We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!! And the most helpful and friendly staff in Cusco!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana to your Saves list
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 241 Cusco B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!! And the most helpful and friendly staff in Cusco!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here four nights while my husband worked in the city. I wanted a place I felt safe and comfortable. Either to be relaxed all day at, drink coca tea and read or go walk around by myself with easy access to the plaza. This was the PLACE! Very clean, cozy, comfortable. The best shower! A computer to check your email, nice bonus since we did not travel with ours. The best breakfast! Real butter (most places serve margarine), the best muesli and yogurt and bread! and of course delicious eggs every morning. There was always someone at the front desk if you needed anything or had a questions and always eager to help with a friendly smile. I was sad to say goodbye to all the staff members, they really made by stay. I could not have been happier! Just know it is a walk uphill about 10 minutes from the main Plaza. I really enjoyed the walk and liked the exercise! Also it was nice to be out of the main plaza congestion. But only a 2-3 minutes walk from the San Blas Plaza which has great food and cafes and shopping! Only thing I would have liked to seen is access to filling up our water bottles with the filtered water to reduce plastic bottle waste. This is a big problem in Peru. Even if it is 1 sole to fill up, much better than the waste of a water bottle. But they do allow you to drink the filtered water a cup at a time which is a great start! And they always have tea, coffee, and fruit at all times of the day to snack on, which is great! I would stay here again! Love this place, thank you for taking such good care of me Hostal Pension Alemana!! Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    76
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
170
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Cuzco and stayed in Pension Alemana at the beginning of February 2013. We were surprised to find the place partly full at this ''empty'' period of the year. The whole site aired a youthful and vivid environment supported by the courteous staff. Service was excellent and totally rewarding for its value. We were guided correctly in our daily excursions and the staff knowledge of trip details helped us make the best of tourist schedules. The area is about 12 minutes normal walking uphill from the main square and that seemed to be the only small problem. But it was offset by the quietness of the neighbourhood and the nice view. Breakfast was good with fresh local delicious varieties and the inside garden of the pension offered an additional luxury. We already began recommending the pension to friends that plan their Cuzco trip.
Apostolis + Stella - couple from Greece

Room Tip: all rooms were good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful garden, nice rooms, wonderful service, lovely breakfasts, great shower!! A wonderful value in this quaint part of town. We loved this little pension and the service was wonderful. We left our bags there for safe keeping while we trekked to Macchu Piccu.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Property has a very nice courtyard. Our room was very basic, although it was clean. For the price it wasn't bad.

The service was okay. If we asked for something specific they would help us but there wasn't much outward interest in us or making our trip as good as possible. It sometimes felt like if we asked for help with something that we were inconveniencing them because they always seemed busy with something else. I would more expect this at a large hotel, but not a small B&B ranked so high on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grower4, Owner at B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear BValderas,
thanks for your review. Even though it seems you rating isn’t based on a local comparison with other similar places and even though most guest have a very different opinion on this, we take your opinion about our room and service quality very seriously. We know it's not easy but, we will do our best to please all kind of guest. If you ever come back to us, you surely will notice important improvements. Happily you liked other aspects and you mentioned that our price wasn’t bad.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and myself come every year once to Cusco and we feel at home, as the helpful staff is like a family we know from years. We love the view over the historic centre of Cusco, or to sit in the quiet flowerful garden. Breakfast is really plentiful offering Andean grains with fresh locally made Joghurt, local delicious bread, strong filtered coffee (helps in the altitude and for digestion), lovely juice creations (mix of mango and passion fruit I strongly recommend).
Beds are so clean you love to dip into the sheets. The fast WiFi is very useful, as we need to stay in touch with our partners. Cable TV is present, besides the Peruvian channels you can watch the news of Telesur or BBC, etc.
We loved our last stay of 15 days in the German Pension, we felt at home and enjoyed the conversations about Cusco and the world with the owners. This year they will open the breakfast room on top of the second building with the incredible panoramic view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabaneta, Colombia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a trip to Peru. We spent our 5 nights in Cusco at Hostal Pension Alemana in the artisan district of San Blas, about 4 blocks north of Plaza de Armas. San Blas is a district of quaint homes and buildings constructed during the early years of Cusco. Cusco is also the ancient capital of the Inca Empire. The streets in this district crisscross perpendicularly over moderately inclined terrain and have a cartway that is barely wide enough to accommodate a narrow vehicle. Some van drivers may refuse to travel Tanda Pata, the narrow alleyway on which Pension Alemana is situated. The neighborhood seems to be safe, but always take basic precautions to protect yourself. The hotel is owned by a German ex-pat, Heinz, who, along with his wonderful staff, exemplifies the meaning of hospitality and German “Gemuetilichkeit.”

