We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 143 hotels in Cusco
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Super nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed a total of 6 nights in this hotel. Initially we only planned to stay 3-4 nights, but ended up staying longer since my husband got sick from food poisoning and we had to change our plans.
The room we had was the suite on the 5th(uppermost) floor, had a great view of the city of Cusco, and was very reasonable.
The staff was amazing. They were friendly, helpful, and kind. They helped us find a pharmacy to get medicine, called a doctor to see my husband at the hotel, got us trustworthy cabs, recommended good restaurants, printed boarding pass for our flights, etc. I became good friends from them, especially with Jesus and Harry, and I am grateful for their help and understanding of our stress as travellers.
The hotel isnt particularly nice, but is reasonable for the price, and is in a great location. We are so glad we stayed in San Blas rather than near the Plza de Armas. San Blas is such a great neighbourhood to walk around and explore.
The only downside to the hotel was they recommended a tour company who arranged our trip to Machu Picchu, and the lady from the tour company got us a hotel in Aguas Caliente that was nasty and overpriced, and the breakfast at the hotel was where my husband got food poisoning from. I would recommend being careful with the tour company and especially not trust them with picking a hotel for you.

Overall, great hotel, nice view from the suite room, very nice staff helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, dueño at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
Dear Guest,

We very much regret if your husband got sick from food poisoning after eating in a hotel at Aguas Calientes. However, we are glad to know our staff promptly answered to your needs during his recovery in our Casa Andina Classic San Blas.

We should mention that we are glad to help our guests with tours arrangements when they ask for advice. We always mention well known suppliers or, according to our records, safe companies that might take good care of our guests. Unfortunately, we can not take responsibility for the agencies that offer their services at the Plaza de Armas, as we do not know all of them. We deeply apologize if we ever gave you a wrong impression.

We can not be more grateful for your favorable comments regarding your stay with us. Thus, we sincerely invite you to stay with us again at any of our properties in Peru to offer you the outstanding service you are already familiar with.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    117
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
49
144
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was easily the best hotel for customer service that I have ever stayed in. All the staff spoke excellent English and they couldn't do enough for us. The room was excellent, the food was fisrt class but it was the staff who really made the stay enjoyable - well done and thanks to everyone at Hotel Casa Andina San Blas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Casa Andina San Blas for 5 nights over our week in Cusco, 4 nights before we went on our trek to Machu Picchu, and 1 night after. We chose this hotel based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed!!

First and foremost, the staff were amazing - so sweet and thoughtful and kind and genuinely friendly, we really felt like we were among friends or family. They would jump to help us with anything, and even more impressive, they would remember little facts about us - which trips we had taken, or were planning on taking, which room we were staying in, where we would from - and would ask how we were. When I first arrived in Cusco, I developed pretty severe altitude sickness. In any other setting, I would have just suffered through, but the staff kept asking how we were, and when they heard about my symptoms, quickly provided oxygen tank treatment, which made me feel better almost instantly. The staff were also so helpful when we needed to store our bags for our trek to Machu Picchu, and also when we needed to book day trips. We really felt like we could trust them!

The hotel itself is very charming and pretty - with an enclosed courtyard, with fountains and tables, two lounge areas, and a restaurant. The hotel was very quiet (we were also staying in rainy season, but we never heard any noise, like our friends at some of the lower-end hostels complained about). The hotel provides a communal computer with free internet, as well as free wi-fi, which was a pleasant surprise that allowed us to keep in touch with family over our trip. Also, the rooms come equipped with effective space heaters, which kept the rooms toasty - another bonus that our friends at some of the lower-end hostels missed. The rooms are quite spacious, with modern bathrooms and showers and comfortable beds, and even televisions with many channels, including English-speaking ones. We stayed in rooms 303 and 208, both of which had excellent views of the city.

The hotel is situated very close to Plaza San Blas, and a 5-10 minute walk to Plaza D'Armas. We loved the location, but one caveat is that the hotel is set atop a fairly steep hill - which we definitely struggled with a little, especially with the altitude sickness. Ultimately, we found the location to be a bonus as well, since we treated it as "training" for our trek to Machu Picchu, but older guests should be aware that there is a bit of a climb to reach the hotel. (Taxis in Cusco are fairly cheap though, and should be able to take you almost anywhere in the city to the hotel for about 4 soles - just over a dollar.)

The hotel also provided a lovely breakfast, with both hot and cold food - there was a very large variety, which we were pleasantly surprised to find. Also, on the morning that we needed to leave very early for our trek, we asked the hotel if we could bring some food with us, and they were more than friendly and accommodating, which we really appreciated! (The breakfasts are available from 5am to 10am.) We also ate at the restaurant for dinner the first night we arrived, and the food was very nice and service, of course, was excellent.

We are so glad that we chose this hotel - it was so nice to have a really comfortable place to stay, before and after our amazing but somewhat physically challenging trek to Machu Picchu. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Every single employee was very nice and meet every one of our needs. There was such great service and very central to the city. Even the morning buffet was delicious!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

There is so much to see in and around Cusco that we didn't spend much time in the hotel. However, the room was comfortable, clean and spacious and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day and night. Breakfast begins at 5:00 am which is useful when making an early start for Machu Picchu. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longbeach,USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This hotel totaly exceed my spectations in every single way.
Casa Andina must be proud of having great people working on its hotels
they arrange the best restaurants for us, and very good suggestions for places to visit
Machupicchu is gorgeous and Cusco and its people are the same.
this hotel is very inviting in every aspect, the rooms , breakfast, bar, all was SUPERB, Thank you jesus ,harry and the rest of the guys
this hotel its totally recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We easily booked rooms and arranged transport from Casa Andina San Blas for our trip to Machu Picchu. The driver met us at the airport with coca tea and gave us time to relax and adjust to the altitude.
The hotel itself is quaint if slightly rustic. The rooms are fairly spartan but comfortable and clean. There is a t.v. with lots of English options, and in-room safes were easy to use and big enough to accommodate most of our valuables.
What really set this hotel apart was the staff. We had not arranged a tour beforehand and at the 11th hour they contacted a tour guide for us and got everything set up. They also offered to open the kitchen early and were willing to take our requests for what food we'd like to have before we realized we were at the closer train station and didn't need breakfast earlier than 5. They also arranged our transport to the train station and back to the Cusco airport, all of which was affordable and efficient.
Complimentary muna and coca tea are offered, and one of our friends was extremely sick and they were very helpful and considerate of her not feeling well.
Breakfast was included and while it wasn't great, it had enough variety to meet our various needs. Yogurt, cereal, tea, coffee, pancakes, sausage were all provided.
I really enjoyed the laid-back vibe of this hotel and we all found it enjoyable. It's an affordable option and is very close to town - a 3 soles cab ride if you aren't comfortable walking (or if the altitude is still getting to you). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Address: Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#23 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco’s fast pace – like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco’s tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city’s most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.