We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Cuzco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pirwa Hostels Backpackers to your Saves list
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Timóteo, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My home in Cuzco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Don't create expectations of a dream hostel. The building is old. Actually it's a classic ancient building of Cuzco.

Despite of that, the staff are just AWESOME. As the manager, as it's staffs are very friendly and gentle.

The cleanness is ok. The bathrooms, are mixed, but it doesn't mean that are bad. They are very clean all the time.

The beds are old to, but also clean. The breakfast is simple, but ok. The only thing i didn't like was the carpet in the rooms... it was not good to me.

The scotch bar is very cool and has fair prices.

All the people i met there were polite and cool.

An amazing place to make new friends.

I consider it my home in Cuzco!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
4
19
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hostal was pretty cool. They have several locations, I stayed in the Colonial hostal which is near the main square but pleasantly removed by about 3 blocks. It is VERY cold at night, but it's cold just about everywhere in Cusco during the winter, so that was to be expected. If you are prepared with warm clothes though it's fine. I was traveling solo, so it was nice that this place had other solo travelers and a bar. There is a bar upstars that serves cheap food and decent priced drinks. The bartender and this girl that gives Salsa lessons were really cool and I had a ton of fun with them. I also met several really cool other travelers so that was nice too. The breakfast was good in the morning, more than just the standard "bread" that most hostal's serve as "breakfast." There is also a resident cat who lives at the hostal, and he/she adds a nice homey feel to the place! Very friendly. The staff were helpful. It can be loud at night with the bar, but the bar closes around 12 so it doesn't go all night. Oh, and the hot water actually works! All in all I would say it was a very good value for the money and I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes in the winter, it gets really cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Surface deep this place is fine. If you can sleep heavily through loud noises, lack of curtains and so on. The shower in the double room wet the whole bathroom as the curtain wasn't long enough, this in turn meant the door was warped and didn't close. Nice for privacy. The staff couldn't tear their eyes away from the TV long enough to be interested in you.

Finally, and it's a biggy, the third floor isn't finished, so there's not a roof, there's a gap between the second and third floor which you could easily fall through. And.... they're building a hotel next door and they kept going past 9pm.

Ear plugs, eye mask, good with heights, don't need a roof - you'll be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

They have reasonable prices. However, if you want a double room, they do not have any rooms with a private bath. I am ok with shared bathrooms, but in the case of this hostel you have to walk outside to get to the bathroom. In some cases this is fine, but during July in Cusco, it is too cold to do this! We left and went to another hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Get one near the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pirwa is a great place to meet various people. However, we did not find the staff helpful in arranging things. The tour they helped us book to Machu Picchu was fine, but we could have done a better job on our own. They were of no help in finding things to do in the city. It was very loud and quite cold in the winter time as there is no heat in the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hostel is great. If it weren't for the stiff competition in Cusco it would be full every day. Not to noisy, clean and great beds. A beautiful old mansion on a perfect location, 3 minutes from the main square. Fast WiFi (compared to the 1kbps at other places in Cusco, like Wild Rover).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The guy at the reception desk was funny, he didnt tell us that the main lock in the room is not working and we have to lock with the locker..so we had to open the room like McGyver. There were 15degress inside of the room, but blankets were big enough. Breakfast ok, very clean bathrooms. there is small 'room' in the middle of square with tv and pc, and with cat, which is very friendly. after the checkout you can leave the baggage in baggage space and go to explore the city

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirwa Hostels Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Address: San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostels Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a chain hostels offering types of different accommodations for backpackers of entire world giving them all the basic needs such us , internet access, room of video , bar safe deposit boxes, pleasing environment and the most important the location in the center of the cusco city... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pirwa Hostels Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Hostels Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.