We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than we expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hiram Bingham

Belmond Hiram Bingham
Av. Pachacuteq S/N, | Estacion Wanchaq, Cusco, Peru
+51 84 581414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 340 Activities in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For many, a trip to Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime experience. The Belmond Hiram Bingham assures a magical journey, never to be forgotten. Named after the explorer who rediscovered the Inca citadel, the train has two dining cars, an observation/bar car and a kitchen car. It can carry up to 84 passengers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami Beach
1 review
“So much more than we expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We had heard that it was a "must" to take the first class train service back from Macchu Picchu so we booked it not knowing what it entailed. The tea at Sanctuary Lodge was lovely followed by bus transport down to town as our luggage went on to the train platform. The rail cars were so beautiful. Antique lighting, well maintained wood work and plush seating. The bar/observation car was terrific. Very fun as band had the guests singing and dancing. Unfortunately it was too dark to enjoy much of a view... Service was outstanding. Elegant crew, super friendly. Dinner was really delicious - much better than we expected. Even our 3 sons were raving! All in all - a lovely, first class experience all around.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. Lisa K,
We would like to special thank you for sharing your travel experience with the TripAdvisor community and also for choosing PeruRail as your alternative to visit Machu Picchu with all your family. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing and wonderful journey, and that you enjoyed all the services we offer aboard the Belmond Hiram Bingham train. We really hope to see you soon having a new and memorable journey with us.
Best regards,
The Belmond Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    168
    53
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing will compare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was my first train ride and I don't think anything will compare to it. The train itself is beautiful inside and out, can't believe it's about 60 years old! This was the perfect relaxing trip back down to Cuzco after our Inca trail trek. There was a bar car that had live music but we didn't visit because it was full of people, but the noise coming from it sounded like everyone was having a wonderful time. We rode down when it was dusk, therefore was disappointed that we could not see any scenery. Dinner was amazing. Every plate was garnished well and tasted wonderful. The only complaint was how bumpy the ride was, but hey, it's a 60 year old train that rode on tracks, what did I expect? The wait staff amazed me on how well they poured wine with the swaying of the train. Definitely well worth the experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kim H,
We are very happy to receive your comments and we are glad to know that you had a great experience aboard the Belmond Hiram Bingham train. We appreciate your preference with PeruRail on this occasion and we really hope to see you soon aboard our trains on another wonderful adventure.
Best regards,
The Belmond Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“luxury travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very nice with great service from start to finish. Note if you order extra wine you need to pay cash. Great fun on the way back in the observation car.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mrs. Rochepot,
Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your travel experience with our community and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful journey aboard the Belmond Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the entertainment. We hope to see you soon on another incredible and memorable adventure with PeruRail.
Best regards,
The Belmond Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A extremly pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked the Hiram Bingham for the trip back to Cusco, well it was the last week the train did not go to Cusco due to a mud slide. We had to take a bus to Cusco from the valley.
The four of us thought we would have a nice pleasant dinner on the train. The pleasant surprise was the bar car the staff told us to go to. They had a band and there was dancing- and it was just a great time before dinner. We weren't expecting that and it made our night.
Dinner was excellent too, service super- food super.
Highly recommend this trip!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. kathyD2274,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and also for traveling with us on this occasion. We are glad to hear that you had an incredible and memorable experience aboard the Belmond Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the adventure. We hope to see you soon on another wonderful adventure aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Belmond Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing day trip on the Hiram Bingham Train to Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The train trip to Machu Picchu & return was wonderful with great food, entertainment. Just being on this train made you feel special by the staff. The train ride was amazing with great views and too many photos to take.
Would highly recommend this trip before exploring Machu Picchu. Great experience & memories.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Charles F,
We are very happy to know that our staff made you feel very comfortable and pampered aboard the Belmond Hiram Bingham train and that you also had the chance to admire the incredible views we have along the way. Thank you for sharing your travel experience with the TripAdvisor community and we really hope to see you soon on a new and memorable adventure aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Belmond Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Santa Teresa, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hiram Bingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.