We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pirwa Colonial Hostel to your Saves list
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice bedrooms, nice beds and pillows, great shower and bathrooms. Wi-fi works only in the room next to the reception, not in the rest of hostel, and the computers are not very good. Good breakfast, but with limited amount of food.
It's a good and beautiful hostel, well located and with good structure, but with pontual problems wich will not prejudice your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
6
24
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had a GREAT time in this hostel!The girls from the reception are SOOOOOO friendly and helpfull. Nayla even gave me a city tour which was great! Sedid y Ana are great as well...i highly recomend this hostel, it is close to the main square, hot showers, good wifi and clean and dont forget about the pooltable, tabletennis and HUGE collection of videos. And the fact that they make up your bed EVERY day is such a big bonus!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was a nice place to stay! Great facilities like a pool table, tv room, bar, different chill-out spots and nice rooms! We ended up staying here for a week because we liked it so much:) staff was really helpful! Breakfast is included, but the bread was a bit dry.. location is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agii Apostoli, Chania, Crete
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I din´t expect too much from a hostel, but I was pleasantly suprised. They organised events, were helpfull in every question, had a tourist office, pool, movie are, ping-pong, 24hr hot showers and above all friendly and smiley staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timóteo, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Don't create expectations of a dream hostel. The building is old. Actually it's a classic ancient building of Cuzco.

Despite of that, the staff are just AWESOME. As the manager, as it's staffs are very friendly and gentle.

The cleanness is ok. The bathrooms, are mixed, but it doesn't mean that are bad. They are very clean all the time.

The beds are old to, but also clean. The breakfast is simple, but ok. The only thing i didn't like was the carpet in the rooms... it was not good to me.

The scotch bar is very cool and has fair prices.

All the people i met there were polite and cool.

An amazing place to make new friends.

I consider it my home in Cuzco!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hostal was pretty cool. They have several locations, I stayed in the Colonial hostal which is near the main square but pleasantly removed by about 3 blocks. It is VERY cold at night, but it's cold just about everywhere in Cusco during the winter, so that was to be expected. If you are prepared with warm clothes though it's fine. I was traveling solo, so it was nice that this place had other solo travelers and a bar. There is a bar upstars that serves cheap food and decent priced drinks. The bartender and this girl that gives Salsa lessons were really cool and I had a ton of fun with them. I also met several really cool other travelers so that was nice too. The breakfast was good in the morning, more than just the standard "bread" that most hostal's serve as "breakfast." There is also a resident cat who lives at the hostal, and he/she adds a nice homey feel to the place! Very friendly. The staff were helpful. It can be loud at night with the bar, but the bar closes around 12 so it doesn't go all night. Oh, and the hot water actually works! All in all I would say it was a very good value for the money and I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes in the winter, it gets really cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Surface deep this place is fine. If you can sleep heavily through loud noises, lack of curtains and so on. The shower in the double room wet the whole bathroom as the curtain wasn't long enough, this in turn meant the door was warped and didn't close. Nice for privacy. The staff couldn't tear their eyes away from the TV long enough to be interested in you.

Finally, and it's a biggy, the third floor isn't finished, so there's not a roof, there's a gap between the second and third floor which you could easily fall through. And.... they're building a hotel next door and they kept going past 9pm.

Ear plugs, eye mask, good with heights, don't need a roof - you'll be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Hostel Backpackers Familiar, San Blas
0.4 mi away
Pirwa Suecia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
Pirwa Garcilaso Hostel
#99 of 281 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel
Milhouse Hostel
#32 of 281 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#30 of 281 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Colonial Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Address: Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirwa Hostels is a budget hostel chain offering economical lodging in private rooms and shared dormitories, in locations throughout Peru and Bolivia. Pirwa Colonial Hostel is located in Plaza San Francisco, two blocks from the main square of Cusco, Peru. It boasts two interior patios, a TV and game lounge, bar, guest kitchen, and fast food stand. Services include a free continental breakfast, internet + wi-fi, luggage storage, hot water 24/7. There are occasional activities and parties. Reception is on call 24/7 and there are security cameras within and without. There's also security lockers in the shared dorms for your backpacks, and extra, smaller lockers outside of the rooms for any belongings you want to take special care with. There's also an information desk staffed by Pirwa Travel tour & transport specialists. Pirwa Colonial is a one-stop shop for backpackers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pirwa Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Colonial Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.