We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine backpacker's place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pirwa Hostels Backpackers to your Saves list
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“fine backpacker's place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The guy at the reception desk was funny, he didnt tell us that the main lock in the room is not working and we have to lock with the locker..so we had to open the room like McGyver. There were 15degress inside of the room, but blankets were big enough. Breakfast ok, very clean bathrooms. there is small 'room' in the middle of square with tv and pc, and with cat, which is very friendly. after the checkout you can leave the baggage in baggage space and go to explore the city

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
4
19
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Do not notice the bad English, because it is an adapted translation of the Portuguese in the google translator.

The hostel has a very nice, friendly, the staff working there is pretty cool. Apart water from the showers that was not always hot because of the heaters, moreover, all excellent. Take a Cusqueña for me. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The staff at the hostel are super friendly, they go the extra mile. the dorms and bathrooms are clean. Always hot showers you just got to let it run a bit to warm up.
Was told it gets very noisy at night but have had really quite nights i cant complain. they have an in house tour office who are able to book tours around Cuzco and buses to your next destinations which was great and handy.
Would diffidently recommend to stay here !
Meet alot of interesting people who have given me great advise.

Room Tip: Dorm 12 for eight people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place was awesome. First of the price you can't beat! It is 2 seconds walk to Plaza de Armas, great location. The accommodations were surprisingly nice, clean and safe considering the price. Yes, there is some music that plays until 2-3am but oh well. Aren't you in Peru for an adventure anyways? Why not go out and experience the fun? Also we had traveled all day to Machu Picchu so we were dead tired and passed out anyways. You also get breakfast vouchers to a place right in plaza de armas which is great. Juice, tea, bread, eggs etc. There is also FREE INTERNET to stay connected if need be!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed here for a week or so in and around my trip to Machu Pichu. The staff were very friendly and helpful and let me change nights of booking with no problems. Breakfast the usual bread and jam affair - get there early to avoid missing out. All the rooms had individuals lockers but their location, off a central courtyard, meant sleep was often elusive. Not really a problem - it is advertised as a party hostel after all...but with alot of people staying there before 4am Machu Pichu starts perhaps some quieter options may also be good.
Hot water apparently available but despite following all instructions,and even with staff help, it eluded me....others got it though so I think I am just jinxed ;)
On site tour agency which books tickets, trips and other hostels. Not recommended. My tickets were never delivered for bus journey, not for hostels and tours I booked in Puno. Nothing was explained to me and I wasted a lot of time trying to sort out the mess. Simpler to go alone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canas de Senhorim, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was running out of money so I choose the cheapest hostel I could find in Cusco for my last night there. I wasn't expecting much but I got surprised when I came there as it was a good hostel, fun (a nice and cool bar where you can meet other travelers), good located (2 blocks from 'Plaza de Armas'), and definetly, a good value for your money. Besides that, showers have hot water (may seem pointless posting this information but not all the hostels offer that!!), breakfast is included in the cheap price and
I think they have other hostels in the same city, depending on the type of journey travelers are looking for.

I recommend Pirwa Hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our room was a double, right off the courtyard.
It was dark with no external windows and incredibly musty.
It was also very cold.
The noise was unbelievable. Noise from the bar upstairs would travel down, and people in the courtyard right outside drinking till after 1am meant sleep was hard to come by. We stayed there the night before the Inca trail which meant we had less than 4 hours sleep.
The toilet off the main courtyard randomly ran out of water, the showers were more often than not cold or lukewarm. How disappointing.
The free breakfast was adequate, bread and jam and fruit.
The shared bathrooms were pretty yuck.
This is definitely a 'budget backpackers' and i would never stayed here again and never recommend it.
The travel desk guy was not helpful at all.
But the laundry service was good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirwa Hostels Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostels Backpackers

Address: San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostels Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a chain hostels offering types of different accommodations for backpackers of entire world giving them all the basic needs such us , internet access, room of video , bar safe deposit boxes, pleasing environment and the most important the location in the center of the cusco city... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pirwa Hostels Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirwa Hostels Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.