We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff in Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas to your Saves list
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Helpful Staff in Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I liked that this was slightly outside the Plaza de Aramas location. It means it's a little quiter with less foot traffic. It's a nice walk through (very safe) streets that passes by shops that don't have the hectic pressure and crowds that you'll find in the main plaza. The hotel staff was very helpful with suggestions (where to find another market, distances/taxi prices to different areas, general questions about Cusco). We were able to store our bags there on two occasions when we left to hike the Inca Trail and on a 7 day rain forest tour. Both times our bags were waiting for us in our room when we checked back in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    141
    47
    7
    11
See reviews for
54
172
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great hotel. Service was good, all facilities were very good. I stayed two nights before the Inca Rivers Trek, and one night after and the staff were always helpful with any requests I had. We were there during June (Peru's New Year celebrations) and it was noisy but only because there were fireworks every night and i think anywhere in Cusco would have been the same. The hotel is close to San Blas Square and access to shops and restaurants is great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Beutiful hotel, nice staff and never seen this big bed in my life :-) Breakfast was excellent. Just to note that nights are really cold in the winter as normally there is no heating, but this hotel has a a luxury feature, heater in the room :-). Just to remember to turn it on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirchen an der Donau, Oberosterreich, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

we think we got the best room in the hotel..... to the courtyard, 3rd floor, far away from the breakfest room!
Beautiful areas (for example a chimney), good breakfest, near the city, a lot of restaurants

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel has some very good features and some not-so-good features. On the plus side, there is a nice courtyard and lounge area, large rooms, good location (close enough to the main plaza but far enough away to avoid nighttime crowd noise), and free coca tea (but no free filtered water). The main downside was the noise. As Suukey1 pointed out, the creaking floors are a nuisance, especially when trying to sleep (even with ear plugs in). When anyone in the room above us walked around, it was so loud our bedside lamps shook. The shower temperature also randomly fluctuates, as another reviewer pointed out. Otherwise this hotel was a decent deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel Classic Cusco San Blas. We truly appreciate the opportunity to get to know your impressions.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the location. As you mention, we are close to the main square but also, far from the nighttime noise. On the other side, we would like to mention you that we have shared your comments regarding the shower with our maintenance team in order for them to fix it immediately.

Please, let us welcome you back again anytime soon.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a perfect hotel for travelers with a lot of patience looking for a "crash-pad" at this cozy, no-frills hotel situated in a tiny, tiny street near San Blas Square. I stayed 4 days before our Inca Trail Hike and 1 Day after before leaving Cusco.

The service was "begrudgingly" acceptable as every time I would ask the front desk for help- the personnel seemed "bothered" from when I checked in, to asking for directions to a restaurant to when I asked them to call a local travel agent because my phone was lost on thier bus.

If you are light sleeper, you may want to consider investing in ear plugs and/or portable sound machine... or another hotel. The floors creak and squeak from the guests upstairs to outside while you hear the water run while other guests showers. If you have a room facing town: enjoy the views but know that you will hear the stray dogs howling all night and if your room is facing the courtyard you will hear guests rolling their luggage up & down the stairs in the crack of dawn.

Since I am a light sleeper, I would probably not return... but the distance between the hotel and the city itself is very convenient with an abundance of restaurants, shops and local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your impressions since it represents an opportunity to improve our services.

We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations, and we apologize for any discomfort this caused you. We are concerned about your comments regarding our staff since it does not represent our quality standards. Rest assured that we have shared this review with our hotel manager, and he will be in charge of reinforcing this matter with our team.

On the other side, we are sorry if you did not rest properly in your room due to the external noise. We will definitely take this into consideration.

We sure hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Peaceful hotel. Friendly staff. Five min walk to Square. Bathrooms could use upgrading Nice view overlooking city. Good place to climatize before hiking Salkantay trail to Machu Picchu Not much else to stay but they want 200 words!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate to know about your experience at our Classic Cusco San Blas hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, as well as our staff was attentive to you. On the other side, we would like to mention you that we have shared your impressions regarding the water with our maintenance team so they can fix any fault.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Address: Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Cusco
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.