The hotel is a converted villa-type residence with multiple floors and wings. In the center of the complex is a beautifully landscaped garden with flowers and plants that seem to attract the sweetest song birds. I would consider it, an upscale pension-type accommodation. When you enter the main door to the hotel, you will be greeted by one of the helpful and efficient receptionists. (The front desk is manned 24/7). Behind the receptionist area are the breakfast rooms tastefully decorated by local woodwork artisans. A potbelly stove is strategically located to keep the guests warm during the cold early mornings. An assortments of teas (and coca leaves to help with the altitude adjustments) and fresh fruits are available to guests throughout the day and night. A lobby/library is located on the second story mezzanine and includes an Internet workstation. Reliable Internet throughout the complex is provided by 3 dedicated routers. While at the hotel, my laptop maintained strong, excellent quality signals. There is NO PARKING for personal vehicles at Pension Alemana.

Access to the living units is through the kitchen. A kitchen door leads to an open landscaped courtyard that is adorned with floral plants and outdoor fixtures and furniture. There are two buildings housing the 22 habitation units. Units range from singles to triples, and cost from $55 US to $92 US depending upon the season and capacity of the room. Each room is decorated in wood and an en suite bathroom with amenities such as hair dryer, soap, shampoo, etc. The showers have both hot and cold water, and I must add that hot water was always there when we needed it. The condition of the rooms is well-maintained and the cleanliness is spotless. Each unit includes a flat screen TV & phone. The beds are much more comfortable than they appear. We slept well every night and woke up with no aches or pains. Most of the units have a closed-looped radiator, and all have extra blankets and quilts to keep you warm during the cold Cuzco nights. If that is not enough, portable electric heaters are available for $1/day. (I highly recommend that you spend the extra cash and get one of the heaters.) Maid service is provided daily when your room is available to do so.

The daily breakfast at Pension Alemana is delightful. The breakfast consists of eggs made to order, deliciously fresh rolls and bread (we took some home with us), fruit salad, cereals and granola, yogurt and fresh cheese. Coffee and an assortment of teas and mates add the finishing touch to breakfast.

Pension Alemana’s staff definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty ensuring that hotel guests are happy, comfortable and cared for during their stay at the hotel. For example, my wife severely sprained her ankle on Plaza de Armas. When we arrived back at the pension, the receptionist, Marleni, arranged for a house doctor to exam my wife’s ankle. In the meantime, Marleni tended to my wife’s ankle with hot water, herbs and a compress.

The owner, Heinz, leads by example… and it shows in the training and demeanor of his fine staff. Both my wife and I highly recommend Hostal Pension Alemana to anyone traveling to Cuzco.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $1 per day, and get the portable electric heater. If you don't mind climbing sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hostel is a deceiving word for this hotel as it's much more of a hotel than a hostel. This is my favourite placed I stayed in Peru. The hotel has everything: comfortable beds, fast wifi, good breakfast, friendly staff, and lots of coca tea.

The only problem is that you climb quite the hill when returning from the main square. Hard to do when you're 11,000 feet up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 241 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, within the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom (24 Hrs. hot and cold water) and radiator-heaters. Homely atmosphere, personalized service, great views, garden, terraces, natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks, very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.