We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Posada del Corregidor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pirwa Posada del Corregidor to your Saves list
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Portal De Panes 151, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Backpacker trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our hotel had done a double booking so we were transferred to this place. Oh boy. The room had one small lamp in the ceiling so even I as a young person could barely see in the room. There were no light bulbs for the table lamp so we changed room. There is no real hot water, only an electric heater (that I've come to dislike during my time in Latin America). So, lukewarm water is what you get. The rooms were veeery tiny. The old TV-stand was still attached to the wall, right in the middle of the only walkway so we kept hurting ourselves trying to go to the bathroom.

Breakfast is in the restaurant in the same aisle so in the morning you get beautiful views of the plaza (just don't expect anybody to be around before 7.30am). Location is great, of course. After one night we moved next door to Inkawasi hostel. Pirwa is more expensive. Hey, you get eggs for breakfast. I personally prefer hot water and talking to knowledgeable staff. I'd choose Inkawasi anyday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived 8am in the morning and glad to have the room before normal check-in time. They offered breakfast to us for that morning itself. We stayed here for 5 nights – three nights before Macchu Picchu and another two nights before Tambopata.

We booked for quad room ensuite through booking.com. Our room is on the 2nd floor. No lifts. We had to walk up two floors. Can be quite breathless walking with backpacks up two floors. We had to walk up slowly. The interior is well lighted with natural sunlight and potted plants décor. Our room has four single bed and ensuite bathroom with hot water. They do provide towel and soap each. They do have a triple bed room and dorm at ground level and rooms on the first floor.

What is best of this hostel is their breakfast. Breakfast is served at 1st Floor in Plus Grill Restaurant. Vouchers is given for breakfast. I loved having breakfast here. We can have breakfast with superb view of the square below. They served scrambled eggs, breads with butter and jam, coffee or tea and fruit juice. Good service.

The hostel is located in center of Cusco, facing Plaza de Armas and the fountain. On the left is the huge and magnificent cathedral. Everything is within short walking distance – money changers, café, restaurants and tour agency. The HOHO buses is just on the right of the hotel. There were lots of activities around the square. In the evening we have a relaxing time sitting in the square observing the happenings around it. If you walk down the small alley (Procuradores), must try this lovely italian Chef Maggi Pizzaria. They served the best oven baked pizzas. Try their combo. They have two outlets along this street. We went to the one where we can see the chef making pizzas non-stop and putting them into the huge oven. The smell of freshly baked pizza makes us more hungry while waiting for ours.

We chosen this hostel because of it's convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights before hiking the Inca Trail. It's no frills but very welcoming. Bed was comfortable and had plenty of blankets since there is no heat (not uncommon). I will say the shower was not hot. IT was lukewarm, but not hot. The location is FANTASTIC! Right on the square and the price was great. Had a restaurant attached and the desk attendants were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great stay and highly recommended. Price is very adequate for the accommodations. We were able to drop our backpacks for safekeeping during the day in Cuzco while waiting for transportation, even though our booking was several days later; Ms Zenaida (at the front desk) was extremely helpful to make that happen. When we came back to Cuzco for the scheduled stay, she again was very helpful with changing our room to another one. There was no problem Ms Zenaida could not solve: she was very attentive and very clearly made sure that there was no problems with our stay; kudos to Ms Zenaida, Pirwa has a great employee in her (hint to Pirwa management: she has great customer skills and insights and could give Pirwa much benefit in a higher position). Note that we are not talking problems with room/hotel but logistics while in Cuzco. The only observation we would have is that the hotel does not have (or at least we could not locate) a visible sign. We knew it was in the Plaza de Armas and in which side, so it was just a matter of a few minutes; but we speak Spanish and that made things much easier. Overall, high points to Pirwa Corregidor (they have another location in Cuzco that is more suited for backpackers) and recommend it; their central location make it easy and convenient while in Cuzco.

Room Tip: Top floor is best as you get more natural light. Check rooms before taking one, in some cases they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The actual hotel could be quite good, colonial with an open courtyard, but it isn't maintained, it's shabby and dirty, with wires hanging out of receptacles. Depending on the room the restaurant noise can be too loud to sleep. The wifi is iffy, but if you move around you can get reception.
I would consider staying there again because of the restaurant, it has an excellent view of the main plaza and the food is good. The bartender, Achilles made the best Pisco sour I had in Peru for ten soles.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the rear, not the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Price pretty good, staff friendly and decent English, decent but slow breakfast. One set of 2 plugs in rooms, no heat, no TV. Rooms near restaurant have gross fish smell. Showers are tricky, need to barely turn know and use lowest water pressure in order to get hot water; the more you turn up the pressure, the colder it gets. Staff will hail a taxi for you, make sure the driver is safe and the price is reasonable. Travel agent in Lobby sold us a bus ticket for 55 soles that we found out we could have gotten for closer to 40 if we'd gone to the bus station, but at least we didn't need to go all the way to the station for it nor risk the bus selling out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent location, right in Plaza de Armas, with an incredible view on the Cathedral from the breakfast restaurant, friendly staff..but all the peruvians are the same :), a very good price .. but if you can accept a few negatives : we had to use duct tape to close our window as the locker was missing, the shower was an improvisation that could easily get you an electric shock if touched, almost no light in the room except a very blind light bulb, very poor sound proof so you could hear everything...and is a disco nearby :))... I would definitely want to go back to Peru and Cusco but I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirwa Posada del Corregidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Posada del Corregidor

Address: Portal De Panes 151, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Posada del Corregidor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirwa hostels Cusco gives him the welcome to the new marvel of the world 'Cusco-Machupichu-Peru' offering different types of accommodation to the style hostel and backpackers; for 5 years we assume the challenge of offering , entertainment, quality of service and human heat; giving like that a value added to our places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pirwa Posada del Corregidor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Posada del Corregidor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.