We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near everything & great views of plaza de armas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccola Locanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Piccola Locanda to your Saves list
Piccola Locanda
Calle Resbalosa 520, Cusco 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Near everything & great views of plaza de armas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Breakfast was space...staff very interested in being on computer. Had eggs in refrigerator but wouldn't make one for our friends staying in hotel. Camilo and Joseph the night attendant were super friendly and helpful. Joseph was our driver for the week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
158
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evian-les-Bains, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A very friendly team. I splend two nights in Cuzco, before and after the inkatrail. We wake up at 5.00 and came back at 22h00, they keept my bags 4 days and they were here with smile!
Room was clean and very beautiful, with hot water and a nice vew on the Plaza de Armas.
The kitchen was very usefull and the communs very clean.
Just a little noisy from the street one night
Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Super cozy, great breakfast, nice view, super nice owners, very clean!! Need I say more? I could have stayed here for an entire month!! The only not so great part is having to walk up stairs to get there, but that's the price for a nice view over the whole city!

Room Tip: We stayed at "Biblioteca" and loved it. It was a private room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure to stay in this place, very close to the Plaza de Armas but quite and cozy. The stuff is great and help you all the time! The place is very clean and you have hot shower! Highly recomandable are the tours from Peruetico! This place is secure and you have all nearby. I will come back and hope that future guests help the project they have! I enjoyed the breakfast which is great! Cusco = Piccola Locanda!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have just read a review for Piccalo that said the staff weren't particularly friendly which I find surprising as we had wonderful friendly service. We arrived very early in the morning from a bus journey and they gave us a room to sleep in and breakfast that morning for no extra charge as we couldn't yet check in. We were very lucky they had a room available and are very grateful for being so kind. I would recommend staying in Cecila which has a beautiful view. Alex is ok but above the kitchen, Cecila is far better.

Check out is early at 09:30 but as many people are moving on to macchu picchu or arriving from early busses i can understand this.

On the up side check in is from 10:30 and laundry was cheap and fast at 4 sols per kilo

My only criticism would be breakfast- the coffee was outstanding and homemade juice was lovely however I am unable to eat gluten and always appreciate an option other than bread. Some other reviews say breakfast has a wide choice - I had to make my own eggs in order to eat something. Bread was the only substantial thing on offer. But in emailing prior to arriving I am grateful that they allows me to make my own eggs in the kitchen.

Having said that I would still recommend Piccolo for its cleanliness, friendliness and great location (the stairs were not a problem for us)

Ps hot water and good wifi were a constant while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Piccola Locanda for one night and in all fairness the room we had was great for the price: super clean with comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and a beautiful view from our balcony overlooking the Plaza de Armas. There was a problem with the hot water when we arrived (the gas balloon needed to be changed) but it was taken care of quickly and professionally so no complaints there. That said, the place has a bit of a somber mood to it and the staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming at any point during our stay. There is wi-fi, technically, but the signal didn't actually reach our room unless we were sitting by the door. We asked about leaving our luggage the next day while we enjoyed Cusco before we headed out to Ollantaytambo later on to catch our train to Machu Picchu and the concept of luggage storage seemed a bit foreign to them. Breakfast was nothing more than bread with jam and the carafe for hot water had barely enough for two cups of tea left in it. The one for coffee was completely empty and even though we were the only ones at breakfast at that point and there was nothing and nobody else to attend to, the woman responsible for overseeing the dining area was sitting in the kitchen reading a newspaper and couldn't be bothered (another reviewer mentioned that breakfast was huge and their were a lot of choices but if that was the case no one ever offered us anything). Finally, their check-out time is 9:30am. I repeat: their check-out time is 9:30am (displayed on a sign over the front desk). We had to negotiate with the guy at the front desk to be able to leave at 10:00 after having requested to leave at 10:30. I don't expect to be allowed to lounge around a hotel into the afternoon without having paid for the upcoming night and understand from a business perspective if they need guests to vacate a bit early to get ready for all the tourists that tend to fly in from Lima in the morning, but there's a limit to what is reasonable. What's the point of paying for a hotel on vacation if they force you to get up before 9am? In short, the room was great but overall the place was nothing special and I don't see any particular reason to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. The staff were really helpful and more than happy to help sort things out for you. We stayed in Cecilia room which had amazing views over the plaza de armas and Ainin, both were very clean (bed in Ainin was much more comfortable). The walk up to hotel was good practise for the trek. Breakfast was good, plenty of food. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccola Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccola Locanda

Address: Calle Resbalosa 520, Cusco 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccola Locanda differs from other places; it's a familiar and cultural place where you can feel like home. Ideal for families, couples and friends that are looking for tranquillity. The Locanda is an ethical hostal that links tourism with solidarity. When staying at the Piccola, you contribute to the automatic financing of two projects dedicated to children. You are welcome to visit them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Piccola Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Locanda Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccola Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.