We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth the cost!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hiram Bingham

Belmond Hiram Bingham
Av. Pachacuteq S/N, | Estacion Wanchaq, Cusco, Peru
+51 84 581414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 339 Activities in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For many, a trip to Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime experience. The Belmond Hiram Bingham assures a magical journey, never to be forgotten. Named after the explorer who rediscovered the Inca citadel, the train has two dining cars, an observation/bar car and a kitchen car. It can carry up to 84 passengers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's worth the cost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time. The greeting with champagne and dancers was very special. The food was very good. It was the service that made it stand out. Very attentive. We took the train in the morning and returned the same day. We were afraid the day would be too long however we found the ride back relaxing and enjoyable. The bar car entertainment that made the trip fly by. My only comment would, be that on trips where there are families with smaller children I would suggest they use both dining cars as to allows those of us who wish to dine without having children running down the train pulling on the table clothes etc. The management did the very best they could to encourage parents to monitor the behavior. Overall a terrific experience and the only way to go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Bankh0liday,
It is a pleasure to receive your comments and we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We would like to thank you for travelling with PeruRail this time and we hope we have you back for another wonderful adventure with us.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    168
    53
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“SO worth the extra cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Machu Picchu for part of our honeymoon so we decided to splurge on the Hiram Bingham train since our trip was more adventurous and we wanted one luxury experience. We absolutely loved this train! When you first arrive at the station in the morning you get tea or coffee and pastries. There while waiting to board there are musicians and dancers.

The train itself is a fun first class experience. Many alcoholic drinks are complimentary. There are lots of delicious snacks. The drink car is a fun place to hang out and right next to the drink car is the caboose which has windows all around the sides and top for great views (and the views are spectacular heading up the mountains!) On the way up they have the very back of this car wide open so you can enjoy the fresh air and scenery.

We LOVED the musicians aboard. Those of us who spent time in the last 2 cars had quite a dance party while the musicians played local music, and songs like La Bamba and Jail House Rock (in Spanish). Everyone took turns dancing; it was so fun!

Our actual assigned seats and table were so beautiful. We had delicious 3 course meals on the journey there and back, we loved all the food. We got special champagne with hearts in the glasses for our honeymoon! They had amazing food (my husband enjoyed duck appetizers, fish dinners, etc) and wonderful vegetarian options I enjoyed (a nice change from usual vegetarian options of veggies and rice--these were first class meals!)

It was such a wonderful experience--if you are considering taking the Hiram Bigham train to Machu PIcchu--do it! You will not regret spending a little extra to have a great time!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Angela_Houser,
We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing time in the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the experience from start to finish. We are proud that you have chosen Peru as your honeymoon destination and we are honored that you have decided to travel with PeruRail on this special occasion. We hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains and traveling along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards and congratulations for your wedding,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We did the trip as social activity in a business meeting and everyone was very happy. Food and service on board is really great. By night during return very good ambience in the bar with live music. We enjoyed it very much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr. efrenfranco,
Thank you for your comments and it is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a pleasant and positive experience aboard the Hiram Bingham train, especially in this kind of journeys. We are glad to have passengers like you who enjoy this travel adventure, and also the service we offer. We would like to thank you for the preference with PeruRail and we hope to have you back on other routes by the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's big bucks, but we hated to skip it. It is a 3 hr trip from Poroy-Cusco, but only 1 1/2 hrs from Ollantaytambo. Be sure to check out the "lounge" car, and the view off the back of the train. Take the Vistadome return trip to ease the pain in your wallet.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Iworksolcantravel,
Thank you very much for your feedback and also for your time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had an excellent time aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the journey. Once again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back for another adventure.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a challenge to book because you had to make sure that the train journeys coincided with the days of the hotel you wanted to book. I really loved this journey. Whilst I had been ill from the night before, the train was old fashioned and wonderful. A formal lunch with white table clothes, wonderful waiters and great live music. I cannot recommend this journey highly enough.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Irishsalsa,

It is a pleasure for us to receive your comments and we are glad to know that you had a wonderful journey aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and also for your preference with PeruRail on this occasion. We hope we can have you back soon.

Best regards,

The Hiram Bingham Team​
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Santa Teresa, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hiram Bingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.