We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable overnight stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casona Iquitos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Casona Iquitos to your Saves list
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Fitzcarrald 147 | Plaza de Armas, Iquitos, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A comfortable overnight stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Clean, comfortable and ample. Provided all out needs, breakfast was lovely. A rather stange set up with windows facing onto a communal hall, but we didn't find this bothersome.

I would be happy to recommend this hotel to others. There is an excellent restaurant, offering a set value menu approximately 2/3 doors up as you exit the hotel on your right. There is also a supermarket as you exit left and take the first right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    98
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
63
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at La Casona twice in September, coming and going from the jungle and was very satisfied. It's located just down the street from Plaza de Armas and is convenient to all the restaurants and many shops. I'd stay there again anytime I was fortunate enough to be stopping in Iquitos for a day or two on my way to La Selva.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been in Iquitos, Peru many times. This is my first time staying in Hotel La Casona. Close to everything and for the price you can't bet it. Very friendly stuff always ready to help you in anyway. Will stay there again in my next visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My sister and I arrived in Iquitos having booked our stay in a hostel that turned out to be not at all what we expected. There was a conference in iquitos that weekend and everything was completely booked up, but we happened to get a room at Hotel La Casona as someone checked out early. We could not have been luckier!!! An incredibly affordable price, and the owner was so nice, friendly, and helpful to us. Great location, just half a block off the Plaza de Armas, and really great rooms especially given the price. Definitely recommend La Casona to anyone spending any amount of time in Iquitos!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Since 2010 I have spent several lengthy stays at La Casona while conducting linguistic fieldwork on indigenous languages in and near Iquitos. This hotel, although recently expanded, is just the right size, is immaculately clean (e.g., with several workers constantly devoted to cleaning and polishing floors and reorganizing moved furniture) and has a warm, inviting and informed staff, which I have had the pleasure of getting to know. The owner, Fabiola Moreno, is an Iquitos native and can answer most almost any question you might have. More generally, the hotel is nicely removed from the street, making almost all noise a non-issue (which is quite an accomplishment in Iquitos), and there are several quiet communal spaces where you might sit with a book, tablet, computer or the like. A kitchen area allows you to keep some of your own food to cut down on costs, if that is a concern. Internet is habitually slow, but that is not the hotel's fault but endemic to Iquitos (although this will hopefully be remedied soon with the placement of several new microwave antennas along nearby rivers).

Room Tip: A handful of rooms on the lowest floor do not let in good light, but rooms on this floor (many of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

nice hotel and great location. The staff are helfull and the place is clean. The center has a nice place for relaxing and you have a small cafetria to make your own food. More quiet than an hostel and seems secure too. Would stay there again. Air conditioning is recommended because Iquiots is hot and humid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best budget option in Iquitos, virtually on the Plaza de Armas and convenient for everything. Well looked after, although the rooms can be a bit noisy with people coming in and out. Chances are you'll be heading out into the jungle or to a lodge, so the Casona is a good option in town if you're arriving at or leaving from the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casona Iquitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Iquitos

Address: Calle Fitzcarrald 147 | Plaza de Armas, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casona Iquitos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Casona Iquitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casona Iquitos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.