We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana to your Saves list
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 306 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here four nights and we really liked it. The room was always very cleaned, the staff was very friendly and willing to make your stay the best, the cafeteria on top of the hotel has a great view and breakfast was good. The only thing is that you have to walk to the Plaza de Armas or Plaza de San Blas to be picked up or dropped off for your tours and the area early in the mornings is not very clean. Other than that we really loved it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liliana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A perfect place to spend a few days while acclimatizing to altitude, & exploring Cuzco & the Sacred Valley. We stayed here before & after our trek. The hotel stored our luggage while we were trekking, & it felt very safe to leave our stuff. The hotel is in the interesting neighbourhood of San Blas, which is quiet, yet still close to the center of Cuzco, & one can easily walk to the ruins, the markets, & restaurants. We felt safe walking (to/from the hotel) as a group in the evenings. The streets in San Blas are VERY narrow, but the Alemana can be reached by taxi - so one does not need to drag luggage across cobblestones. The rooms were clean, bright, quiet, & had a space heater. The breakfast (included) room was bright, with a great view looking down on Cuzco. The best part though, was the staff. The front desk staff especially, were amazingly helpful - they made arrangements for us (train, duffel bag transfer, restaurants), offered local advice, spoke excellent English (yet tolerated my attempts to speak Espanol), & were very friendly. Special mention should be made of Catherine, who seemed to anticipate our needs, & made everything easy (my husband says: she was the best hotel clerk he has ever dealt with!!) .... sadly though, I believe she is leaving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaytee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here before our trek and were so happy to be able to come back afterwards. The rooms were quiet and clean, the shower was hot, the beds comfortable for Peru, the breakfast room with a view was bright, there is a pretty garden to sit in, and the service at the front desk was excellent. They helped us to make dinner reservations, had our bus tickets to Puno delivered to the hotel, found us a van with a driver for a day excursion, arranged taxi to and from the airport. Everything was clean and well organized. This neighborhood of Cusco, San Blas, has very few motorcycles, and there is a no honking the horn restriction, even with the narrow streets. Many of the alleys in this area have steps, or are for walking only, and there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. We also walked up to Sacsayhuaman from here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the city, which are on the street. Others overlook a garden. Very few mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dje93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

It pays to choose your hotel in Cusco with care (coldness and lack of cleanliness being the main issues) - we felt we did well with the Alemana. Our room was clean, comfortable and very cosy with the electric heater on. Unlike some hotels in the narrow streets of San Blas, the Alemana can be reached by taxi (just), which is handy when burdened by luggage on arrival and departure.

The hotel is well set up to deal with the needs of the typical Cusco visitor (luggage storage, liaising with tour operators, returning duffel bags after a hike etc). Our visit and tours all worked seamlessly, thanks in no small part to the Alemana.

A final mention must be made of the outstanding views of Cusco from the hotel - these alone would justify a short stay at the Alemana.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Pension Alemana was a great place to stay. We really liked staying in San Blas despite it being a bit of a walk to the main square. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to leave our bags for five days when we went on a trek. The shower was great and very hot and there is a good breakfast and tea and fruit available all day. The only drawbacks are that we were in the room just above the lobby (I think #202). It was very loud - it is basically right on the street so you hear that (and can't really have the windows open) plus everyone coming in and out of the lobby. It was also two twin beds pushed together and made separately and the room was absolutely freezing. There was a portable electric heater in the room but it didn't seem to do much. When we returned we asked for a different room and it was much better - with a view and quieter although we still had two twin beds and one was lower than the other which was awkward.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Highly recommended oasis! Cant say enough good things! Charming setting in San Blas, with lovely garden and great day and night views of the city below. Best of all, it was quiet allowing for best sleep of our trip, in comfortable beds, and heater at night kept us cozy despite chilly May nights. Very nice breakfast room had more city views, served eggs made to order, and was a pleasant place to exchange tips with fellow travellers. Front desk staff were also the most friendly & accommodating of anywhere we've stayed in Peru.

Other pluses: fruit and tea in lobby, computer access, lots of places to sit and talk with guests or guides, reasonably priced fast laundry service. Only downside is the climb up the hill can be daunting, and the 5s cab fare from downtown, while cheap, is sometimes slow due to the narrow streets causing backups.

Room Tip: Rm 301 has part garden, part city view, twin beds, and is quiet and away from any possible noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed two nights a the Pension Alemana, with one night in-between when we did a two-day tour. The staff was very friendly and many of them spoke English. The hotel is nice, clean, and has a beautiful garden. We could leave our luggage there during our two-day trip and it was safe. The location is great - in walking distance to the main Plaza. The breakfast buffet is very good, with lots of healthy choices. Overall it was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 157 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#38 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#6 of 306 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Second Home Cusco
Second Home Cusco
#1 of 306 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing