We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I take my groups here 3 times a year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antares Mystic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antares Mystic Hotel to your Saves list
Antares Mystic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172 Cascaparo St., Cusco, Peru (Formerly Rey Antares Mystic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Bellingham
1 review
“I take my groups here 3 times a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Don't listen to the one guy that trashed this place. I love it and have been here 6+ times and have had over 50 people stay there. They can arrange any trip from the desk, they are honest and the pricing is always fare. If your use to the Four Seasons its maybe not for you. The beds are deep and comfy, water is not always hot, they pick you up at the airport. The rooms have been very quiet. Its a great buy, safe neighborhood, great native market across the street.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    93
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
66
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I just got back from Peru and stayed 4 days in Cusco at Rey Antares Hotel. The hotel has a good location, but at night it's better to get a taxi. The staff was very kind and helpful. And at any time of the day the shower has lots of hot water!! A good choice in Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gross-Bieberau
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

The hotel, managed and operated by a group of local ladies, is located very close to the train station to Machu Picchu and opposite the colourful and picturesque central market. To the main suqare it is about half a km to walk.
The service was adequate to the star rating and we could also book all our excursions with the manageress, who looked well after us and provided all information needed during our stay. Breakfast was served also very early in line with the early train departures to Machu Picchu.
Overall a good place to stay that can be recommended to fellow travellers.
Free internet access with own laptop was great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

This hotel is placed near the train station and just a few minutes to walk to the Placa de Armas. The price for one double room starts with 45 US but you can get the online book discount if you stay a little longer (so 39 US) or you will get some more (like we had) and will result at 35 US.
For this you will get a very clean, save and friendly hotel, where you will always have enough hot water for shower. The rooms are a little bit different. Some are bigger. Two beds or one big bed is possible.The breakfast is like anywhere else with hot water for tea or coffee and bread with marmelade and butter. Good is the fresh pressed orange juice.
You have TV at each room. Ask for remote control at the reception. Luggage deposite is also possilbe.
For us a very good place to stay in Cusco.

Thomas and Claudia from Germany

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We decided on the Rey Antares Mystic Hotel because it is so close to the train station for an early trip to Machu Picchu.

We found the staff very helpful although their English was extremely limited. They arranged for taxis, and helped us find food and a shoe repair shop when the sole came off my boot.

There is a computer with internet for guest's use and a free breakfast of bread, butter, and jam along with fresh pineapple or orange juice.

The hotel is on a fairly busy street which can get loud in the morning with lots of honking. It is also across the street from the main market which is convenient and interesting just to look out your window and watch people go by.

  • Liked — Great people and Great Location
  • Disliked — The bedding
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

After booking and receiving confirmation over the net we were surprised to arrive at the airport and see our name on a taxi drivers arrival board. Started well however on arrival we were shown to a twin bedded room insted of a double bedroom. Not wanting to cause problems we decided to accept the room as the beds were actually large singles and, pushed together made an enormous bed!!

Next day after spending the time sightseeing we returned to find that the beds had been made yet in the bathroom no clean towels, toilet paper or soap. On complaining the maid arrived to the room and said that we had towels, I explained thAT THEY WERE WET and that hotels in general leave fresh towels daily.

Second morning we rang for room service, coffee and tea, supposedly included in the price, on departure we were charged for every mornings request.

Second evening returned to room and again no towels, paper or soap.

Third morning again no towels, paper or soap. This made us so angry having pointed this out on two days previous. We checked out that day which caused even more problems. On the initial booking we were asked how we intended to pay for the stay, I stated by visa card. The receptionista insisted upon being paid in cash and to make it worse, her calculation of euros to soles was horrendous. I made the calculation myself, paid and left, certainly no tips to be given.

A beautiful hotel, decorated to a good standard, staff very hospitable except when at fault, heating and hot water excellent and a web page easy to navigate. To go again? I think not, for the price a hostal has better service.

  • Liked — Big beds
  • Disliked — servive of rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

The women who work there were SUPER. The english wasn't very good, however were extremely helpful and did everything they could to make our stay pleasurable.

Free transport FROM airport.

The location is 5 minutes from the main Cusco square and is right next to the train station that takes you to MP. Free internet in the lobby, free continental breakfast--they were able to set up a city tour and white-water rafting hassle-free.

The last reviewer said breakfast was a little small, which it was, bread, juice, coffee--however I never stuck around to see if they would bring out more as my gf and I generally were out of the hotel quite early. Rooms were MORE than adequate, the TVs were a little small, but we rarely turned it on. Showers were clean...

Would return. Cost to airport I think was 10 sol.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antares Mystic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Mystic Hotel

Address: 172 Cascaparo St., Cusco, Peru (Formerly Rey Antares Mystic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Mystic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget hotel option, the best choice for those expecting a cozy and comfortable place, clean rooms, friendly service and warm attention with all the basic services for the tourist. Within the historic downtown, close to the main square, to the colonial churches, to the most bars and restaurants, to historic monuments, just half block from the old train station to Machu picchu and in front of the main central market of city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Antares Mystic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Antares Mystic Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antares Mystic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.