We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Pirwa Hostels Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 215 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good experience for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights. They were very friendly and helpful. We also booked our trip to Macchu Picchu through their travel agency. We were very please with the trip and the price. We shared a room with 2 bunk beds which was right across from the bathrooms. The beds were really comfortable. Although it was a room on the first floor near the gathering area it was fairly quiet at night, but in places like these it's always good to bring ear plugs. The bathrooms were cleaned daily and the staff was always very responsive to our questions and needs. Our daughter actually got sick on our last day there and the staff called a local clinic that does "house visits". It cost us about $50 but it was worth it as we were traveling the next day and were able to get her some antibiotics. Although we had checked out of our room the staff let her sleep in an extra bunk upstairs. We were very grateful for this. They also had lots of social things going on although we didn't do many of them as we were pretty tired at night. If you are open to meeting new people and sharing a bathroom this is a very friendly, clean, and organized hostel. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
14
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this Pirwa Hostel with 4 friends when we went for our amazing trekking experience at Machu Pichu and in my view it was good choice.

Service was very good, the personnel of the hotel was always willing to help and with a friendly, positive and can do attitude. Breakfast was good, but as every hostel with limited options, in fact I would change the cereals, which as a regular cereal eater I didn't enjoy much (Although they weren't old, one intuitively thought they were due to their texture).

Location: Although it was a few blocks of distance from the main center of Cuzco (Which in fact at night, with a few drinks, aren't very welcome due to their high inclination), the positive aspect about this is the 0 noise and excellent sleeping quality.

Rooms were good, nothing to criticize about them. The only not-positive comment I feel necessary to share with other fellow tourists is the one of having a very short open-air walk from bedroom to showers. A fact which wasn't comfortable for having first or last hour showers due to their low temperatures at Cuzco.

As said buy another traveler, Wi-fi only works in the room next to reception and computers are pretty old. However, they are useful for their expected functions as a back-packer toursit, which don't require new or newer PC's, being online chatting and writing emails. Lastly, although this doesn't mean that a PC actualization for a bit newer ones wouldn't be appreciated by guests ;)

Hope it helps in your decision.

Room Tip: Closest room to showers, so that one can avoid walking longer open-air distances in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice bedrooms, nice beds and pillows, great shower and bathrooms. Wi-fi works only in the room next to the reception, not in the rest of hostel, and the computers are not very good. Good breakfast, but with limited amount of food.
It's a good and beautiful hostel, well located and with good structure, but with pontual problems wich will not prejudice your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz, Peru
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had a GREAT time in this hostel!The girls from the reception are SOOOOOO friendly and helpfull. Nayla even gave me a city tour which was great! Sedid y Ana are great as well...i highly recomend this hostel, it is close to the main square, hot showers, good wifi and clean and dont forget about the pooltable, tabletennis and HUGE collection of videos. And the fact that they make up your bed EVERY day is such a big bonus!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was a nice place to stay! Great facilities like a pool table, tv room, bar, different chill-out spots and nice rooms! We ended up staying here for a week because we liked it so much:) staff was really helpful! Breakfast is included, but the bread was a bit dry.. location is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agii Apostoli, Chania, Crete
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I din´t expect too much from a hostel, but I was pleasantly suprised. They organised events, were helpfull in every question, had a tourist office, pool, movie are, ping-pong, 24hr hot showers and above all friendly and smiley staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timóteo, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Don't create expectations of a dream hostel. The building is old. Actually it's a classic ancient building of Cuzco.

Despite of that, the staff are just AWESOME. As the manager, as it's staffs are very friendly and gentle.

The cleanness is ok. The bathrooms, are mixed, but it doesn't mean that are bad. They are very clean all the time.

The beds are old to, but also clean. The breakfast is simple, but ok. The only thing i didn't like was the carpet in the rooms... it was not good to me.

The scotch bar is very cool and has fair prices.

All the people i met there were polite and cool.

An amazing place to make new friends.

I consider it my home in Cuzco!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pirwa Hostels Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco
Address: San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 215 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostels Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a chain hostels offering types of different accommodations for backpackers of entire world giving them all the basic needs such us , internet access, room of video , bar safe deposit boxes, pleasing environment and the most important the location in the center of the cusco city... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pirwa Hostels Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Hostels Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.