We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel in comfort to Macchu Picchu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hiram Bingham

Belmond Hiram Bingham
Av. Pachacutec - Wanchaq Train Station, Cusco, Peru
+51 84 581414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 attractions in Cusco
Type: Scenic Railroads
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Hiram Bingham is a luxury and exclusive service of Belmond operated by PeruRail. It´s a journey in which the traveller will have a full day of unforgettable experiences between the mystical Andean mountains and the most exclusive luxury that a train can offer. The two dining cars, its bar car with observatory, its kitchen car; the welcoming with sparkling wine and its traditional dancing show are only few of the reasons that converted it in everything that it means today.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Travel in comfort to Macchu Picchu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This train is the way to travel if you like comfort and no nasty surprises. It was very stylish and very "Orient Express". The meal was decent but avoid the wines! The best thing is that the timing of the train means that travellers reach Macchu Picchu in the afternoon so the site is much less crowded than in the mornings. Passengers are also nannied so that everything is very smooth, from leaving the train to re-bording later, post-visit.

One tip, we were advised to stay at the Inkaterra Hotel overnight but this was not really necessary as we had a very thorough tour of Macchu Picchu which lasted 3 hours. So, advice would be to do a return on the same day on the Hiram Bingham. Remember, the return trip is usually in the dark so no views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. HWilkes,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your useful comments and recommendations with the Trip Advisor community, as they ease the options of our future passengers to travel with PeruRail. We are glad to know that you had a great experience aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the journey. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity and we hope we can have you back visiting Cusco and travelling with us.
Sincerely,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    134
    42
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth experiencing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Yes, it's pricey but it's a an enjoyable once-in-a-lifetime experience. The service is incredible, the food outstanding and they are generous with the drinks. Watching the scenery roll by while listening to live music in the exposed bar car was a highlight. The staff is knowledgable and personable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. bradmack,
We are very happy to hear that you had a very good experience aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed all the services we offer on board. We would like to thank you for choosing to travel with PeruRail on this occasion and we hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains. We are always at your service.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice way to get up to Machu Picchu if you're not the overly adventurous type”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took this train up and back last week. It truly is a 5 star train ride and whilst not cheap, does allow for those who aren't inclined to hike up to Machu Picchu to do so in comfort and style. The service on board is impeccable and you aren't left wanting for more. From the departure festivities to the all inclusive tour and entertainment, I can't think of a better way to spend a day out and about.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Sqfg,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and also for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community and us. We are glad to know that you had a delightful adventure aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that all our services exceeded your travel needs and expectations. It is very important to us that our passengers experienced a unique and amazing journey along the Peruvian Andes because it is the purpose of our hard work. Once again, thank you for travelling with PeruRail on this occasion and we hope we can have you back soon.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“overpriced but comfy tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I won't complain for enjoying the comforts in this glitzy tourist train after a long arduous trek on the Inca Trail, except to say that it was overpriced and unnecessarily cozy when you look outside the windows and see Peruvians are living in substandard settings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. cecelianinDC,

We appreciate your opinion and we understand your point of view about the reality of our country and their differences. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time and also for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are always at your service.

Sincerely,

The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The train was cool due to incredible scenery along the way, but there was zero leg room for someone that is 5'10''. I couldn't imagine being really tall. That made the ride seem alot longer than an hour

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Brian W,
We would like to thank you for your comments and also for your time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We feel sorry that you did not have a pleasant journey. We apologize for the space inconvenience and we hope we can serve you better next time. We are always at your service.
Sincerely,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hiram Bingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hiram Bingham to your Saves list