We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Floors, bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Suecia I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Suecia I to your Saves list
Hostal Suecia I
Calle Suecia 332, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 256 Cusco B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Thin Floors, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's charming and close to the center. But for low season they refused to budge on the the price. So we thought, it must be really good. But then the noise came. The floors are very thin; we could hear the knocking of the floor upstairs and even the conversations from there. We reported this to the staff. This is a hiker's town, so it is common for guests to go to sleep early to wake up at 4-5AM for their Inca Trail start. Staff didn't care and said the noise will go away soon. It didn't, so we asked if we could change the room; a definitely no from the staff and we were left to our ear-plugs and prayer that the knocking will end soon so we would get some sleep.

Room Tip: Get the room from the top floor; though mysteriously we had the top floor and still people were abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were looking forward to staying here after reading the positive reviews and made reservations a month in advance though their website and also confirmed directly with hotel staff via email. One week before our trip we sent an email to reconfirm our reservations and the hotel staff said they'd never heard from us and that we had never made a reservation! Good thing we didn't just show up at their door expecting that their "reservation system" was trustworthy and that communication with staff via email could be relied upon. When we re-sent the documents proving that we had indeed made a reservation, we never heard from them again! Very disappointed in their level of professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I found this place a very comfortable and convenient base for exploring Cusco, Ausangate (away for 4 days) and Machu Pichu (away for 1 night). The reason I stayed in three different rooms was because the friends I was on holiday with arrived and left at different times. I stayed in a family room (double and two singles), a twin room and a single, all very high ceilinged, all with en suite hot showers, all on the first floor (US - second floor) , all at the front of the building and each with large wooded shuttered windows which gave a view across the roof tops. When I went away to the places mentioned above I obviously didn't want to pay for a room i wasn't sleeping in so made use of the large free storage room.
The breakfast is very simple but gets you started and there is plenty of cocoa tea with it. The wifi didn't extent to any of the rooms I stayed in so i used it at the large wooden table in the atrium, which was a nice space to sit and chat with other guests in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were so happy to find this place! The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful, and straight-forward. They went out of their way to help us with our travel plans, including hailing taxis to the airport at 5 in the morning and bargaining with the taxi driver to give us the non-gringo rate. Our baggage was held for free for two days while we travelled to Lake Titicaca. The hostal is clean and simple and an incredible value. The courtyard is beautiful! And their location near the happening areas of Cusco can not be beat!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

OK place to stay but not very welcoming...when we arrived, there were no other guests at hostal--unlike many others in town with social areas, etc.
Pros: central location; neat and clean; private baths for some rooms; well-lighted, covered indoor courtyard with big table for breakfast; internet WI-FI works throughout hostal; don't have to hike up any steep hills to get to hostal
Cons: not very comfortable beds--one can feel the dips and springs in mattresses, no social scene at all; cold bread for breakfast with tea and coffee; staff not very helpful and not very friendly; no windows in most rooms

For the best rooms--ask for 3rd floor room--they are newer and have a partial view of city of Cusco - there are 2 rooms on 3rd floor--one is a triple with 3 twin sized beds, the other room on 3rd floor has one double-sized bed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The bed is clean.
The room was never cleaned during our stay.
Very basic breakfast
The 2 rooms in the top of the hostal are better than the others
Hot water available
Don't ask to much to the staff at the reception....
No table in the matrimonial rooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I booked this hostel primarily based on location. The service was touch and go. When we first arrived early in the morning, we were greeted with tea de coca which was very nice. However, as far as the continental breakfast goes, that was the only time it was actually offered to us, the other time we had to ask. We were also once refused breakfast service because it was past 10 am, but the day before we had received breakfast at 10:30am.
The first day we got there we were let in our room to rest. a couple of hours later we get a knock on the door and a lady wanted to come in and change the sheets because it hadn't been done yet. Kind of a turn off and made us wonder if the room had actually been clean.
The hot showers are nice, if you want sleep get a room in the back because there is a club down the street from the hostel.
Also, they offer private airport pick up for 5 soles/ person. There were two of us and they charged us 15 soles instead. I think taxi's probably do charge that, but it's discouraging/annoying that they tell you it will cost one thing and ends up costing another.
Also, I'm not sure if this is a hostel for those who want a late night here or there. One time we came back at 12:30 am and had to knock several times for someone to let us in. I am unaware of and was never told of a hostel curfew. The staff did seem annoyed when asked to be let in to the place as per other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Suecia I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Suecia I

Address: Calle Suecia 332, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Suecia I is a cosy and familiar bed & breakfast in a carefully conditioned 16th century house built in the early Spanish presence in Cusco. We are located just off the Main Square, at the very heart of Cusco. Our excellent location is coupled with a very quiet and calm atmosphere, and a familiar and affordable quality service, which has deserved recommendations from books for travellers as well as prizes from Peruvian authorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Suecia I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Suecia I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.