heaps of animals and birds, sun set on the river was magical with the pink dolphins popping up all around us (we were offered the chance to swim but they are scary looking beasts!) and walking through the local forest looking for the creepy crawlies!

Is it deep pristine jungle? No. Is it fascinating, awesome and deep enough for you to be lost within 50 meters of the camp? Yes, don't wander off on your own or you will be lost!! The local village was welcoming and showed us hospitality but this is Peru and these guys know how to party at the weekends so you will get some noise.

Great place, great people and well worth spending the extra time on a boat if you want a more real and rustic experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otorongoexpeditions, Owner at Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for that great review, we are very proud of our staff for delivering the personalized services that we guarantee. You are right about the pink dolphins, they are strange looking creatures and are wild so there is no predicting what can happen.
The sad truth is that all the rivers are highly populated within a 300km distance of Iquitos and there are very few places to go where you will not hear the thumping bass of a distant discotec.
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
60
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I chose Otorongo for a trip in July of 2011 after much research in search of a smaller and more rustic jungle lodge. We couldn't have made a better choice. The lodge is beautifully built on a campus covered in exotic plants, insects, and even critters! In fact, during our stay the owner came across a baby anaconda and brought it over for us to hold! Incredible experience. When you arrive you will meet your local guide who will orient you to the place, talk about options for excursions, and basically make sure you're very comfortable. I worked for years as a park ranger in the U.S., and consider my standards pretty high for a good guide, but our personal guide, Nacer, blew my mind. He was as passionate as he was knowledgable about "la selva" (the jungle), and the entire time we spent with him it felt as if he was showing us the things he loved most about his home. He tirelessly brought us on a number of excursions that included: canoeing, fishing for pirañas (then eatin' em), forging a trail through the jungle, visiting the local village next to the lodge, searching for (and finding) sloths, pink dolphins, the exotic hoatzin bird, monkeys, etc., etc., etc.!

The quant lodge is small enough that you can easily get to know the other travelers and even have excursions together if you plan it with your guide. The key to this lodge was flexibility. They were consistently attentive about what we were interested in doing and then made it happen. On top of it all, the staff at the office in Iquitos went out of their way to help me in a bind that involved a cancelled flight. Overall, I'd highly recommend Otorongo for travelers looking for an authentic ecotourism experience with exceptional service and guides.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otorongoexpeditions, Owner at Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you josh for the incredible review, you have truly honored and humbled the whole team here at Otorongo. You have done a great job highlighting what it is that travelers love about our service, passionate knowledgable guides and guaranteed personalized service .
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

It really is. This place is out in the middle of Amazon and feels so far away from it all. It's very rustic (which I like!) but we weren't expecting much as far as accommodations are concerned. We spent 4 nights here and had a great time every single day with all the excursions and activities. Among my favorites was visiting one of the local villages and having a beer with some of the locals, fishing for pirahna (which they fry up for you later and it's delicious!!) and spotting 3 toed sloths. Every meal was amazing, the fresh amazonian juices (camu camu to name one) were my favorite. I'd go back just to have that juice again!
Anthony and his crew really made us feel welcome, he's done a great job creating a sanctuary in the middle of the jungle. Highly recommended if you are looking for a true Amazonian experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otorongoexpeditions, Owner at Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Wow! Thank you for that review,it means a lot coming from a senior reviewer such as yourself. I knew we wouldn't let you down, after all customer satisfaction is what we are all about!
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My partner and I spent 6 nights at Otorongo Expeditions Amazon Lodge in August 2012 and it was truely amazing. The staff were friendly, organised, and (even though we were the only people there for the majority of our stay) quietly attentive throughout. Food was simple but very tastey and plentiful. Accomodation was rustic with cold showers (fine as it was 40 degrees outside!) but comfortable and clean, with lighting provided through lamps and solar powered lights. The rainforest comes right up to the door and the amount of wildlife within seconds from the rooms was stunning. Each day we managed 2 or three activities with knowledgable and entertaining guides who found perfect places for spotting wildlife. Sadly our camera was stolen later in our trip (Cuzco) otherwise we would have hundreds of photos to upload!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went to Otorongo Expeditions Lodge in early June of this year and I was very impressed with the lodge, the area and the people. Unfortunately it was too short of a trip and I could have stayed much longer. I researched several of the lodges around Iquitos and selected Otorongo because of its flexibility and remote location and I was not disappointed. While other lodges force you to be at a certain time to be picked up to go to the lodge, or they put you in a group for an excursion, we got picked up at the hotel at our convenience and given our own exceptional guide, Osmar, and also a local guide, Segundo. We wanted as much biodiversity as we can and I was told by friends who visited the area that to really see animals you need to be as far from Iquitos as possible.

