We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food & Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baco

Baco
Ruinas 465, Cusco, Peru
51-84-242-808
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 456 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant while wondering the streets of Cusco. It was a truly fantastic find.

Really didn't know what to expect but we were blown away with this chic fusion Peruvian food. A must for anyone staying in Cusco.

I had an open faced alpaca burger that was super tasty. Didn't know alpaca could taste so good. For dessert it was a caramel chocolate date cake to die for.

If we had found it sooner would have sampled much more of the menu. The owner stopped by our table during the dinner and made us feel especially welcome.

Really don't miss out on this one!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    95
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Peru! Get the Alpaca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant was great. Excellent South American wines, a creative menu and amazing service! We started with a small amuse-bouche from the chef and a glass of Malbec and a glass of Cab.

I had the Aplaca with a wasabi butter sauce and mashed sweet potato with bacon! Absolutely incredible! My partner had the short ribs and was very pleased as well. We ended with the chocolate cake and almost came back on our second night :)

I Will return for that Alpaca!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant. Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great meal at the right price. We stumbled upon this restaurant and didn't know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by the menu, the wine, and the vibe. The restaurant made me feel like I could eat there for a while.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We enjoyed cebiche, salad, and shared an entree of shrimp, scallops squid, and octopus. The octopus was delicious, unlike other we experienced in Peru at high end restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Go for the ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As the sister restaurant to Cicciliona we knew it would be good. Loved the ribs and salads and they have a good wine selection. Likely to be one of Cusco's rising stars, worth trying.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Baco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.