We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little tucked away hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas to your Saves list
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely little tucked away hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I loved Cusco. It reminded me of Venice, but with fumes!
This hotel was very good. Staff were helpful and pointed us in the direction of good restaurants to eat at. Beds were comfy and views were amazing. Bathroom was cold mind, due to the wooden vents that you couldn't close and there was no fridge to keep drinks cold, but this didn't really matter because they kept the drinks in a large fridge next to reception and you paid for them as and when you picked them up.
Breakfast had a reasonable selection of food.
This is the only time we have paid for someone to come and pick up our suitcases from our room though, as the steps up and down to our room, as someone else has mentioned, are quite steep and there are a fair amount. The young man who took our bags to the room was even panting and he lives and works there - there was no way we were going to be able to carry them back up to reception - especially as I had suffered with a very bad head the evening before due to altitude sickness.
Would I stay here again - yes, I think so!

Room Tip: We only stayed in one room which was lovely and quite with regards to hearing people talk etc, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    149
    50
    11
    12
See reviews for
56
184
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here before and after hiking the Inca Trail. Check in was simple and most of the staff spoke english. My room was slightly difficult to get to as I had to walk down stairs, across the courtyard and then up stairs. Not that big of a concern, but something to be aware of if you have accessibility issues. The room was comfortable and clean. Outlets were away from the bed, so if you use your mobile for an alarm clock, this can be an issue. Wifi was strong throughout the whole complex. They will convert currency at the front desk, there is an ATM on site, and a small refrigerator with snacks and drinks. You can get better exchange rates Av El Sol from the people in front of the banks, and the nearby shops have better prices for snacks and drinks, but you can't argue with the convince. The best part about our stay is the location. Far enough from the main square to keep it quiet, but only about a 15-minute walk. Breakfast was similar each morning, but there were so many options that you could eat a different breakfast each day for a 3-night stay. They also watched our luggage for us while we hiked the Inca Trail and our bags were waiting for us in our rooms when we arrived after the hike. Great views of Cuzco day and night. The first time I saw the Southern Cross was here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Casa Andina- Classic- Cusco San Blas had a great location in colonial Cusco, tucked away in the quiet neighborhood of San Blas. Staff very helpful, early check-in was delightful. Bed was extremely comfortable- quite nice after the overnight flight from Miami!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time visiting Peru and didn't have a clue what to do or how to get around but the hotel staff were an invaluable resource for us. They are very helpful-- provided directions, secured a taxi, wake up calls in the morning. Rooms are comfy (the beds come with plenty of pillows and blankets) , clean, with pleasant Andean decor. A nice sanctuary in the middle of bustling Cusco. There is also a complimentary breakfast served each orning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A well provided for mid range hotel in Cuzco, this hotel is located in the San Blas district of Cuzco. From the hotel you can oversee most of Cuzco, the valley and enjoys views of the majestic Salkantay, the patron, snow covered mountain of Cuzco. 2 blocks from the hotel lies the church and square of San Blas, around which you can find many shops and restaurants, including Sacha Papa, one of Cuzco’s best restaurants. From the hotel it’s a 5 -10 minute walk to all of Cuzco’s attractions, such as its main square, best restaurants, museums, the Coricancha temple, etc.
The rooms are well equipped and spacious, most with a beautiful view over Cuzco and the valley. Breakfast is included and OK, however, there are no other meals served. The staff at the reception is very friendly and hot coca tea in large thermoses is always ready for one to fill up a cup or thermos and get by the altitude sickness that’s always lurking in one’s head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Classic San Blas.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Cusco. As you mention, we are located near some tourist places which our guests find convenient since they can visit the city on foot with no difficulty.

Likewise, we are pleased our staff was able to assist you all the time you spent with us, as well as provided you coca tea to prevent altitude sickness. Regarding the restaurant at our Classic hotels in Cusco we only offer breakfast since there are so many close options our guests can enjoy outside.

We hope we can welcome you back at any of our hotels.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in the picturesque San Blas area of Cusco. Not only are the rooms comfortable (great beds), modern, and stylish with lovely Andean touches, but the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were always ready to carry a bag or provide directions. They set up an excellent tour of the city for us with transportation to and from the hotel. Breakfast runs from 5-10 to accomodate all schedules. The morning we had to eat at 5 to make our train to Machu Picchu, we were shocked to find the dining room filled with fellow explorers. Finally, while a short trek gets you to the Plaza de Armas, the hotel allows you to explore easily the arty San Blas area, and it's only a block away from the delicious and atmospheric Pacha Papa restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was booked by out tour operator and was our home base for a Machu Pichu excursion. Well located hotel, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. There are some rooms that are nicer that others and offer better views. Our second time around we had a larger room with a lovely view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas

Address: Calle Chihuampata 278 | San Blas, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Cusco
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.