We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

Save Saved
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden House
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Los Alamos B-6 | Larapa Grande, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% discount
Ranked #2 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Garden House has to be the most welcoming place that I have stayed in during my travels. First of all, this is not a Marriott, Sheraton or any other big hotel. It is a smaller hotel run by two sisters, Ceci and Doris, who speak english fluently and welcome you as if you are family staying at their home.

And although you are received with such warmth, they also take care of every little detail. Transport to and from the airport is included, they gave us with a courtesy cell phone in case of emergencies, provided dinner recommendations (that were spot on - highly recommend Limo) and arranged reservations and taxis. They also keep an oxygen tank on hand in case of altitude sickness, lent us a tour book and bug repellant for our trip to Machu Pichu and just generally took care of every need that we had. A fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs and bread awaits you every day. They even woke up early to ensure that had breakfast the day that we left for Machu Pichu...at 5:00 a.m. My only wish is that we had let them take care of more arrangements, as they were so accommodating and efficient (which I can hardly say for the 2 travel agents that we dealt with).

A couple of notes about the Garden House. This hotel is closer to the airport than downtown. It is not in an area that has much to see or eat (beyond pizza), so you will likely be taking a 20 minute taxi ride downtown to the Plaza de Armas for sightseeing and to eat. However, Cusco is very safe, the ride is about US$4 each way and is arranged by the hotel, so this was not an issue for us at all. As mentioned above, this is more of a larger house converted into a hotel. Breakfast is served in the kitchen or the dining room, which are the same size rooms as you would have in your own home. The two rooms we had were suites, with a sitting room and a second room with the bed, with a single bathroom that can be accessed from each room. Some suites have a queen in the sitting room, and three single beds in the back room. If you are looking for a big, formal hotel chain, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a nice, clean bed and breakfast style hotel with fantastic, friendly service, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
84
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Garden House made our trip to Cusco all the more pleasurable. Ceci is an amazing hostess and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay, saw as much as possible, received great insight and guidance to the area, and much more ! Our days were meticulously planned out, always starting with a wonderful breakfast; and ending with cups of hot coca tea. Even when we were too tired to head into Cusco for dinner, Ceci would come up with recommendations for home delivery. In fact, every place that she sent us to turned out to be fabulous and allowed us to enjoy the local scene to the maximum potential.

We stayed 4 nights over two occasions, with a break to Machu Picchu in between. Without Ceci and the Garden House our experience would not have been as tremendous. There is an advantage to staying downtown closer to the main square of Cusco, but you would never benefit from the personal experience that Ceci offers. I am sure it is unparalleled.

Couldn't recommend The Garden House more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved staying at The Garden House! Traveling to Peru for the first time my sister Joan, and friend Jane, and I were well taken care of by Ceci. Our days were planned out by Ceci with tours and tour guides (loved Tanya!). Recommendations for lunch and dinner were equally wonderful. Thank you Ceci for all you did for us! You made our visit to Peru exceptional! Best, Marie

Room Tip: When bringing American dollars ask your bank to give you new bills ... Peruvians will not take any b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

How can I describe the experience that me and my wife had at The Garden House?
We've felt like we were in one of our family members house. Just like everyone is saying in there comments, Ceci took care of EVERYTHING. Before my trip to Cusco, Ceci schedule and organized our tour to Machu Picchu (minivan - train - bus - personal guide) and a tour to the Sacred Valle so when we got there we didn't have to worry about anything, and man, me and my wife had one of the most amazing experience of our lifes. Breakfast was delicius. The room is big and cosy.
If you plan to go to Cusco someday, The Garden House is the place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights either side of us doing the Inca Trail in late July 2013 and this was our favourite place to stay during our 4 week trip by a country mile.

Ok, so you get picked up from the airport and you are quickly having your bags taken out of the car and to your room as Ceci and Doris greet you with big smiles; and a hug if I remember correctly?!

The place has a really nice feel about it, the decor is well done and maintained well, our room was spacious enough with a walk through wardrobe area into the bathroom where hot water can be slow in coming but always arrives!!

