We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Train in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hiram Bingham

Belmond Hiram Bingham
Av. Pachacuteq S/N | Estacion Wanchaq, Cusco 08200, Peru
+51 84 581414
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$954*
and up
Ranked #10 of 383 Tours & Activities in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For many, a trip to Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime experience. The Belmond Hiram Bingham assures a magical journey, never to be forgotten. Named after the explorer who rediscovered the Inca citadel, the train has two dining cars, an observation/bar car and a kitchen car. It can carry up to 84 passengers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best Train in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very expensive but you get the best for your money. Excellent food, exquisite service, espectacular views, very good guide, wonderful acomodation. The very best experience in Perú!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Jorge C,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments because we feel proud of all the hard work we do for our passengers because we are always trying to fulfill their expectations. We are very happy to know that you had an amazing trip aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the ride from beginning to end. It is a combination of all the services we offer and the wonderful views that makes this trip an unforgettable experience for everyone who has the privilege to enjoy it. We hope to see you back again soon for another great experience in Peru.

Sincerely,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    179
    58
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Why walk? The only way to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The train is comfortable and well appointed with good service and there is even entertainment to help pass the time. Very professional and trouble-free

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. GADR,

Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing them with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to know that you had a great time aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We hope to see you back again for another great adventure with PeruRail.

Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of many highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Simply this: In the morning we climbed Huaynapichu, in the evening we danced on the train.

Spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Steve C,

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and how an amazing way to describe your trip to Cusco. We are glad you had a wonderful time aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed it to its fullest. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor community and we hope you come back soon for another great experience with PeruRail.

Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Yes it's expensive, but it's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't have a single complaint, a first class experience all the way. The accommodations on the train were of the highest order, as was the food. The ride itself is breathtaking. It was nice that all the logistics (park entrance ticket, transport, etc.) were all all included in the outbound ticket price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. dralla2,

Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing them with the Trip Advisor community. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful time aboard the Hiram Bingham train and that you enjoyed the journey from beginning to end. All our services are thought to provide our passengers an unforgettable experience where they can just relax enjoy all the amenities while they are admire the amazing views . Once again, thank you for choosing PeruRail and we hope to see you back soon for another memorable experience with us.

Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We did a return trip to Machu Picchu on this luxurious train, putting in an overnight stop at Sanctuary Lodge. It is the most luxurious and gracious way to travel in Peru. The train is extremely comfortable, the carriage facilities first class and the service provided by all staff is attentive but unintrusive. Your luggage is taken care of from the minute you arrive at the station until you arrive at your hotel destination, and food and drinks are feely provided. Food is excellent - imaginative cuisine and well presented. Wine list is comprehensive . The observation car provides good views from which to take panoramic photos of the most beautiful countryside. Our outward bound journey was the best. The return journey was unfortunately spoiled by a few drunken younger folk who seem incapable of resisting free alcoholic drinks and whose raucous behaviour singing and dancing in the lounge and observation car was not inkeeping with the gracious image and services provided by the train. Staff looked on with disdain but no-one intervened !!! We felt the onboard musicians were unnecessary and perhaps their playing of western popular music , which was not inkeeping with the ambience, also contributed to the bad behaviour of the few. TIP- on the return journey ask to be seated in the carriage furthest away from the bar. Its an expensive way to travel but we thought it was worthwhile - a journey you do only once in your lifetime.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear janets560;

We are very pleased to receive your feedback and that motivates us to continue giving our best. For us, is an honor to have passengers like you who enjoy the ride and share their travel experience with the community and us, but at the same time, we are sorry that you did not feel comfortable with the behavior of some passengers in the bar. aboard the Hiram Bingham train, we put all our effort to give the best quality service for our passengers, especially because we want to create memorable experiences for each one,
However, we want to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option. We hope to see you again aboard of our trains.

Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hiram Bingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.