We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with surprisingly fine food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baco

Baco
Ruinas 465, Cusco, Peru
51-84-242-808
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 431 Restaurants in Cusco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with surprisingly fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Apparently a sister restaurant to (always packed, never possible to just walk in) Cicciolina restaurant; the menu is Westernized Peruvian, some might call it Fusion.

The food's taste and presentation was very good, actually much better than we had at many white-tableclothe-Gaston-orginal-whatnot place anywhere else in the country. The design and service is laid-back and low-pretence, but definitely a place to get a finer meal, by local standards.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    90
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casually elegant wine bar & restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed the lamb dish and rustic ambience at this restaurant during my last night in Cusco. Great spot for pairs and groups alike. Service was decent and the food tasty. This is a solid choice for a relaxing dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food and Pisco Sours but not so good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

During our stay in Cusco, we visited this restaurant because our Tour Director said wonders about this place so on our second night in Cusco, we decided to try it.

When we were looking at the menu which was posted at the entrance of the restaurant, we decided to order a couple of dishes but we had our concerns with some ingredients, my significant other was having stomach issues so we did not want to order something that it will make his issues worse.

We asked the host (a young guy) if it was possible to replace one of the items of the particular dish (sorry, I forgot which dish was) with something else, the young man did not understand what we were asking and he proceed to convince us to order the cuy. I like cuy but we were not in the mood of eating cuy that night.

I explained again, what we want to have and still the guy did not understand what I was saying. BTW, I was talking to him in Spanish (Spanish is my first language, therefore the case of getting lost in translation was not happening), so the young man continue telling us that we should order the dish with the cuy.

We asked him again if it was possible to replace one of the items on the dish that we want to order and for the third time he continue offering the cuy. I was surprised by the fact that this young man did not even try to ask somebody else in the restaurant if our request was possible.

At that point we got frustrated and we decided to go somewhere else BUT a group of our fellow travelers were there and when they saw us they invited us to their table. They talked wonders about their dinner dishes; especially about their pisco sours so even though we were frustrated by the young waiter’s bad service, we decided to stay.

I ordered the beef dish (not the cuy) and my SO ordered a pasta dish, we also ordered our pisco sours. The pisco sours were delicious and the presentation of our dishes was excellent. The flavor was good and the portions were decent.

The décor of this place is nice and modern. The ambiance is kind of romantic. The place is small but really nice. Their prices were acceptable, not so cheap but not so expensive.

So if somebody from this restaurant reads this review, please do yourself a favor and educate better your staff. If your waiter doesn’t know the answer to a customer’s question just teach them to ask the chef or the person who is in charge of the kitchen if the customer’s request could be fulfill or not.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic--creative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cozy, warm and friendly wait staff....the food was terrific...great combinations of flavors! And veggie too...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently visited this great restaurant. Fine wine list - a pleasant change after so little choice at other places and great food. Liked it so much went back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Baco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.