We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe you can go anytime.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen

Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen
348-B Calle Plateros Cusco Peru, Cusco 08000, Peru
+51 84 437832
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 453 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Peruvian, Pizza, Sandwiches, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Morena Peruvian Kitchen is a unique restaurant nestled in the heart of beautiful Cusco. The restaurant puts a fun, modern twist on traditional Peruvian cuisine taking you on a culinary adventure through the flavors of the coast, Andes and Amazon. Open for all-day dining, Morena offers a warm and inviting place where anyone can experience a piece of true Peruvian cuisine and hospitality.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe you can go anytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went there for afternoon tea at the first time. Their apple muffins was so good and staff are so friendly. After we back from Machupicchu, we decided to have breakfast and enjoy the last morning in Cuzco. This time, the sandwich surprised me!!! Love the atmosphere and every moment we spent there. Oh, and the latte as well. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    83
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I ate the photo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Exactly what you see in the photograph image of this account, i ate. It was passion fruit cheese cake. OMG sooooo good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We went for coffee and desert. We were 4 people and ordered 3 cappucinos and one coffee. They forgot to bring one and we were forced to ask for it because the waiter did nit pay any attention to us. Also, we ordered passion fruit cake which look good but is not so tasty, too much cream. I would not go again to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafemorena, Owner at Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear sir / madam
I would like to take the opportunity to thankyou for your time in reviewing our cafe and would like to apologise for the not so positive experience you had .
Regarding the service you received it is unacceptable and not the standard we aim to deliver and will ensure all staff recieve further training and put better procedures in place to ensure our service standards increase as we are always striving to be better
Thankyou for giving us a opertunity to improve . And we would love to see you again one day and provide you with a true morena experience
Kind regards
Luke Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, but problems with MC transactions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Ate here twice, great food. Had problems both times with MC transaction (even though we didn't have any problems elsewhere.) First time we were charged double for everything-but it was corrected with many apologies by the server. Our second visit, the server was unable to process our payment with MC. We ended up paying in cash (Soles) instead. Great food and delicious drinks.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafemorena, Owner at Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear sir
Thankyou for taking the time to review cafe morena cusco, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your food and beverage experience in morena .
Regarding the MasterCard system I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you experienced while trying to pay your bill. We have been In contact with MasterCard on several occasions regarding their system as it is a lot slower than the visa system . Thankyou for your feedback and we are doing our best to improve the payment facillity to allow our guests more flexible payment options
Kind regards
Luke Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“superb food - not so sure about the seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is more of a coffee shop with more than a fair share of delicious sandwiches, soups, empanadas, cakes and great service. As other contributors confirm - the food is delicious. However, the setting - and seating - for me, is out of key with the quality of the food. It's a long room - and somehow the furnishings make it longer and unattractive. Yes - it's comfortable - but I wouldn't describe it as 'an awesome atmosphere'. Maybe it provides western comfort - as well as wonderful food for tourists - in a culture that lives on tourism - rather than providing any of the cultural experience - that I remember when I visited Cusco long ago?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Morena Peruvian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.