The lodge is very basic but comfortable, no hot water and but is something that you don't miss there. There is very little privacy since the walls do not go all the way to the ceiling but everything is protected by mosquito nets. One of the biggest concerns of my companion was the insects, which turn out to be a non issue there. The food was really good and usually made from things available in the area, like fish from the river or chicken, and if you ask they will try to get unique foods from the area, I had water buffalo cheese for the first time there.

The excursions are organized in 3 sessions: morning, afternoon, and night, and you get to decide what you want to see, or you can just let them plan it for you. I will have preferred longer excursions and maybe combined morning and afternoon even if that means skipping lunch at the lodge. You get your own guide that will explain all the animals and plants that you see and a local guide that will also help spot the wildlife. All the people were very friendly, from Elena to the chef.

This is not a zoo so there is no guarantee about what animals you will see, but we got to see plenty of them, the most impressive was a variety of ant eater climbing a tree which was totally unexpected. Sloths and monkeys are common in the area, and you will get to see lots of them. You also will get to do the typical things like the other lodges in the area, like fishing for piranhas which they will prepare for you to eat later. They will also take you to meet people living in one of the small villages around and see how they really live.

In general the experience was exceptional and I would love to go back but this time spend a few more days since there is so much to see and do, there is no way you can get bored there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otorongoexpeditions, Owner at Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I think you have us pegged completely, your informative review will be of much help to future visitors, thank you many times for the excellent review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We could not have asked for more from our experience at Otorongo Lodge. The friendly and knowledgeable staff made booking the trip easy. They answered all of my questions and helped with plane tickets. The airport pickup was well organized and we were greeted with a friendly smile. Our guide Osmar was fantastic! He planned our stay around the activities that we wanted to do. He was very knowledgeable and made us feel at home. We are vegetarians and the cook did a great job with our meals. I would highly recommend staying at the Otorongo Lodge. It will be a once in a lifetime trip!! Thanks to Anthony, Osmar, and the rest of your wonderful staff for an amazing experience on the Amazon River!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Amazing wildlife, friendly tour guides, clean and comfortable facilities. The owner and his family went the extra mile to help me out and I wouldn't stay at any other Amazon Lodge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge

Address: Putumayo 163 | dpto 203, Iquitos, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty lodging in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOT A LUXURY LODGE, NO FANCY WINE NO HOT TOWELS, THIS IS THE AMAZON RAINFOREST AND RIVER NOT NYC, ABOUT THE LODGE AND ROOMS Our Lodge is located 100 TRUE kilometers downstream Amazon River from Iquitos. We border the largest track of terra firme rainforest left in the world. Pick and choose what excursions you would like to do with your private jungle guide.The Lodge consists of two buildings, The large dining room has a 220v recharging station, library and a bar. The buffet serving table where you will find two hot thermos, one with REAL coffee (not instant)and the other with hot water for tea (in a box by the side). The long house is where the rooms are located and a relaxing hammock room in the back. Matrimonial, Double or Triple Room each with private bathroom with flush toilet and running water. Rooms are protected by mosquito netting and an additional bed net, Thick mattresses, 12volt LED lighting, commode, shelf and table for convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otorongo Expeditions Hotel Iquitos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Otorongo Expeditions Jungle Lodge to your Saves list