I had my card cloned in Cusco so had to spend some time on the phone to my bank which Ceci did for me from their phones, a genuine concern was shown and it was nice to have an ally through my panic!

The breakfasts again were the best had in our trip, fresh eggs and as a european I must say the bacon was incredible! Also there was fresh breads and toast, coffee and tea, fresh juices and homemade cereals, a great way to kick the day off! I was shocked when we awoke at 4:30am for the Inca Tail only to see that Doris was already up making some food and drink for us, what a star she is!!

Ceci has great knowledge of the area and picked out the best places to see and where to eat, shop etc.

If I had to be forced into any negatives Id be hard pushed but I guess you can't get away from the location that is a little way from town centre. However, the journey is only 10 to 15 minutes in and Ceci and Doris give you a mobile phone which you can call them and they will arrange for a taxi to pick you up from wherever you are for a fixed fee of 10 soles. We found being out of town was nice as it was so quiet and felt like a haven of tranquility amongst Cuscos noise and exhaust fumes.

The final shot of Ceci and Doris' unforgettable hospitality came after we had said our goodbyes and me and my better half were arguing at the gate about the whereabouts of the passport holder which contained our driving licenses and yellow fever cards, no idea, lost. Then I looked over the desk at the check in and saw the bloody thing there, "oh I must have left it in the plane on our flight in and the great people of TACA have stored it for us after seeing our onward flight, very thoughtful of them" But oh no, Ceci or Doris had seen we left it, and Ceci had driven after us in her car as we were in the taxi but we had already gone though security so she arranged for it to get put behind the desk for us!! What an angel that woman is!

Ok, so do I need to say anymore? Get it booked!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Garden House is a paradise in Cusco. My only regret is that I didn't have more time to spend there!

Ceci and Doris are probably the nicest, most caring hostesses you will ever meet. It felt more like I was staying with long lost Peruvian family, rather than an impersonal hotel. When I arrived in Cusco on the first night, Ceci found out that I hadn't had dinner and offered to prepare "something simple", which turned out to be homemade quinoa soup, and probably my best meal in Peru. When I returned to Garden House after a trip to Machu Picchu and arrived late at night, Ceci had prepared a midnight snack waiting for me without even asking.

Rooms are fantastic -- clean, huge and well decorated. Mine had a separate sitting area, a large bedroom with very comfy bed, and bathroom, all of which were impeccably clean. There is great attention to detail in the hotel, such as complementary "Garden House" slippers, hot tea in the rooms, and a nightly turndown service. It was a very cosy, comfortable place to relax after long hours of travel!

Breakfast was amazing and included granola/cereal, fruit, bread, eggs, coffee/tea, etc. They had a really nice dining/sitting area which has a very homey feel.

As far as the logistics of it, everything from booking reservations to airport pickup and within Cusco transport was very prompt and easy. They were even able to book my ticket to Machu Picchu and have it waiting for pickup when I arrived, and printed my boarding pass for my flights. They also gave me a cell phone pre-programed with their number, in case I needed to get in touch while staying there.

The whole hotel is beautiful, and is nice quiet escape about 10 minutes by car from the center.

Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Apologies Doris and Garden House team, I have been meaning to write and thank you all so much, for not only providing very useful information about the area and things to do, but especially for looking after me when I was struck down with sickness after returning from Manchu pichu.

I really enjoyed staying at the garden house it is like a home away from home.

Thanks once again -Justin

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
Free internet...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#3 of 144 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Charming, Free...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#12 of 144 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
3.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Charming, Free...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Palacio del Inka a Luxury Collection Hotel
Boutique, City...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: Los Alamos B-6 | Larapa Grande, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet oasis in Cusco, with a very large garden and orchard to relax in. A refuge from the noise and bustle. You will find The Garden House an excellent base and a welcoming home to return to from your sightseeing of Machu Picchu and the Inca capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Cusco
Garden Hotel Cusco
The Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.