We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum that's open late” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pre-Columbian Art Museum

Pre-Columbian Art Museum
Plaza de las Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
084 233210
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 90 Attractions in Cusco
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice museum that's open late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This museum has a nice collection of Pre-Columbian Art- Moche, Nazca, Chimu, Huari, etc, if this interests you. Not as extensive as the Larco or Archaeological museums in Lima, this collection can be seen easily in 1-2 hours; it is also open late so you can save it for when everything else has closed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    66
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good for an hour + ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

...especially if you're on your way 'down' [or up to] from San Blas or want to check out the MAP cafe menu [lunch and dinner different]. Think this was about 7$USD and we spent about 60-75 minutes walking around and taking pictures in the not-so-huge museum. The initial rooms are split into time-based/cultural items followed by silver, gold, and shells--yup seashells--collections that appeared largely as jewelry. The museum was relatively empty when we stopped by mid-afternoon and it's eerily quiet. Some, but not all, of the displays have English equivalents but that's not really a big deal since the details of interest (dates, etc.) translate easily. Probably be a 3.5 star if I could split the difference and is worth seeing as far as museums, but there's so much 'natural' stuff to see I'd put those ahead of this when time limited. Bathrooms clean too if only a little chilly ;)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best museum in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a collection...pre-historic stone tools, carvings, ceramic bowls, textiles and even Inca mummies! This place has it all and was our favorite museum. I believe it was only 10 soles to get in... a real bargain!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you enjoy art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A sister museum to the famous one in Lima. This was nice for us since we didn't visit Lima on our trip to Peru, but still got to see the pre-columbian pieces. The museum is in a nice, well-appointed building. Photography was allowed(!). Not a lot of people, so you could stroll through the whole thing at your own leisure in about an hour and a half. This museum did a good job of having an English translation for virtually every plaque, which is more than can be said for some other museums.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Of all the museums I visited in Peru I would have to say that the Pre-Columbian Art Museum was my favorite. It is a bit smaller than some of the other museums you might come across but that just makes it more manageable and more room to see the exhibits. There is a fairly nice courtyard to the museum and it gives the museum a nice breezy feel to it.

The museum is also one of the very few sites in Cuzco that allows you to take photographs of the exhibits. Much appreciated for the tourist! Would highly recommend for a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pre-Columbian Art Museum also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Pre-Columbian Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pre-Columbian Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.